Have you and your family had your flu shot? It's more important than ever this year! Schedule via MyChart or call for an appointment in SF, the East Bay or San Mateo.
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Erik Hansen

MD

4.9

Overall Experience
574 reviews
About our process
Jul 24, 2020
i've do the xercises he asked me to do and i'm doing them again as requested.
Jul 23, 2020
A great doctor I'm glad have him as my doctor
Jul 22, 2020
Dr Hansen is the best.
Jul 17, 2020
I HAVE HAD 2 VIDEO APPOINTMENTS AND BOTH HAVE GONE VERY WELL.
Jul 09, 2020
Dr. Hansen is the ultimate professional physician; a credit to himself his profession and to UCSF!
Jun 17, 2020
Yes Dr. Hansen is really that awesome!
Apr 23, 2020
This is my first visit to this provider and like others in the orthopedics department the other physicians i have ad are excellent.
Apr 22, 2020
I felt I didn't get enough information about a potentially habit forming drug I am taking. not only on this visit but prior times. I needed better questions. Face to face might have made it easier to voice my concerns about pain management.
Apr 22, 2020
I'm a talker Dr Hansen listens tentatively and still gets all the medical questions in. he's awesome
Apr 15, 2020
After not being able to use the Zoom video he agreed to a phone interview. I was more than pleased. He answer all my questions with the care that i could understand. Now since it's an urgent surgery though COVID-19 is out there he's scheduling my surgery real soon.
Apr 13, 2020
i am not adept at telehealth process
Apr 09, 2020
Dr Hansen has a way of making one feel as if you were the only patient he needed to see that day.
Apr 05, 2020
I had asked his nurse if he would just do a phone interview since we couldn't get the zoom video to workthey declined.
Mar 11, 2020
my doctor that I am seeing is just exceptional. A fantastic attentive and brilliant doctor.
Feb 13, 2020
Excellent in all respects
Feb 13, 2020
Erik Hansen listens carefully and gives me guidance to how I can minimize the advancement of my osteoarthritis of my left hip. He keeps a close watch on the health of my hip and femur bones. He scheduled me to see him every six months to assess my situation. In the interim I am improving my diet to strenghten my bones exercise daily and am strengthening my overall wellbeing. The bi-annual visits to see Erik gives my a very good grounding in what I am doing to minimizing the advancement of my autoimmune disease. He's great.
Feb 08, 2020
Dr. Erik Hansen is amazing and highly recommended.
Feb 05, 2020
Dr. Hansen is great. He listens he is concerned he discusses possible actions to take regarding my problems.
Feb 02, 2020
Dr and staff are very professional
Jan 23, 2020
I feel that I had the very best surgeon I could have had with my problem.
Jan 23, 2020
I am so lucky to have a good orthopedic Institute in SF near my house. Thank you
Jan 16, 2020
dr Hansen showed me side by side xrays of my old knee replacement and my new one which helped me to understand my recovery process. he's great.
Jan 16, 2020
The expertise of Dr. Hansen and the significant positive outcome of my revision surgery is the primary reason I have selected a primary physician within the UCSF system. I hope to have most of my healthcare at UCSF.
Jan 15, 2020
As this was for a specific orthopedic condition it was not necessary to discuss medications related to my general health.
Jan 09, 2020
I was referred to Dr. Hansen by colleagues at UCSF. I was very impressed by him and his staff and look forward to a successful total knee replacement.
Jan 08, 2020
excellent care
Jan 08, 2020
Dr. Hansen has got to be one of the best orthopaedic surgeons in the world. I feel lucky to have him as my knee doctor.
Nov 27, 2019
dr Hansen is amazing
Nov 23, 2019
I am happy to get care from Dr. Hansen
Nov 22, 2019
thank you.
Nov 15, 2019
Dr. Hansen did both my knee replacements and got me walking when other orthopaedists wouldn't touch my complicated right knee. This time I needed to return for discussion and scheduling a hip replacement due to ongoing medical issues.
Nov 07, 2019
I was very impressed by Dr. Erik Hansen and feel confident in him as my surgeon.
Nov 01, 2019
Erik Hansen is a very competent and thoughtful surgeon. what I admire about him is his ability to understand and offer guidance to me in how I can improve my own medical condition. He is an exceptional skillful surgeon and a good listener who helped me maintain my overall health while also insuring that my arthritis is being monitored.
Oct 30, 2019
I am in the best hands.
Oct 24, 2019
He is a high-potential doc -- both as a practicing surgeon and perhaps as leader in the department. He's obviously very smart. I don't know if he teaches but I suspect he would be very good. He has the capacity of being warm and engaged. But I sometimes think that the hospital scoreboard (both operational and political) unconsciously tugs him away from his better instincts as they pertain to customers. I think he'll sort it out.
Oct 08, 2019
All my questions and concerns were answered. I never felt rushed.
Oct 03, 2019
Dr Hansen did a fantastic job regarding my knee replacement!
Oct 02, 2019
I have seen 3 Orthopedic doctors (at institutions other than UCSF) before seeing Dr. Hansen. I was impressed with Dr. Hansen's thoroughness and willingness to sit down and talk to me about my situation. The meeting was not rushed and Dr. Hansen had a firm command of his information. I feel more confident and at ease with Dr. Hansen than the other Orthopedic doctors I have met with with.
Sep 19, 2019
This was my first post-surgery appointment with Dr. Hansen & he is magnificent!! I called him an exceptional surgeon & artist as truly I cannot believe how easy this all has gone.
Sep 14, 2019
Dr Hansen is number one in my book
Sep 12, 2019
He is the best!
Sep 05, 2019
Having met hundreds of orthopaedic physicians far and away Dr. Hansen is the best orthopaedic physician I have ever met.
Sep 05, 2019
I so appreciated how Dr Hansen spoke clearly and loudly for my [number redacted] year old Mother to hear and understand. He was honoring and kind and took time to address all our concerns.
Sep 03, 2019
Dr. Hansen is amazing. He even prefers for me and my partner to call him by his name - Erik.
Aug 24, 2019
I highly respect the team.
Aug 06, 2019
See my previous comments - can't praise Dr. Hansen and his staff enough!
Aug 06, 2019
Dr. Hansen was very attentive and thorough in his questioning and explanations.
Jul 28, 2019
my doctor is THE BEST
Jul 18, 2019
pay attention very well
Jul 11, 2019
superb experience start to finish
Jul 06, 2019
Despite the very frustrating slow healing process I am very happy with Dr. Hansen as he sees me through this difficult period of trying to heal the fracture in the left tibia below my partial knee implant. He is full of care and committed to be with me until the fracture heals and I can walk again.
Jun 21, 2019
Dr Erik Hansen is an awesome physician kind attentive and passionate about his care for his patients. A friend of my who is also his patient adores him.
Jun 21, 2019
good
Jun 19, 2019
Dr Hansen is genuine friendly and knowledgeable.love his socks always coordinated with ties.
Jun 01, 2019
I have recommended Dr. Hansen to 3 of my close friends.
May 31, 2019
very patient. great listener.
May 31, 2019
Dr. Eric Hansen is very knowledgeable professional and kind. I'm very happy with the results of my hip surgery. I highly recommend him to my friends and family.
May 22, 2019
Very pleased!
May 18, 2019
Though I had issues and complications after surgery the risk is always there. I fully understood the risks and accept it. My surgeon Dr. Hansen and his team of very responsible and supportive people are giving me the best care they can provide and I am grateful for their support and concern.
May 15, 2019
Dr. Hansen's care is A+! It would be nice to walk out of the office with summary notes of recommended actions and info on new prescription(s).
May 14, 2019
I have seen Dr.Hansen at least 10 times over the last 6 years. This was the first visit where I felt he was rushing it. He is usually excellent when it comes to explaining the plan. this was still an above average visit. Dr.Hansen is committed to his patients.
May 03, 2019
satisfied
May 02, 2019
What a truly remarkable experience. Always leave feeling hopeful.
May 01, 2019
Dr. Hansen is an incredibly skilled and knowledgeable surgeon and I am most fortunate to have him for hip replacement.
Apr 29, 2019
Erik Hansen seemed vey diligent and informed however with my condition- that needed immediate attention he's not able to make adjustments to his schedule. And with the wait time in the office and the wait time to get an appointment. I need to see someone that recognizes an emergency when they see one and can make accommodations and doesnt take a few months to get in.
Apr 18, 2019
I received excellent services from Dr Erik Hansen and his surgical and nursing team. He has excellent bedside manners. His team during surgery works like a clockwork cohesively at all times - pre during and post-ops. The post-ops care I received from the nursing team was par excellence. Patient Cares Nurse [name redacted] Nurse [name redacted] and Nurse [name redacted] were very caring during my stay at the UCSF hospital in Parnassus. Every one of this team made me feel so good I was sad to leave the hospital after the two day post-op stay. One month prior to the surgery and two months post-surgery the navigator [name redacted] was there daily patiently to answer all my questions on health-loop link.
Apr 17, 2019
I look forward to my visits. The care of all the staff is professional and caring. They treat everyone the same way.
Apr 17, 2019
I am very impressed with Erik Hansen. He is highly competent. I couldn't imagine a better outcome to my hip surgery.
Apr 03, 2019
Totally excellent provider!
Apr 03, 2019
Dr.Erik Hansen is a knowledgeable compassionate and caring orthopedic surgeon who takes time to communicate and explain to the patient the surgical procedure that he is recommending for her particular condition. He also does a very good postoperative followup through "My Chart" online and immediately responds if I have any question or concern.My latest visit included an Xray of both knees and confirmed a very successful Total Bilateral Knee Replacement! I definitely recommend Dr.Erik Hansen as an excellent Orthopedic Surgeon.
Mar 27, 2019
Dr Hansen is great...I just hope he can find out what this pain I have is that wasn't there until I had surgery.
Mar 26, 2019
Even with the problems i'm having with my new hip Dr. Hansen has been wonderful trying to figure out how to solve this problem. Never once did he suggest he wasn't going to get to the bottom of this problem. I trust he will figure out how to help me. He's amazing.
Mar 21, 2019
Dr. Erik Hansen has provided consistently excellent followup care and is alway positive and helpful. Highest recommendation.
Mar 13, 2019
Dr. Hansen will always be number one in my book
Mar 08, 2019
My entire experience at UCSF for my last surgery was extremely impressive. It's a fine-oiled machine they get everyone thru the process in an organized and timely fashion and all of the staff were present and available at every appt.
Mar 06, 2019
Dr. Hansen did a lengthy revision on a faulty initial Total Knee Arthroplasty. The entire knee replacement had to be redone. By doing this I ended being a cripple and got full mobility back. I have much appreciation for Dr. Hansen's skill.
Feb 28, 2019
All Dr. Hansen's interactions with me and my family have been thorough and sincere. His surgery performance exceeded my expectations.
Feb 14, 2019
Excellent experience. Great group.
Feb 14, 2019
Medicine is now based on a set of standards processes and procedures that work if all goes well. But is a failure if things are not going well. I had surgery that did not go well and have been struggling with it for 9 months. I think that often providers like PA dont have the experience or training to actually listen to what is being said and determining that there is something not right
Feb 13, 2019
Dr. Erik Hansen was exceptionally good to be showed me great empathy in relation to my medical issues which needed immediate attention. I left the appointment with a surgery date set. The best thing is that due to the urgency of my issue his scheduling assistant for surgery was able to set a date within a month despite the fact he was fully booked up to June 2019.
Jan 30, 2019
Highly favorable experience with this office / team.
Jan 28, 2019
in preparation for surgery I was referred for physical therapy and am awaiting a date. Since I have been depressed and unable to ambulate for at least two years I am so relieved that there is finally some resolution.
Jan 28, 2019
THE BEST OF THE BEST
Jan 24, 2019
Probably not enough space here for my comments. The provider ordered a test I had it done in mid December I waited until [date redacted] to be told the results. This provider would not tell me anything about the result instead said the Dr. that did the test could give the results. But the Dr. that did the test told me to get results from the doctor that odered the test (this provider). Also I waited 70 minutes before this provider saw me and I got maybe 5 minutes with this provider. I have now contacted my PRIMARY CARE physician to get the care I need.
Jan 24, 2019
Dr. Erik Hansen is an excellent orthopedic surgeon extremely adept and experienced in his field. He is also compassionate attentive responsive to needs or concerns. I would recommend him highly and without reservation.
Jan 18, 2019
Dr Hansen is a very caring and kind care provider whom I have the up most respect for.
Jan 17, 2019
Grateful Dr. Hansen is on my team.
Dec 22, 2018
Dr. Erik Hansen is fantastic. He has the best bedside manner of any doctor I have ever come across. He is an expert in his field and I highly recommend him. He has genuine concern for his patients' and always schedules follow up. He is excellent!!
Dec 20, 2018
I did not have an easy surgical hip replacement recovery. Dr. Hansen has been helpful and kind in a frustrating situation for both of us. I do have issues with the PA who seems to be inexperienced and lacks attention to detail. I previously had 8 PA and NP who worked for me in Cardiology
Dec 12, 2018
Excellent office visit!
Nov 30, 2018
like said earlier this is a professional office class act. compared to where I come from this office all of the staff and exspeacialy Dr. Hansen. Thank you very much.
Nov 08, 2018
good

Share