Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Christopher Ames

MD

4.7

Overall Experience
251 reviews
About our process
Nov 12, 2020
excellent all round
Oct 30, 2020
100% confidence in Dr. Ames and his staff. I have recommended them several times and will continue.
Oct 25, 2020
I need info. re: Installation of icon of UCSF portal.
Oct 23, 2020
excellent!!!
Sep 22, 2020
Dr. Ames far exceeded my expectations. I had heard about him from several people who highly recommended him. Although it took some time due to referrals etc. to get an appointment for him to review my case the wait was well worth it!!
Sep 11, 2020
I understand the time spent with me was very short due to the time of surgeon Ames is often stretched among patients. I still would have liked to have more correspondence with him since he had performed such an extreme surgery.
Aug 21, 2020
This visit was a consultation for a now pending surgery and was my first time consulting with this surgeon.
Aug 06, 2020
Communication was excellent after we decided to use an alternate sound source---the telephone in addition to the teleconference with Zoom software.
Jul 04, 2020
I feel like I can talk or ask any questions with both Pa & Doc
Jun 25, 2020
This appointment went better than my other appointment with Dr. Ames. I didn't feel rushed and that he really cared about my recovery. I wish there had been more conversation about what I was going to possibly go through before my surgery. This has been a long year and I was told the window for my recovery would probably be several more years - glad to finally hear that but this certainly wasn't something I anticipated
May 22, 2020
They made me feel comfortable. They never made me feel bad for asking questions and they explained so that I would understand.
May 08, 2020
I had seen several doctors before seeing Dr. Ames. I got different views all of which were valid in their own way. Dr. Ames was able to synthesize all those views into one that made sense and enabled me to make the right decision. It was comforting to me.
May 08, 2020
very caring
Mar 02, 2020
I'm finally with a doctor for the first time in 10 years who I felt understood the emotional and physical pain I've had to live through. also first time since the original surgery that a doctor gave me hope to resolve my concerns and condition.
Feb 18, 2020
Best doctor ever
Feb 04, 2020
I can't speak highly enough of Dr. Ames. He is caring skilled compassionate patient and the most amazing doctor I have ever had. His hands are golden and his surgical skills corrected my spine and gave me my life back. I am truly thankful for him every day.
Jan 12, 2020
Dr. Ames provided me with excellent care for which I will always be grateful.
Jan 07, 2020
I live in another state and came that far to get this doctor. Would do it over again if needed.
Oct 16, 2019
With all the information I brought for my appointment the medical agency that provided them failed to have the one report Dr Ames requested (unknown to me till in midst of appointment) and needed for my consultation.
Oct 01, 2019
wish my brain wasnt in such a fog.I wanted to ask him about the surgery but failed to.
Sep 17, 2019
As I am to call back in a couple of days for more info I cannot respond now to additional info.
Sep 14, 2019
I can't say enough positive things about everyone there. I LOVE Dr Christopher Ames and all of his staff. I highly recommend this to everyone who's Dr tells them "there is nothing else we can do". Sending them to UCSF is the BEST place to get the help we need.
Aug 26, 2019
Dr Ames is one of the best neurosurgeons in the country. I came from [location redacted] to have him perform my surgery. He's excellent.
Aug 24, 2019
as I said everyone is very good and professional
Aug 20, 2019
Dr. Ames is a knowledgeable & an experienced physician. I wish more time was spent explaining what to expect following the surgery long term.
Jul 12, 2019
very caring kind man.
Jul 09, 2019
great job
Jul 02, 2019
I appreciate how kindly Dr Ames answered questions my family had. One was about the rods used the make model etc so they could look it up. Dr Ames explained as best he could without judgment or irritation. He is a brilliant man.
Jun 26, 2019
Dr. Ames spent so much time with me. He is such a nice doctor. He provided the reassurance I needed and answered all my questions
Jun 19, 2019
didn't have the knowledge to help me.
Jun 18, 2019
Dr Ames was very good at explaining my condition and my options for treatment. He took his time and explained everything to me making sure I understood so I could make an informed decision on my treatment.
Jun 11, 2019
good
May 27, 2019
good experience
May 17, 2019
Showed great care and compassion
May 02, 2019
Dr. Ames is always wonderful and makes it very clear to me that I can call and come back if I have anymore questions or problems.
May 01, 2019
already have recommended him
Apr 28, 2019
thanks for excellent care.
Apr 19, 2019
The doctor's credentials and expertise were the The doctor's impressive credentials and expertise was the deciding factor in choosing him for my care however; I feel that his bedside manner needs work.
Mar 22, 2019
He didn't explain anything.
Mar 20, 2019
I think the answers I gave is a good explanation of excellence the office portrays.
Mar 19, 2019
This was a consultation appointment
Mar 14, 2019
I liked Dr ads and feel comfortable having him as my back surgeon.
Mar 01, 2019
Dr. Ames was incredibly knowledgeable kind and made it clear he wanted to help me. He knew my history well and took his time discussing my medical history and surgery with me. He outlined a pre surgical plan for me to prepare my bones for surgery. I have tremendous confidence in Dr. Ames. He was wonderful and made me feel very reasssured that I am in excellent hands.
Feb 17, 2019
Dr. Ames is a good mechanic but is not a doctor. Has no interest in me my lack of recovery though he is reputedly excellent. He or his PA have not been helpful at all.
Feb 12, 2019
No bad experiences.
Feb 08, 2019
Love this man
Feb 06, 2019
Very thorough doctor. Glad he's on my care team.
Jan 29, 2019
First visit to the spine clinic.

Share