Skip to Main Content
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Edwin Alexander Alvarez

MD

4.9

Overall Experience
264 reviews
About our process
Apr 02, 2022
Dr. Alvarez is doing an excellent job with my cancer. I couldn't ask for a more conscientious doctor. I'm getting state of the art treatment with a care team that monitors my side effects closely. I'm grateful for Dr. Alvarez's care.
Mar 26, 2022
Best possible care and great team!
Mar 09, 2022
Dr. Alvarez is a very caring doctor. He listens intently and gives thoughtful consideration to whatever I have to say. He is also very gentle in performing physical exams as well as very respectful.
Mar 08, 2022
I am more than satisfied with provider care
Mar 05, 2022
Dr Alvarez is smart compassionate and goes above and beyond to help!
Mar 04, 2022
Dr. Alvarez was both professional kind and helpful.
Mar 03, 2022
The very humane treatment has always been excellent and the confidence to express my doubts always very well clarified are Angels of Heaven.
Feb 25, 2022
They were very good with me I feel confident with him doing my surgery
Feb 08, 2022
The Dr.s office followed up with a positive answer to move forward & ok to get a blood test which would tell me if I qualify. Unfortunately that blood test has still not been scheduled.
Jan 06, 2022
Favorably impressed with Dr. Alvarez. He has a genuinely friendly disposition and was most informative. The information he relayed enables me to make meaningful decisions about health care options. He's the only physician who has ever invited me as a patient to take notes. By the time the appointment concluded I was feeling very encouraged and excited about future medical care at UCSF and in other health care settings.
Dec 17, 2021
Wiith Dr. Alvarez' permission I recorded the conversations to share with my husband which was useful.
Nov 16, 2021
Dr. Alvarez and I discussed a major change in my cancer diagnosis after the surgery pathology report indicated my cancer had metastasized. It could have been a difficult and awkward conversation because I asked him questions regarding my staging prognosis and future treatments. Dr. Alvarez was honest. He answered everything I wanted to know in a calm thorough and frank manner. I appreciate his honesty. I feel it was a sign of respect. Thank you Dr. Alvarez.
Sep 17, 2021
I was so impressed with the care this doctor showed. Listen carefully and restated what I had said to ensure he was understanding. Did not pressure me to make a decision. Did feel rushed like I have with other doctors. Explained everything clearly and checked for understanding. So impressed with this Doctor!!
Sep 09, 2021
Very good
Sep 09, 2021
Dr. Alvarez was exceptional!!!!
Aug 20, 2021
Dr. Alvarez took his time to answer of all my questions. He told me treatment options and recommended plan. He was very thorough. I learned things about my cancer that had never been explained to me by past doctors.
Jul 30, 2021
My visit with Dr. Alvarez was a 3 month surveillance exam (post cancer treatment). I had several specific questions for him regarding my surveillance plan. Dr. Alvarez took the time to discuss and explain my imaging and examination requirements for the next 2 years. I appreciated his explanations.
Jun 19, 2021
I am totally impressed with this doctor overall. He cares and I feel he will take utmost strides to make me well again.
Jun 06, 2021
The appointment was for a second opinion on a cancer diagnosis. I felt like the doctor treated me as one of his own patients. I very much appreciated his insights and his willingness to answer all my questions. He eased my mind on a number of aspects and made what I felt were very reasonable suggestions for follow up work which he passed along to my primary care physician and are being acted upon.
May 21, 2021
he is great
May 16, 2021
Dr. Alvarez and his staff explained every step of my care to me.
May 02, 2021
This was a visit to discuss next steps in cancer care. Very helpful very efficient.
Mar 18, 2021
I really appreciate all the time Dr. Alvarez spent with me and his openness and responsiveness to all the questions that my husband and I ask!
Mar 16, 2021
Dr. Alvarez is a great surgeon and he has my best interest at heart and always discusses risks / options etc. I feel very comfortable leaving my care with Dr. Alvarez and his staff. His staff and nurses are great as well. Thanks.
Mar 13, 2021
excellent dr and very knowledgeable and caring.
Mar 12, 2021
Dr. Alvarez went out of his way to listen to me and to provide answers to all of my questions. He was both compassionate and supportive. I'm very grateful.
Mar 02, 2021
Dr Alvarez and his team are the best
Jan 22, 2021
Dr. Alvarez did a thorough job addressing all of my concerns. For example I've been experiencing daily headaches after my 4th cycle of chemo ( for about 6 weeks). He gave me a requisition for lab work to rule out anemia. He also felt I should have a brain MRI to rule out the risk of more serious issues. I appreciate his concern and his determination to find the reason for my prolonged headaches.
Jan 20, 2021
Dr. Alvarez is knowledgeable kind and compassionate. Best Oncolgist ever.
Nov 26, 2020
Best care one could hope for!
Sep 11, 2020
Dr. Alvarez is kind compassionate knowledge able man. He takes the time he needs with each patient to meet their needs. I am honored to be his patient. I know I get best possible care from him.
Aug 20, 2020
Doctor Alvarez answered my questions and addressed my concerns added his advice and when I left I wasn't as freaked out as before...his input solved a few of my what if's and now I can relax my brain until the day of my fate...
Aug 08, 2020
Dr. Alvarez is an excellent surgeon. He and the tumor board created a comprehensive treatment plan for my cancer and I have regular follow up appointments.
Jul 30, 2020
!!!!! GREAT CARE!!!
Jul 30, 2020
Fantastic Dr!!
Jun 30, 2020
In my case the tele part of the conference doesn't work so we have to depend on telephone as the communication vehicle.
Jun 18, 2020
good experience

Share