Skip to Main Content
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Amy (Meg) M. Autry

MD

4.5

Overall Experience
71 reviews
About our process
Feb 17, 2022
I felt judged by Dr. Autry with regards to my birth plan. She did not seem willing to understand my point of view and was quick to point out that she thought it was "interesting that people who are normally rational decision makers do not always exercise the same logic when it comes to giving birth." I did not feel a genuine connection with her and am very happy with my decision to change OBs.
Feb 16, 2022
Dr. Autry was kind caring and considerate. She was incredibly patient and answered all of my questions clearly and thoroughly. She took the time to make sure I was comfortable and that I fully understood all of her advice. She gave me very clear recommendations on how to maintain a healthy pregnancy. I thoroughly enjoyed meeting Dr. Autry and cannot wait to see her again on my next appointment.
Dec 02, 2021
I felt upset after my visit because I found some of the the provider's responses harsh and not specific to my particular history/situation/needs. Specifically when I asked about the possibility of requesting that my stitches not be done by a resident she told me that if I didn't want stitches done by a resident I should go somewhere other than UCSF. This felt harsh because I delivered my first child at UCSF and generally have a very positive opinion of it and am now 32 weeks pregnant and very much enmeshed in the UCSF system. I understand that UCSF is a teaching hospital and my suggestion was not compatible with typical practices there but I think this could have been communicated in a way that was more sensitive and less personally hurtful to me. In addition when I asked about scheduling an optional growth scan which my primary OB had offered in my last visit this provider discouraged me from doing so partly because she was concerned that knowing I have a big baby could negatively influence my mindset about the birth. This felt tone deaf and did not resonate with how I think about birth. I'm an advocate of natural birth and delivered my daughter without pain medications and fully plan to do so again with this pregnancy. Her advice did not appear to take into account my unique history and preferences. Again I think this same message could have been delivered in a way that made me feel more heard and understood. I would prefer not to come out of an OB visit with hurt feelings and will avoid interacting with this provider in the future.
Nov 23, 2021
Dr. Autry was oddly dismissive and aggressive during our session. 1) When we informed her we conceived via IVF she seemed judgmental about our choice to use IVF pre-emptively and then went on to insinuate that IVF babies have more health complications than naturally conceived babies. While I understand her job as a doctor is to inform us of risks (no matter how small) she did it in an insensitive way that increased my pregnancy-related anxiety. In addition this information was unhelpful sinc I'm already pregnant with an IVF baby. 2) I and my spouse advocated for our needs and wanting to get an abnormal blood test redone and Dr. Autry was very dismissive about this. She even went so far as to disparage our fertility doctor and say "well he's not God". I was frankly surprised by this unprofessional comment and her pushback towards our request and it made me question her medical judgment and professional demeanor.
Oct 05, 2021
My doctor was not my usual doctor that I see but I will definitely be switching to seeing her going forward.
Apr 01, 2021
Only issue is not feeling rushed when I have a few questions to still ask after the check-up
Mar 02, 2021
Dr Autry is the best! Excellent care. Makes me feel like I'm not just another patient.
Jan 14, 2021
I really appreciate that Dr. Autry gave me a clear recommendation about whether antenatal testing was necessary for me. I also appreciated that she double-checked something I had received conflicting advice on and got back tome with an answer the same day via MyChart.
Oct 27, 2020
I love and respect my doctor!
Aug 04, 2020
This was my first visit as a new patient so I have not had extensive experience with this provider nor with UCSF. My prior experiences were with Sutter Health and CPMC.
Jul 27, 2020
Got the impression that I'm too old and healthy for her GYN care. Said that I can seek care from my PCP. Telehealth video appointment failed. All done by telephone. Not a failure on my part. I was ready connected and waiting.
Jun 23, 2020
Although the provider kept me waiting it was clear she spent the time thoroughly reading my medical history. She was very prepared to make recommendations based on my history. Because of her thoroughness I trusted her immediately.
Jun 18, 2020
Like I stated earlier she was loud dismissed my requests stranded too close to me.
Jun 04, 2020
Dr Autry is the best!
Jun 02, 2020
she seems to be rushed and have something much more important to attend. I felt a lot of what I was saying was brushed of and disregarded.

Share