Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Dean Chou

MD

4.8

Overall Experience
291 reviews
About our process
May 25, 2021
Wonderful
Apr 25, 2021
clear and easy to understand what my options are and what my condition entails risks etc
Mar 17, 2021
He explained my options. He expressed what can be done. He allowed me time to process the huge decisions coming in my direction. It was encouraging and supportive to hear what can be done
Mar 15, 2021
Dr. Chou took the time to verify the impact the latest spinal issues has caused this past year. He was very compassionate and respectful when explaining the challenges and impact that has been created by my most recent cervical issues. Dr. Chou also took the time to bring up my images and show me where he believed the problem arose. (Also confirmed what I already to believed to be a cervical issue at orvbear my C7.
Feb 02, 2021
l got the best care from Dr Chou's team
Jan 21, 2021
left with some confusion
Dec 29, 2020
Dr Chou is excellent in his field. I know he gets what he needs to say done in a short amount of time. He is always pleasant and caring. I trust him completely and have referred many people to him.
Dec 27, 2020
Dr. Chou and his team are outstanding. The best I have EVER experienced
Dec 24, 2020
I am new to UCSF and the experience has been wonderful.
Nov 13, 2020
So glad my PCP referred my case to Dr. Chou.
Oct 06, 2020
Dr Chou had difficulty with the transmission on his computer that he was using. This made communication extremely difficult.
Sep 18, 2020
I was at ease and very confident with Dr.Dean Chou.. I have always called upon Dr.Chou and value his degree of expertise
Sep 18, 2020
Great teamwork!
Sep 17, 2020
I haven't made a follow up appointment yet. this is after my MRI I called and left a message to make one but haven't heard anything yet.
Aug 25, 2020
friendly
Jul 24, 2020
I was extremely impressed with my overall visit. I was very impressed with Dr. Chou and felt extremely comfortable and understood my back issues alternatives and we put a plan in place. I am also very confident with his knowledge and recommendations. He was also very easy to talk to and I felt very comfortable with both Dr. Chou and his entire staff involved in our teleconference.
Jul 21, 2020
everything was excellent
Jun 24, 2020
Condition could not be verified and additional tests ordered. Follow up is pending.
May 31, 2020
Dr. Chou and his team is outstanding be it in the office on the operating table or in a teleconference
May 21, 2020
all good
May 20, 2020
Dr. Chou explained everything to me very clearly. The use of telehealth was very smooth and he was able to show me my MRI while explaining the findings. I really appreciate the ability to do a telehealth appointment during these times. It was very convenient and I don't feel I lost anything by not being there in person. It was actually more convenient overall.
May 15, 2020
From my daughter sending me the Iphone 7 to my granddaughter teaching me how to work it to my friend who was there to assist me in understanding and help and my boyfriend was there he was also there for my last surgery with Dr. Chou and he will be there when I have this new surgery. Thank you
May 10, 2020
Sometimes I think that I didn't get the whole story. about my case there was more to follow.
May 08, 2020
He shared his desktop so he can used photos and graphs to illustrate his points. He also personally demonstrate various potential neuro-responses post-operative.
Apr 29, 2020
I could not ask for more. In fact this appointment on [date redacted] exceeded my expectations in every way. I am so very grateful to have my spine health in the care of Dr. Chou and his team.
Apr 11, 2020
This was last follow-up visit for lumbar surgery performed almost 4 years ago.
Apr 10, 2020
once set up telehealth application Zoom was good. the difficulty was the pre-appointment new patient forms and the knowledge of the staff on how to have these done
Apr 03, 2020
excellent experience
Mar 25, 2020
Dr. Chou and his team gave me back my life. I can walk long distances without pain things that had not been able to do for many years.
Mar 14, 2020
Without question an excellent provider in his category. One of the few neurosurgeons that has an award willing personality. He is not only excellent in his field but also gives options as to help my condition. No pressure gives as much time (days weeks months) if I needed it to make a decision. I had met with other surgeons but none would I have been as comfortable and knew I was in the best hands.
Mar 13, 2020
Explained my injury in depth showed me my films and gave complete instructions for best healing outcomes with timelines. Also included scenario if healing doesn't occur as planned which I appreciated.
Feb 28, 2020
I appreciated how the doctor answered all my questions and concerns.
Feb 28, 2020
He was my third opinion of my current condition and by far the most comprehensive and skilled.
Feb 24, 2020
I have complete trust in Dr Chou and his team. He is thoughtful caring and professional. He knows exactly what he is doing. I am well pleased
Feb 15, 2020
Dr. Chou got right to the point and made salient observations from my x-rays that have not previously been brought to my attention. He listened attentively and clearly explained his impressions. For the first time in over a year I feel hopeful that something can be done to improve my current situation.
Feb 14, 2020
Dr. Chou & Staff are the best!
Feb 06, 2020
Dr. Chou is an excellent physician.
Nov 01, 2019
All good. Impressed!
Oct 08, 2019
The visit from the doctor seemed only a token undertaking. Had I known this would be the case I would not have made the extra effort to seek out this individual.
Sep 24, 2019
Dr Chou was outstanding ! He answered questions clearly and concisely .Dr Chou's bedside manner and authenticity match his skills as a surgeon

Share