Skip to Main Content
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
C. Benjamin Ma

MD

4.8

Overall Experience
571 reviews
About our process
Apr 03, 2022
Dr.Ma's has given me great confidence in his diagnosis of my condition with a step by step plan for treatment. Dr. Ma demonstrates great concern friendly thoughtful & knowledgeable care toward me as a patient. He's the best!
Mar 20, 2022
I've always found Dr. Ma to be an exceptionally kind and concerned and intelligent/talented physician.
Mar 19, 2022
Very good Dr. Ma!!!!
Mar 16, 2022
I cannot say any more about Dr. Ma that I have not said before. He's simply the best! Mine is a worker's comp case but I wish I could have him as my regular dr.. Although not really because I'm sure he helps many more people with very serious conditions.
Mar 15, 2022
Dr Ma is the best!
Mar 15, 2022
Dr Ma is a great doctor from day one till now.
Mar 12, 2022
Very Bad experience with this physician.
Mar 04, 2022
Very easy with EMR MyChart
Mar 01, 2022
Dr Ma is the best. He listens and gives one confidence in one's recovery
Feb 01, 2022
Grateful that the provider was able and willing to communicate in my only language which is not English.
Jan 21, 2022
I don't know that I have a good sense of how to evaluate my options but the provider did say they would be in touch after ordering more X-rays to see what I'd be a candidate for.
Jan 11, 2022
The experience was good he was concerned explained his concern and gave me suggestions/instructions as to what needed to be done about his concerns. I will follow his instructions. He is the BEST!
Jan 07, 2022
Dr Ma is very technical/clinical. I made sure his fellow explained things first before Dr Ma came in so I had an idea of what I might expect. Dr Ma sketched out the technical details of some of the procedure but I still feel I got more out of the fellow. Dr Ma insists in showing me MRIs. Those are just black and grey blobs to me. I am sure he is teaching his residents but he seems to also expect that I am going to know what he is talking about. He points to something and says as you can see...something technical something technical something technical... I nod because he is looking at me waiting for a response but really it means nothing to me. I have no idea what I am agreeing to. My mom had knee replacement with Dr. Ward in 2021. His method is much better. He showed her on her knee where he would be cutting then used a model of the knee to show where he would be cutting then used a model of the replacement to show what he would be putting in and finally talking about what to expect after that. This is a much better method for a non technical audience. Although Dr Ma did show me in my x-ray where/why my shoulder is higher than it should be and why it was like that. That was very illuminating. Dr. Ma's manner can be a little intimidating. He is such a self-assured and strongly opinioned personality that I am afraid to speak up.
Dec 17, 2021
I felt a high level of confidence in my provider
Nov 24, 2021
Dr Ma has tremendous concern for and interest in his patients. I felt he reached out to me above and beyond what I would expect in a pre-op and post-operative situation.
Oct 20, 2021
Dr. Ma responds to my follow-up questions very quickly and comprehensively through your portal he goes above and beyond.
Oct 06, 2021
I'm confident that he's great at his specialty but I found him to be a little brusque - i.e. Seemed to rush thru explanations of my injury. However that might be because he's ordering me an MRI to determine more specific info about it. He did ask me more than once if I had questions - but I couldn't think of any at the moment! Later I wish I'd asked him what questions he would think I would/should have - or what are some typical questions others with my same issue have had in the past.
Sep 19, 2021
Dr. Ma does not beat around the bush. He said I will be seeing him for awhile. Good visit got to go back to work 3 days a week
Sep 13, 2021
I felt very confident about his diagnosis both from what he said and how he said it. It was one of my best doctor experiences.
Jul 27, 2021
Extremely thorough and clear discussion about my condition and steps I needed to take to continue my recovery.
Jun 26, 2021
I don't know what I do now but guess I have to see about Kaiser. Dr. Ma sent his info to doctors I previously saw at Kaiser though they said they couldn't help me so I got the UCSF referral for a second opinion.
Jun 25, 2021
Some of the instructions did include an exercise that my physical therapist told me NOT to do.
Jun 11, 2021
Dr Ma is the very best physician. He is always smiling and upbeat and he has given me wonderful care. This was a 5 year checkup for my should replacement surgery. He has been consistently attentive to me and my concerns and has explained everything to me in a way I can understand. I feel very lucky to have him as my orthopedic surgeon.
Jun 05, 2021
Dr. Ma is a gem! His expertise is so reassuring for me as having both my shoulders replaced was an extremely important undertaking and the results have been remarkable; life changing! Also he has a light positive efficient but relaxed attitude every time we meet that is very encouraging. I recommend him every time I talk to anyone about my procedures.
May 28, 2021
Amazing doctors technicians and staff across the board. friendliest front desk personnel ever! but everyone I've met within the entire suite is beyond helpful friendly concerned and goes over and above to make me feel cared for and welcomed. Truly an amazing place!
May 28, 2021
Dr Ma is the best provider I have ever had. he was thorough explained everything and never felt rushed. I felt like he genuinely cared and was very enjoyable to be around. This has been the best experience with the healthcare system I have ever had. you all run a very good operation.
May 15, 2021
Everything about this provider his team and the office staff is top notch well thought out and highly efficient. At the same time they are friendly and create a positive environment.
Apr 23, 2021
Felt a bit rushed not enough time to ask all questions or know all next steps
Apr 20, 2021
Dr Ma is the best!
Apr 13, 2021
It was a relaxed informative pre-surgical visit.
Mar 16, 2021
I felt very rushed and when I didn't understand some thing the provider simply repeated what he said before rather than explain it in a way that I would understand. I left with more questions than answers.
Mar 10, 2021
Excellent experience on all fronts. My knee feels almost brand new and I'm only three months post-op!
Mar 09, 2021
highly recommend Dr. Ma.
Feb 28, 2021
This is my first visit with Dr. Ma he is cordial and appeared to have my well being in mind.
Feb 23, 2021
Stellar service
Feb 15, 2021
as this is the second total shoulder replacement surgery (first was my right shoulder and now will domy left shoulder) there was a refresher review on the expectations process and pre-op/post-op details. this review was delivered by the provider and then also by the providers Scheduler.
Feb 12, 2021
Dr. Ma has been very informative about my surgery.
Feb 03, 2021
This appointment was a post surgery follow-up appointment. Dr. Ma reminded me of the time period since surgery and provided encouragement.
Feb 02, 2021
Dr. Ma is absolutely great. He treats you like an adult and is never condescending as some in his position are.
Jan 13, 2021
Dr. Ma is amazing. Professional knowledgable and caring.
Dec 13, 2020
dr Ma is the greatest!
Dec 09, 2020
Dr. Ma is outstanding! Amazing in his ability to explain the problem suggest a plan of action and being empathetic listening carefully to my narrative and questions. His ability to quickly diagnose and take immediate corrective action was remarkable. I felt i was getting better within a day after my doctor visit.
Dec 05, 2020
This was my first appointment with this doctor. I saw him to discuss possible surgery on my shoulder. We did not discuss medications at a this time.
Nov 24, 2020
Dr. Ma's demeanor was calm and confident. made me feel that I was in the right hands. He was gentle when checking my joint. Asked if I was fine with the plan. was a good visit.
Nov 20, 2020
The only problem I have with this provider is that I need to travel an hour and a half to his office; but it is well worth the trip.
Nov 12, 2020
very good
Nov 11, 2020
Dr. Ma is the best!!
Nov 10, 2020
Dr Ma is a wonderful physician!
Nov 10, 2020
I am very impressed with how quickly I receive responses to my messages on the patient portal. Also appreciated seeing the x-rays and summary to them.
Nov 04, 2020
have recommended Dr Ma to family and friends many times.
Oct 30, 2020
Excellent surgeon!
Oct 20, 2020
My visit with Dr. Ma was outstanding. He explained my injury told me about options and gave me scientific information on the reason for his direction. He was incredibly friendly and supportive of my injury.
Sep 24, 2020
Dr Ma took time to review the procedure and presented pictures so that I could understand what he did during my surgery. He answered my questions and reconfirmed my next steps and expectations until my next visit.
Sep 19, 2020
good surgeon just rushed
Sep 11, 2020
Dr. Ma is clearly very skilled and I don't doubt his expertise. I do think he doesn't believe when I say I think something is still torn as it is hard for docs to imagine someone like me who tears for no particular reason (ie. no injury or trauma of any sort).
Jul 12, 2020
Great experience
Jul 02, 2020
I rely on the doctor to choose the best approach to treating my condition and so while I shared my preferences thoughts and concerns with him I absolutely want him to be the final decision maker regarding my surgery. I would like him to discuss the pain medication part of the plan a bit more so that I'm not wondering how I'm going to fill a prescription the day after surgery. I also wonder if he is being cautious about possibly prescribing an opioid pain med. due to all the problems surrounding opioids but doesn't want to get into that discussion yet. It is somewhat unsettling to me to not be able to fill the prescription the day before surgery especially since the UCSF videos and letters suggest doing just that.
Jun 30, 2020
This was my first time using Zoom and the instructions given by Dr. Ma's office prior made it a valuable experience.
Jun 23, 2020
Dr. Ma Is wonderful
Jun 04, 2020
I wished my Dr. could have given me more definitive information concerning the continuing pain in my surgery area. I had rotator cuff surgery in my right shoulder seven months ago.
Jun 03, 2020
I feel that Dr. Ma knows his stuff.

Share