Skip to Main Content
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Hao Nguyen

MD, PhD

4.8

Overall Experience
698 reviews
About our process
Apr 02, 2022
They made everything clear to me
Mar 26, 2022
Nothing to complain
Mar 22, 2022
This was for a cancer diagnosis second opinion
Mar 15, 2022
I had done my homework and had made my decisions. I chose the best possible surgeon with lots of success.
Feb 20, 2022
The reading materials in My Chart have given me the most instructions upon which to base my choices and understanding.
Jan 29, 2022
Nurse explained most follow up care
Jan 22, 2022
The doctor and resident instantly recognized I was intelligent and treated my questions accordingly. They never talked down to me engaged in "what if" conversations didn't provide "non-answers" designed to assuage my fears and afmitted lack of relevant knowledge when that was appropriate. They were completely not defensive. Fabulous experience with these doctors
Jan 15, 2022
Could not have better.
Dec 28, 2021
Excellent.
Dec 28, 2021
Not sure how PET scan will get ordered
Dec 04, 2021
I spent less than 5 minutes with the care provider. He seemed fine and directed the team. He did not perform the procedure but instructed the resident. I had my questions answered by the resident and the nurse prior to the procedure. Therefore I had no additional question for Dr. Nguyen. He did spend time with me on things to look for during the next 24 hours.
Nov 13, 2021
He could not have been better.
Nov 03, 2021
The courtesy and care I received I feel was second to none
Nov 02, 2021
Dr was delayed about an hour but apologized for being late due to another procedure
Nov 02, 2021
Waiting for a radiology department to contact me regarding Dr. Nguyen's referral of me to that department.
Oct 28, 2021
We felt comfortable and heard by everyone
Oct 03, 2021
Great Experience. Dr. Nguyen was very helpful and knowledgeable. I also spoke with Dr. Peter Carroll and he took time out of his busy schedule to speak with me about my condition and options. Dr. Carroll also spoke with Dr. Nguyen about my ultrasound and other issues
Sep 28, 2021
For the issues that I have seen him for treatment and monitoring he is terrific. Far superior to others outside UCSF.
Sep 25, 2021
Excellent carehighly skilledclear and comfortable procedure. Answered all the questions I had made a difficult procedure tolerable.explained everything well.
Sep 21, 2021
I feel very fortunate to have Dr Nguyen as my Dr
Sep 21, 2021
My experience with the UCSF has always been exemplary! Everyone goes out of their way to be of assistance.
Sep 16, 2021
Due to an emergency; my provider was not available but another Urologist stepped in for my procedure. I could not have been treated any better; being as we had just met that morning. Two thumbs up. Thank you for doing the procedure time out this made me feel safe and in good hands.
Sep 13, 2021
Dr Nguyen was excellent. He listened well. Answered all my questions and is very skilled. I very much appreciated him as my physician.
Aug 20, 2021
Dr Nguyen does a great job
Aug 17, 2021
Great doctor!
Aug 06, 2021
Provider replaced previous provider due to latter's extended leave.
Aug 03, 2021
Outstanding care
Jul 03, 2021
Outstanding doctor
Jun 28, 2021
Very personable/caring and professional in everyway.
May 27, 2021
Very informative easy to talk to.
May 15, 2021
best everthese MD's and staff is why I come all the way from Montana.
May 15, 2021
Dr. Hao Nguyen is a top notch MD. I'm very lucky to have him as my doctor. I trust his decisions 100%. He is very knowledgable and takes time explaining my case in detail. Thank you for your time Dr. Nguyen
May 08, 2021
He was very knowledgeable and very personable and explained things very well.
May 07, 2021
Dr Hao Gia Nguyen is a very good Doctor
Apr 24, 2021
Dr. Nguyen was just great. Personable professional and capable.
Apr 12, 2021
There was no AVS given. At the time of visit I specifically asked the doctor to provide a detailed AVS since it is difficult to remember verbal results immediately after the procedure.
Apr 07, 2021
Good experience. Always appreciate the knowledge and information that I am given
Apr 03, 2021
The Dr. and his team were excellent. The care they provided was outstanding.
Mar 18, 2021
Excellent Care
Mar 16, 2021
all aspects were excellent
Mar 13, 2021
Had good experience
Mar 08, 2021
The physician gets a low grade on friendliness/courtesy for being over 45 minutes late with no explanation only a pro forma apology.
Feb 28, 2021
All good
Feb 27, 2021
I was there for a biopsy we will follow up about results a care
Feb 23, 2021
This was a follow-up to a previous procedure to report the results and lay out next steps.
Feb 20, 2021
treatment options will come at a later date and I have no concerns as far as my dr listening to my questions and us collectively coming to a consensus as to the proper treatment
Feb 06, 2021
It would be helpful if there was a little written info available through MyChart about what to expect following the prostate bioblpsy. I was surprised when I unexpectedly expelled blood and/or tissue. It seems logical that it would happen and did not frighten me but it was unexpected and I wasn't quite prepared to contain and manage the discharge. It turned out to be a one-time occurrence but it would be good to know in advance that it might happen.
Jan 23, 2021
Dr. Nguyen gave me a lot of his valuable time fully compensating for the revised diagnosis and procedure plan of which I was not informed until the last minute. I felt very well taken care of under the circumstances. Of course it would have been better to inform me of the change in my case as soon as the team became aware of it.
Jan 13, 2021
Dr. Nguyen always is open to questions and always takes time to respond to my health concerns
Jan 12, 2021
Always superb knowledgeable kind and interested treatment and consultation.
Dec 22, 2020
we did not discuss current medications
Dec 22, 2020
The duration of the session was shorter than anticipated due to connection issues.
Dec 08, 2020
Overall a very good visit with all the comforts of a office visit
Nov 27, 2020
Good experience.Very pleased with Dr.Nguyen!
Nov 02, 2020
Dr. Nguyen is a total star!
Oct 31, 2020
The only challenge is seeing the scans/charts on my Iphone screen. But that is on my end and the doctor explained everything verbally
Oct 25, 2020
His intent seemed to be to give me the info I needed to make a good decision.
Sep 26, 2020
Dr Hao Gia Nguyen is competent but the wait for an appointment during Dr. Shinohara's absence was too long.
Sep 15, 2020
Great Doctor
Sep 12, 2020
excellent experience. thanks
Sep 12, 2020
very efficient but took time to answer my questions.
Aug 20, 2020
referred me to other doctors for treatment but did not go into details of same
Aug 11, 2020
the doctor did not immediately follow up on my MRI and I finally had to contact my primary provider to discuss the results. I didn't talk to the doctor for at least a month or longer after the procedure. I had the impression this follow up was either unnecessary or a bother
Aug 08, 2020
mostly it was the resident who did the procedure - dr Nguyen was in and out in less than a few minutes
Jul 22, 2020
I believe the team communicated well; questions above ask if the care provider specifically communicated with me. The doctor was a specialist on the procedure he performed. He was timely professional and efficient. Instilled confidence in his ability.
Jul 18, 2020
This guy Dr. Nguyen is a superstar. He knows my brother but I got the distinct sense that he would have treated everyone the same way. Easy to talk to and very professional at the same time.
Jul 18, 2020
I have a lot of confidence that Dr Nguyen knowswhat he is doing. I like him
Jul 11, 2020
Very Good!
Jul 11, 2020
Procedure was very smooth and completed in reasonable time. He did not have enough knowledge about already planned course of treatment including follow-up visit. Somehow I was referred to him by other clinician when I am under his care. He had to run " That's it bye." probably 2 hours delay. I am convinced that he is a trustworthy specialist; however I was surely one of more than a dozen patients he does procedures in one day.
Jul 09, 2020
Great experience with Dr. Hao Nguyen
Jun 28, 2020
Great experience!
Jun 25, 2020
except for having to wait a really long time provider was great.
Jun 21, 2020
one of the best MD I've had
Jun 13, 2020
Dr. Nguyen was excellent!
Jun 06, 2020
excellent care.
May 28, 2020
the doctor was awesome he explained everything went over it asked me if I had any questions he did just fine but I need to talk to a receptionist to schedule an appointment
May 23, 2020
Dr. Nguyen was helpful and very skillful. he told me what was going to happen in detail and completed his work in record time. I couldn't have asked for more.

Share