Have you and your family had your flu shot? It's more important than ever this year! Schedule via MyChart or call for an appointment in SF, the East Bay or San Mateo.
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
C. Benjamin Ma

MD

4.8

Overall Experience
633 reviews
About our process
Jul 12, 2020
Great experience
Jul 02, 2020
I rely on the doctor to choose the best approach to treating my condition and so while I shared my preferences thoughts and concerns with him I absolutely want him to be the final decision maker regarding my surgery. I would like him to discuss the pain medication part of the plan a bit more so that I'm not wondering how I'm going to fill a prescription the day after surgery. I also wonder if he is being cautious about possibly prescribing an opioid pain med. due to all the problems surrounding opioids but doesn't want to get into that discussion yet. It is somewhat unsettling to me to not be able to fill the prescription the day before surgery especially since the UCSF videos and letters suggest doing just that.
Jun 30, 2020
This was my first time using Zoom and the instructions given by Dr. Ma's office prior made it a valuable experience.
Jun 23, 2020
Dr. Ma Is wonderful
Jun 04, 2020
I wished my Dr. could have given me more definitive information concerning the continuing pain in my surgery area. I had rotator cuff surgery in my right shoulder seven months ago.
Jun 03, 2020
I feel that Dr. Ma knows his stuff.
May 08, 2020
My Physical Therapist sent reports about my progress. From our discussion I could not tell if Dr. Ma had seen and/or read the reports.
May 06, 2020
Excellent
Apr 11, 2020
Great
Feb 07, 2020
Excellent
Feb 06, 2020
This visit was to get a second opinion on a shoulder replacement. The first surgeon who is not with your organization did not instill me with confidence. I'm definitely going with Dr. Ma
Feb 04, 2020
Dr Ma is the best!
Jan 20, 2020
The MD-medical provider is very accommodating and answers you in a timely manner thru the UCSF portal--MyChart and GetWellLoop. The patient care coordinator is very helpful very accommodating and knows her role in the care team. She coordinates well with the care team.
Jan 18, 2020
Worth driving over 300 miles round trip to receive this care.
Jan 17, 2020
Dr. Ma is the best!
Jan 16, 2020
The beat care provider
Jan 15, 2020
Exceptional care and expertise at all levels
Jan 13, 2020
Dr. Ma consistently exceeded our expectations in all areas of this survey and is an amazing example to all of those people lucky enough to interact with him!
Jan 01, 2020
I do have confidence on UCSF Staff
Dec 19, 2019
Dr Ma fixed my shoulder after another well respected surgeon had tried and failed. Another highly respected surgeon had told me after surgery #1 that he didnt think it could be fixed. Words cant express my gratitude to Dr Ma.
Nov 21, 2019
Dr. Ma is easy to speak with and he is a very good listener.
Nov 15, 2019
I've had excellent care with UCSF doctors but Dr. Ma has been outstanding and has always made me feel like a person more than just another patient and that itself means the world to me.
Nov 06, 2019
provider was not experienced with my disease and he ordered xrays that were unnecessary considering he had no plans to treat me
Nov 06, 2019
The best experience I have had with my medical condition.
Oct 29, 2019
I am extremely fortunate to have Dr. Ma and UCSF handing my shoulder issues. I fly from [location redacted]to San Francisco to see Dr. Ma and other orthopaedic and pulmonary doctors at UCSF. To make this trip shows just how highly I regard Dr. Ma other UCSF doctors and staff and UCSF itself.
Oct 22, 2019
I do recommend UCSF medical care to others.
Oct 14, 2019
Great Service!
Oct 07, 2019
Dr. Ma & his team at UCSF are top notch & deserve the highest accolades!
Oct 06, 2019
15 minutes is an insufficient time to make a decision about significant surgery especially when I am still recovering from another major surgery. I needed more time to discuss aspects of the potential new surgery as well as its potential impact on the surgery from which I was recovering. I know the surgeon is very busy. I just needed a bit more time to go over all of my concerns especially because there were complications during my recovery from the recent surgery.
Oct 04, 2019
Dr. Ma is wonderful! Period. Wish there were more like him.
Oct 03, 2019
I have recommended UCSF!!
Oct 02, 2019
very nice people
Oct 01, 2019
I think sometimes more "hope" could be part of the message to patients that have been through a hell of a lot. It goes a VERY long way to helping a person IMO. In this last visit he was exceptional at doing this but in early visits I tended to leave feeling defeated.
Sep 18, 2019
I have recommended UCSF to anyone who has a problem. This will be my second shoulder replacement. I'm very pleased!!
Sep 17, 2019
Ben Ma is an amazing MD. professional honest and truly caress about patients. nursing staff throughout was exceptional- [name redacted] and [name redacted] were great post and pre op
Sep 13, 2019
Best Doctor in 70 years!
Sep 10, 2019
this provider Dr. Ma is amazing he always takes care of all concerns recommend you to other doctors so that everything is always taken care of
Sep 07, 2019
Dr. Ma is One great doctor. I we have had him in our lives for sometime now whether it was me my husband and our son. We can't praise him enough.We have always had great experience. I can and have been saying I love him he is kind and caring. He just is great and things get done. That is what we like to in a doctor. Thank you!!!
Sep 07, 2019
friendly professional service
Sep 06, 2019
Dr. Ma told me he is a surgeon only and was not interested in involvement in areas in which he believes he will not make a major difference in my shoulder pain.
Aug 02, 2019
Always a good experience with Dr. Ma
Jul 23, 2019
Dr Ma is extremely friendly and very good at explaining treatments and steps for care. Very happy with him as a provider.
Jun 03, 2019
I came in to attempt sorting out a particular shoulder problem and was entirely satisfied with everything I experienced at UCSF from the receptionist to all the doctors attending me. After reviewing the MRI I had brought in he ordered an X-ray which was excellently done hence Dr. Ma had in his hands on the computer every bit of data and images and was therefore able to successfully diagnose my problem
Jun 01, 2019
Dr hard to understand because he talks to fast and does not ask if understood
May 20, 2019
Doctor Ma is an excellent doctor and a great human being. Great teacher to others.
May 16, 2019
Dr Ma is a truly outstanding physician combining both international expertise and the utmost compassion.
Apr 28, 2019
Due to mixed messages I received from others that work with Dr. Ma unfortunately I don't feel 100% confident with my diagnosis and that impacts the follow-up care instructions and why I had to sadly rate the way I did and in some cases chose not to give a rating. I also did feel somewhat rushed. Please see comments in previous Comments box where all comments have been bundled for more information.
Apr 26, 2019
Dr. Ma always greets with warmth concern and a big smile and that always puts me at ease.
Apr 25, 2019
Dr. Ma is an excellent communicator with great respect for his patients.
Apr 19, 2019
Always receive the most professional care
Apr 17, 2019
thank you
Apr 14, 2019
Dr Ma is the absolute best!!! I have never had a doctor like him... he ROCKS!!!!
Apr 09, 2019
There may be no better doctor in the world !!
Apr 05, 2019
DR. Ma is outstanding!!
Mar 24, 2019
Ben Ma provides EXCELLENT care is honest and exceptional in so may ways.
Mar 22, 2019
Seemed to be unconcerned about pain in other shoulder caused by stress/strain on it resulting from therapy/treatment in shoulder having surgery.
Mar 12, 2019
Dr ma and dr [name redacted] were amazing. thankyou for everything they did!
Mar 09, 2019
Dr. Ma is an Outstanding Physician. And his team is top notch.
Mar 01, 2019
extremely nice and helpful in the decisions made
Mar 01, 2019
I was so impressed that Dr. Ma called me at 7:30 pm on a Friday night to check up on how I was feeling.
Feb 26, 2019
I have recommended this doctor to many
Feb 17, 2019
I have the highest respect for and confidence in Dr. Ma and his team in treating my orthopedic problem.
Feb 15, 2019
very good experience.
Feb 12, 2019
Dr. Ma was excellent
Feb 12, 2019
I have already been recommending Dr. Ma to friends and people who stop me to ask about what happened.
Feb 01, 2019
Dr. Ma was the quintessential professional. He was easy to talk to and very caring and empathetic. Clearly one of the finest physicians I have ever met. I consider myself very lucky to have found him.
Jan 29, 2019
Dr Ma is an exceptional doctor from his surgical expertise to his thoughtful and thorough interactions with his patients.
Jan 27, 2019
My experience was a very good one.
Jan 20, 2019
Dr. Ma is the best!
Jan 18, 2019
Dr. ma did a shoulder replacement on my left shoulder. my doctor referred me to another surgeon but I know best that doctor ma will take care of me aussiedoodle right shoulder replacement in April thank you
Jan 11, 2019
Dr. Ma is awesome.
Jan 05, 2019
Upon entering the exam room Doctor greeted me with "nice to meet you" failing to know or acknowledge that I had already been seen by him a month earlier making me wonder just how relevant I was to him as a patient.
Jan 02, 2019
ordered X-ray to do on the way out but have not received feedback on results.
Dec 02, 2018
This was my first appointment with Dr. Ma. I'm very pleased to be in his care.
Nov 10, 2018
Felt a little rushed
Nov 09, 2018
I am sure he is the best in his field. i respect this and appreciate it. I did not feel he was compassionate about my needs regarding post surgery

Share