Skip to Main Content
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Bryan J. Winn

MD

4.9

Overall Experience
170 reviews
About our process
Mar 29, 2022
As a patient and a student I have never met a provider who kept true to their every word understandably due to the number of patients providers face daily. At his caliber I am still in awe of how humble genuine and compassionate he is. After seeing him for close to a year with a condition that will not go away I somehow do not feel compelled to seek someone else demonstrating his profound skill at developing trust and never leaving patients hanging. Thank you Dr. Winn for changing my life and for being a fantastic role model.
Jan 25, 2022
All very well I'm happy
Sep 29, 2021
Initially I was highly recommended and referred to see Dr. Winn. Except being my stubborn self and tight schedule I wanted my symptoms resolved as quickly as possible. Little did I know I was destined to see him and it is seriously the best decision of my life. On my very first visit with him he provided me with immediate relief was super considerate took the initiative of setting up my surgery and made my surgery actually happen (after waiting a year). I still can't believe he held true to every promise. It's because of him I am no longer typing SOAP notes with one eye open seeing doubles of vasculature in cadavers etc. And it's true even with so much on his plate he somehow always has a smile on his face and beams of happiness radiating from his eyes (no pun intended). I have no idea how he does it. You will not experience many physicians like himself (I know this as a fact since I see attendings nearly every day) so please from the bottom of my heart you will not regret receiving care from Dr. Winn!
Sep 24, 2021
I came in for an appointment because I was worried that my cancer had returned and I am very grateful that Dr Winn spent a lot of time listening to my concerns. He treated what I had to say with respect. We discussed his observations my feelings and what tests would be useful under the circumstances. We also talked about further treatment options if there was evidence of cancer. I've never had a serious illness before and sometimes it seems overwhelming. Dr Winn listens to me and explains everything in detail and that gives me the sense that this is something I can face.
Sep 14, 2021
Referral scheduling was not made according to the promise.
Jul 04, 2021
Dr Winn is excellent! My issue is uncommon one and Dr Winn is reaching out to specialists as well. Very great service and I am very glad to have Dr Winn as my ophthalmologist.
Jun 18, 2021
Dr. Winn and his fellow Dr. Ashraf were both excellent medically speaking and in terms of thorough and courteous communication.
May 26, 2021
he's a gem
May 23, 2021
I appreciate that Dr. Winn takes an interest in my health as a whole. I'm not just an orbital cancer patient. I can discuss anything with him and I'm always impressed by how much he knows. Dr. Winn is very thoughtful and I have a lot of confidence in his recommendations. I know I can trust him and I don't say that lightly. I think some doctors don't like to be bothered by patients who ask a lot of questions. Actually I know that; I've experienced it and I'm sure it's not that uncommon. So I consider myself lucky to have a doctor who takes the time to listen to me and help me make the best decisions about my health.
Apr 08, 2021
good experience
Mar 23, 2021
GREAT as always!
Mar 09, 2021
good experience
Feb 23, 2021
Dr Winn is always courteous caring informed about my health and willing to spend extra time discussing future treatment plans. He and his MA Fellow made me feel welcomed and important. I never feel rushed at this clinic.
Jan 14, 2021
GOOD EXPERIENCE
Jan 07, 2021
I had very complicated symptoms and he listened and answered fully. Excellent. I quit coming to UCSF a few years ago after a bad experience with a different doctor. This was my first time back and it was a very good experience.
Dec 29, 2020
Dr. Winn is exceptional
Dec 21, 2020
Dr. Winn is a very good listener and that's extremely valuable in a doctor. I was lucky to have a very treatable lymphoma but that's not what I heard when I got my diagnosis. All I heard was "cancer" and to me all that meant was death. I remember how much my mother suffered. If Dr. Winn hadn't spent so much time listening to me and answering my questions I don't know how I would have gotten to a place where I could get treatment. I think the thing that scares everyone about cancer - any kind of cancer - is waiting to see if it returns and wondering if it will be treatable again. I'm sure I'm not the only person who brought vivid childhood memories of cancer to their own diagnosis. After all a patient is not a blank slate but a lot of doctors don't understand that. Even a detailed medical history doesn't do justice to the personal history that every patient brings to an appointment. In some sense it becomes the elephant in the room although oddly enough not everyone can see it. Dr. Winn can. People think of surgeons as impersonal but very often they are the doctors who give a patient a cancer diagnosis; they meet a patient's personal history head-on whether they want to or not. A month before I first came to UCSF I had a consultation with another orbital plastic surgeon who was so insensitive that I simply could not cope with the idea of learning I had cancer from her. I canceled my MRI blood work and next appointment with her and started looking for an orbital plastic surgeon who was a good person as well as an exceptional doctor. For me it's been a real gift to have someone like Dr. Winn who takes the time to listen to my concerns and help me make the best decisions about my health.
Oct 06, 2020
Dr.Winn by far is one of the most explainetive doctors I have had the pleasure of seeing. He also makes sure to fully understand your concerns as well to make sure you totally understand all the information that is being but forth. Dr.Winn is very friendly with a wonderful bedside manner. I have an extremely high confidence in his ability to treat and manage my health care. I would also not hesitate to recommend Dr.Winn to a friend family member or anyone looking for his field of medicine. For finally after a year and half Dr.Winn is the first one to truly explain my medical condition and or the likelihood that it could be another medical condition all together. He was very patient as he took the time to explain all this to me. it was very rewarding to finally have a doctor like Dr.Winn.
Sep 30, 2020
Dr. Winn and his attending physicians are superb.
Sep 15, 2020
Dr. Winn is an outstanding knowledgeable physician.
Sep 09, 2020
I feel very blessed to have been referred to Dr. Winn for treatment of my disease.
Aug 25, 2020
Dr. Winn is one of the smartest physicians and I am lucky to have him among my health care team.
Jul 28, 2020
Very lucky to have been referred to Dr. Winn. I feel I'm in the best hands for my necessary needs.
Jun 30, 2020
I was never rushed and the doctor showed respect for my questions.
Jun 23, 2020
Great visit. I am pleased that Dr. [name redacted] suggested I see Dr. Winn.

Share