Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Eric J. Small

MD, FASCO

5.0

Overall Experience
125 reviews
About our process
Feb 03, 2021
Dr. Small is the most competent physician I have encountered. There is no other physician I would trust my condition with more than Dr. Small!
Dec 09, 2020
Dr. Small has become one of the most important people in my life. His attentiveness and caring attitude have served as a very powerful beacon on my journey with prostate cancer. As a physician myself playing the role of a patient is not always easy but he has navigated the process so skillfully. I can't possibly express enough gratitude for him.
Dec 09, 2020
Dr. Small is simply a wonderful and fantastic partner in my healthcare
Sep 16, 2020
we love Eric!!
Sep 13, 2020
Dr. Small is great. Just alittle confused still about referral process (but that is on my end whether I should just wait until all results are sent for referral to call me or I should call them).
Aug 11, 2020
Exceptional physician. Focused informed expert and caring. A brilliant man familiar with all research advances in the field An exceptional doctor Dancing eyes and a warm smile
Aug 10, 2020
It was somewhat challenging for me to get into the waiting room electronicallyThat should be more simplified for elderly patients
Aug 10, 2020
During the past three years of my journey with prostate cancer I have had consultations with numerous oncologists. He is by far the best communicator of technical information; so clear and coherent. He is also compassionate and supportive. I so trust his judgment and medical expertise and am so appreciative of his availability for periodic consults concerning my oncology care at DFCI.
Jul 23, 2020
Excellent experience with Dr Small per usual!!
Jul 13, 2020
No way for my MD to access my medical records on-line at Stanford Hospital. This is a MAJOR issue you need to solve for all your local patients how are treated at Stanford as well.
Jul 11, 2020
advantage of telehealth I could take notes
Jun 30, 2020
Dr. Small is an incredible doctor/scientist and just a wonderful person.
Jun 21, 2020
still waiting for las request at quest. lab a need before Appointments for Bone scan and CT Scans.
May 27, 2020
my doctor is the best !
May 18, 2020
When I joined the meeting I saw my image briefly and then my provider's image in thumbnail size briefly. I could not hear him and could not find any buttons on the screen to press for audio or video. He could hear me. While searching for some way to get audio I lost the video and neither of us could see the other. Again no buttons to use to activate audio or video. At some point I saw two lines near the top of the screen. One said audio muted and the other said Video stopped. I got audio back by pressing the audio line but pressing Video stopped line did not toggle the video back on. At the very top of the screen there was a red banner reading Driver Mode which I have never turned on and it wouldn't work in my car anyway. (I was in my car at the hospital parking lot at the time). I am using a Pixel 4 phone with Android 10. I think UCSF needs to check with Google and Zoom to review how this could have happened. I followed the instructions which when I tested my phone using the UCSF test procedure worked as described. But when I did the same thing to connect with my provider the screen with buttons for audio and video did not appear and what I described above happened. I will also mention that the text instructions and video instructions UCSF provides do not provide exactly the same steps. Those setting the different types of instruction should make sure they are the same because when they are not a new user doesn't know why and can be confused.
Apr 19, 2020
Fantastic!
Apr 13, 2020
Eric as he prefers to be called is a superb communicator and a caring soul. I can't say enough positive about him.
Apr 13, 2020
Dr. Small is one of the clearest communicators I've ever had for medical care. He's caring informed incisive and wonderful.
Apr 04, 2020
Dr. Small has me wait to ask my questions and by the time it's my turn he's already answered 95% of them. He anticipates almost everything I think of every time. He's the best.
Apr 04, 2020
Excellent call overall.
Feb 25, 2020
I think JESUS is his brother. He is amazing !
Feb 10, 2020
Doctor Small is awesome
Dec 20, 2019
Without a doubt the best doctor I have ever seen.
Dec 04, 2019
Great experience!
Nov 01, 2019
when diagnosed with cancer it is very reassuring to have the best medical team and state of the art facilities and staff
Oct 09, 2019
Following our meeting I sent this message to Dr. Small: "In a turbulent sea of doubt and worry yours is a calm voice of knowledge and confidence that may be curative in itself. Many many thanks for what you are doing for me."
Aug 21, 2019
Dr. Small is fantastic.
Jun 26, 2019
Dr Small is an exemplary physician! He spent much more time with me than expected. He was very comprehensive in his explanations and answered all of my questions in a patient and comprehensive manner
May 08, 2019
Dr. Eric Small is one of if not the finest physician with whom I've ever visited. He is exceptionally generous with his time; is remarkably empathetic; offers explanations for complex issues and decisions that are extremely clarifying and uncommonly understandable; is open to any and all questions; goes over key health issues in the way a good teacher does with repetition and with confirmation of understanding; and demonstrates a commanding knowledge of his domain with clear understanding of the challenges that his patients are experiencing in trying to make sense out of their health issues. In my lengthy contest with cancer I've encountered literally countless doctors. Dr. Eric Small stands above the crowd for his extraordinary command of his specialty his compassion and his communication skills. I'm confident that my life will be better and longer for the fact that I am a patient of Dr. Small.

Share