Skip to Main Content
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Anna Haemel

MD

4.7

Overall Experience
421 reviews
About our process
Mar 21, 2022
Dr. Haemel is excellent in every way!
Mar 10, 2022
Based on my experience my wife just made an appt with Dr. Haemel.
Mar 09, 2022
I got the prescriptions but I didn't get proper information on how to use
Mar 07, 2022
Trust and respect. Always.
Mar 04, 2022
I have very good dr
Mar 03, 2022
Dr Haemel is my very favorite Dr at Ucsf! Goes above and way beyond for her patients!!!
Feb 16, 2022
Dr Haemel Is an outstanding dr as she seems genuinely Involve with whoever she Is dealing with
Feb 09, 2022
Doctor does not have enough time to spend with individual patients.
Jan 31, 2022
No after care summary and rushed explanation of what was going on
Jan 18, 2022
They didn't explain how long I needed to use bandage over biopsy site. I also am not sure about the medication prescribed and haven't gone to get it yet because of that. She should have alerted me when she was going to numb me before she moved on me with the needle. That was pretty shocking!
Jan 13, 2022
Dr. Haemel provides excellent care and shows great concern in all aspects of my care!
Jan 12, 2022
Dr. Haemel is an exceptionally knowledgeable thorough and caring dermatologist. I have recommended her to friends.
Jan 04, 2022
I give a fair to recommending the care provider because the office is managed so badly. Not the dr.
Dec 06, 2021
Dr Haemel was responsive knowledgeable and easy to understand. She recognized my issue formulated a plan of action and followed up on that plan after our appointment. I've had care from a lot of dermatologists and Dr. Cheng and Dr. Haemel have provided by far the best care I've ever experienced.
Oct 21, 2021
I have to say all is good so far so good I said keep up the good work I have no complaints
Oct 20, 2021
Outstanding
Oct 20, 2021
Dr. Haemel is the consummate professional-knowledgable thoughtful concerned thorough and personable. She is a credit to UCSF.
Oct 05, 2021
My overall experience with Dr. Haemel is great just long wait time in the office.
Oct 04, 2021
Instructions for how many gabopentin to take after surgery were unclear on the take-home visit summary. (But I knew what to do from our verbal discussion).
Sep 29, 2021
Dr Haemel is caring thoughtful and thorough
Sep 28, 2021
ALL GOOD BUT I GOT BANDAGES AND GAUZE BUT WAS ONLY TOLD ABOUT THE VASELINE. ACTUALLY DIDNT REALLY NEED THE OTHER STUFF ANYWAY.
Sep 20, 2021
I consider these checkups a cornerstone of my physical intellectual and emotional well being.
Sep 18, 2021
A little lacking In empathy but given her workload I get it. I still want a follow up office visit and the doctor isn't communicating only to say it takes months to go away. This diagnosis effects My whole family and I have to be sure the treatment has been 100% effective so I'll call in and see anyone else who will see me for a follow up next week hopefully
Sep 16, 2021
My appointment with Dr. Haemel and Dr. Dobry was informative - answering all my questions pleasant - both were very very friendly knowledgable and helpful.
Aug 25, 2021
Post-visit follow-up questions submitted via MyChart were answered promptly.
Aug 25, 2021
Asking a question on the online messaging portal takes up to 3 days for a response. There's a medication that I am still waiting on how to use and if I should use it after contacting the doctor a week ago.
Aug 20, 2021
Dr. Haemel is the best.
Jul 27, 2021
Doctor Haemel is an excellent Derm!
Jul 22, 2021
Kind thorough made me feel comfortable.
Jul 20, 2021
I've enthusiastically recommended Dr. Haemel to many people but fear that's contributed to the difficulty of making an appointment with her!
Jul 14, 2021
Exceedingly knowledgeable provider
Jul 01, 2021
Dr Haemel is an excellent physician and fully understands my medical situation and looks closely at my skin for cancer.
Jun 14, 2021
I'm still waiting for message from Dr. concerning my possible contagion to my wife.
Jun 12, 2021
I feel very good about the Doctor
Jun 08, 2021
Another good interaction with and care from Dr. Haemel
May 31, 2021
I got good information from Dr. Haemel!
May 19, 2021
the provider spoke very fast and seemed very rushed probably because she was running 40 minutes behind schedule. however no reason or apology was offered to me which rubbed me the wrong way
May 19, 2021
This young provider gave outstanding care to a senior physician who can be intimidating. Promote Dr. Haemel and don't lose her. Make her department chair soon
May 17, 2021
I am very grateful to have Dr. Haemel as my dermatologist. Her expertise and compassion are exceptional.
Apr 27, 2021
I first was treated by Dr. Haemel during the pandemic when I had a mysterious health issue and I was a "hot-potato patient" passed through multiple speciality clinics. I was starting to get scared as every new doctor left me with a big question mark and passed my problem' along to someone else. Dr. Haemel was one of the first humans I spent more than a few minutes with in person during the pandemic and she immediately made me feel comfortable both because of her bedside manner and strong interpersonal skills - and also because of her obvious skill and competence with a clear understanding of the most current evidence. She was able to diagnose the issue and initiate the appropriate treatment plan. I immediately felt a sense of relief. Nearly a year later I found myself in the Acute Care clinic with a flare of new symptoms. Although she was not the treating physician for that encounter she sent me a message via MyChart later that evening. While I felt badly that she was working on a Saturday night her expression of care and concern was greatly appreciated. I was able to get back on her schedule a month later for follow-up. Although those initial symptoms had improved significantly she was recognized signs that there may still be an ongoing issue. She engaged me in shared decision making and was able to conduct a biopsy that same day. It is a relief to know that we are being proactive about any emerging concerns. I am eternally grateful to have been referred to Dr. Haemel last year and to continue to have her leading my treatment team.
Apr 22, 2021
I thought Dr. Haemel was thorough but rushed. She seemed eager to get through with the appointment. I'm not sure if she overbooks but when I went into the examining room there was no one else in the waiting room - not even the office stAFF.
Apr 20, 2021
Dr. Haemel is an exceptional doctor. I am extremely impressed by how quickly she understands your issue. one of my issues was undiagnosed or wrongly diagnosed for a long time and the quality of my life suffered as a result. it took Dr. Haemel one visit to know it was.
Apr 15, 2021
she was great!!
Apr 14, 2021
I'm sure this is a good provider. However I waited over an hour in her office to see her as well as the time in the outer waiting room. I realize that sometimes patients require more time than has been allotted. In that case why make 10 minute appointments?? She told me I needed an hour appointment but I didn't understand when she said to schedule it. When the woman came in to schedule an appointment for me and asked what date she was supposed to make it for I told her I didn't know. She said she would check with the doctor and call me that afternoon. I have never heard from anyone in that office again. Everyone is very friendly there and I know they are good providers......but i wish they would schedule more responsibly.....and follow up.
Mar 17, 2021
Excellent approach evaluation of concerns and sensible treatment plan. Very impressed with this doctor on absolute and relative scales.
Mar 14, 2021
excellent
Mar 02, 2021
I felt rushed to gather a lot of information knowing the provider only had 10 minutes which she indicated. My situation is a bit complicated with different dermatological issues and I did not have time to ask all the questions I would have liked. However this feeling rushed during the appointment has not been the case in the past; and I have always felt confident in the Dr's hands.
Mar 02, 2021
Dr. Haemel it is great. She gives a very thorough skin exam and looks at my previous surgery sites with a Magnifier. I feel fortunate to have her as my dermatologist.
Feb 25, 2021
the most important aspect of care is an excellent physician who knows her/his profession and has lots of experience with illness. especially because they have to issue a correct diagnosis.
Feb 24, 2021
Dr. Haemel is always the BEST!!!! She cares very much. I have recommended her to many friends. They love her as well.
Feb 17, 2021
I have a lot of anxiety when it comes to visiting the doctor and Dr. Haemel put me completely at ease! They were kind attentive patient and clearly exceptional in terms of their medical expertise. Even in the midst of a pandemic they seemed to truly enjoy their job and working with me as a patient.
Jan 26, 2021
Dr. Haemel has provided a very high level of care over several months working under impossible conditions. I would not hesitate to see her again in the future.
Jan 13, 2021
Anna Haemel is exceptional-professional approachable knowledgeable......
Jan 08, 2021
My daughter has been coming with me to these appointments and she takes notes. She and the doctor provide me with a written recap of the visit.
Oct 30, 2020
this has been my first disappointing experience with Dr Haemel. I have been extremely happy up to this last appt
Oct 25, 2020
very thorough exam.
Oct 07, 2020
My daughter came with me and she sent me a recap of the visit as she was writing down information which unable to do. The doctor contacted my pharmacy so my wife was able to pick up the medications after we got home. This was very helpful
Oct 07, 2020
dr HAEMEL is very considerate of patients and extremely knowledgeable in her field
Sep 30, 2020
good experience
Sep 28, 2020
Great experience-I felt very comfortable during the exam.
Sep 23, 2020
This is the first time I saw this particular care provider. Although she checked and focused on the areas I was coming in for I didn't understand all of the medical terms for the issues found. My long wait time did not appear to be of much concern when she came in which although an administrative issue -- could've been addressed better.
Sep 02, 2020
Dr. Anna Haemel is an excellent Doctor. She is personable and professional. She makes me feel as my health and well being is her of her utmost concern. I would highly recommend her.
Aug 30, 2020
Dr. Haemel is a tremendous physician. She is caring thoughtful and incredibly smart. I am so lucky to have her as my doctor.
Aug 26, 2020
It's the first time I saw her so I don't know if I have confidence in her or not. It depends on how the treatment works.
Aug 25, 2020
the provider was so in a hurry she only listen to 1 of my problems I went in that day so 2 of my problems are not solve she didn't even let me talk she said this is what your gonna take she didn't even look at my history been to the doctor 3 times all of them tell me I have fungus and this first time with her she says no you don't have fungus but she did no test and she was in n out within the 10 mins didn't get no type of information very disappointed and I'm thinking of switching providers
Aug 18, 2020
the visit felt rushed - this covers the time with the nurse and providers. I don't put this on the provider but on UCSF system. the provider came and went twice carrying her "assistant" - it took me a beat to realize there was no person but it was someone remote - i have no issue with that. I don't appreciate however having the provider juggling multiple patients at the same time : like coming making an assessment leaving to go do a biopsy on another patient coming back for the biopsy doing an overall assessment talking for the benefit of the "assistant" rather than talking to me etc. if it is a matter of efficiency - sure very efficient. if that allows me to be seen within a week of the referral grate. if it is about feeling cared no. call me selfish if my visit is to last 15 min I'd like to have the provider present - physically and mentally - for all that time. at the end of the day I/my insurance will pay for that! so again - no blame on the provider but I will not recommend UCSF as a caring institution. I felt like a number on a chart - having to repeat by DOB each time someone was entering the room so they knew they were with the right patient!
Aug 06, 2020
Dr Anna Haemel is exactly how a doctor should be: very professionalvery kindvery politevery respectfully 5 star review for Dr Anna
Aug 06, 2020
very good
Aug 03, 2020
This provider is extremely knowledgeable and kind. I can tell she really cares about me and the quality of her care. The only con is that she's on high demand (understandably so) so the wait time to be seen is long and the visit can feel a little rushed.
Jul 24, 2020
It may be the nature of my newly diagnosed disease but I still feel very confused about how the progression of my symptoms has been and will be monitored as well as how the benefit or lack of benefit of the medicines and UV treatments I am utilizing will be measured.
Jul 19, 2020
Love this doctor. Committed and cares
Jul 15, 2020
Dr. Haemel is an amazing person and doctor. She is very thorough and extremely kind. She listens to me and show the utmost concern for me and my health. She respects me as a human and as her patients. Please let her know she is an incredible person. Thank you
Jul 09, 2020
Dr Haemel is very patient very polite and very knowledgeable Everything she did on me is working very well
Jul 08, 2020
I was grateful for the coronavirus safety precautions and the smoothness of the visit. I was in and out in less than an hour.
Jul 01, 2020
I just wish I had taken notes. I don't think you should put so much pressure on doctors to act a certain way. They're doctors not restaurant hosts.
Jul 01, 2020
I love being able to message my providers. always get a prompt response
Jun 23, 2020
dr Haemel is very professionalvery knowledgeablevery understanding and very polite A big thanks for her
Jun 18, 2020
Great care great experience
Jun 17, 2020
Dr. Haemel remains extremely professional thorough plus she performs painless biopsy procedures.
Jun 09, 2020
I had to ask for clarification of what the medical terms meant. A lot of "medical speak". I also had to ask what medications were called in and how I would use them.
Jun 03, 2020
Dr. Haemel is exceptional. She is one of the best physicians I have ever encountered. She is a credit to UCSF.

Share