Fall 2006

Chair's Message

This past academic year has been a highly productive one for the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery. The clinical, research and educational programs at all of our UCSF campuses have continued to flourish, positioning the department for another successful year.

Since July 2005, we have added six new faculty, including five clinical and one research faculty. Shane Burch (spine), Milan Sen (hand-microvascular surgery and trauma), Utku Kandemir (trauma and sports medicine), Masato Nagao (physiatry) and Steve Pinney (foot and ankle) are all highly trained, skilled faculty who will add significantly to the department's already outstanding clinical services. Tamara Alliston, a molecular biologist, will bring her knowledge about the molecular basis of arthritis and skeletal tissue growth and differentiation to the already diverse expertise of the research group.

This academic year, the department will continue to expand its educational offerings. Quarterly, citywide Orthopaedic Surgery Grand Rounds began in September, the Primary Care Sports Medicine Conference begins in December and the Innovations in Spinal Surgery course and the Second Annual San Francisco Orthopaedic Trauma course will be coming next April — all will be CME activities offered through the department. In addition, the department is partnering with the Leroy C. Abbott Society to expand on last year's successful annual meeting at which there was record attendance.

This edition of Orthopaedic Surgery News highlights these and other departmental clinical and research achievements. In recognition of their great work, members of the department received several national awards this past year, including the Humanitarian of the Year Award from the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgery for Richard Coughlin, and the 2006 recipients of the Clinical Research Award from the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation for Kevin Bozic and Michael Ries. These awards recognize not only their academic achievements, but also their international and national leadership efforts.

I look forward to an exciting academic year that builds on the successes of our past achievements. I hope that you find the information presented in this edition of the newsletter interesting and informative.

Theodore Miclau, M.D.
Professor and Acting Chair
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

Related Information

News Releases

Orthopaedic Surgery Chair Named
Thomas Parker Vail, M.D., has been named the chair of Orthopaedic Surgery in the UCSF School of Medicine. Vail, director of adult reconstructive surgery at Duke University Medical Center, will assume his new post in January 2007.

UCSF Cited for Hospital Quality
UCSF Medical Center was one of eight California acute care hospitals among the top 50 U.S. hospitals named by the Washington, D.C.-based Leapfrog Group.