Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Isaac M. Neuhaus

MD

4.7

Overall Experience
670 reviews
About our process
Oct 03, 2021
Good
Sep 28, 2021
Dr Neuhaus did not explain about follow up visit .
Sep 25, 2021
Everyone was helpful and courteous.
Sep 24, 2021
Care provider explained everything in great detail.
Sep 14, 2021
Dr. Neuhaus was exceptional in all the categories you asked about. Most importantly he is an extraordinary dermatological surgeon.
Aug 25, 2021
Clear and helpful and nicely but clearly guided new Fellow in excision and stitching.
Aug 20, 2021
Excellent
Aug 20, 2021
I paid for a treatment that I thought would resolved the issue but it didn't. I was mislead and not properly informed.
Jul 29, 2021
I came in with concern about a cyst. I had it surgically removed a year ago and it would occasionally flare back up. This recent flare up was the worst so an appointment was made with the skin surgery department.Originally it was supposed to be removed but the cyst had gone down dramatically (maybe since I had just been on antibiotics?) leading up to the day of the appointment. I did mention that I still felt something there and that it itched so I was worried. But It was just recommended that I use an antibacterial body wash as a preventative and that I should make an appointment with an ordinary dermatologist. I understand that there wasn't much that could have been done that day but I did feel a little dismissed about my concerns over the flare ups. The appointment ended after very brief conversation. Since that visit the cyst has swollen up again and I'm not sure what my next steps should be in the case that it keeps coming back. Would a visit with a dermatologist just end up with me being referred to surgery again? And If the cyst went down again In the meantime would I just be sent home again? I do not have the money to cover the costs of back-and-forth visits I can barely feed myself so I'm just feeling a bit frustrated that there wasn't a bit more Investigation I guess. I understand that I'm not an expert but I am stressed about the situation and just wanted to share how I felt in case someone else experienced something similar.
Jul 22, 2021
The care I received from both the doctor and the nurse was excellent.
Jul 16, 2021
The only reason I said no on the previous questions about my medical records is that we did not discuss it so I do not know if he had looked at it.
Jul 15, 2021
He was very kind thank you
Jun 21, 2021
A wonderful experience and I went home feeling on top of the world!
Jun 10, 2021
Dr seemed a little stiff; nice and courteous but not so chatty. Had been having nice easy conversations with the Resident prior so that was a bit of the contrast. I did feel very comfortable with his skills and how he spoke with the Resident during the procedure. How he placed his hands on my back during the procedure felt very comforting.
Jun 08, 2021
very good
Jun 04, 2021
Dr. Neuhaus was professional knowledgeable & helpful throughout my Moh's clinic procedure & in providing after visit instructions.
Jun 04, 2021
great doctor and informative about all asked about etc.
Jun 03, 2021
okay
May 27, 2021
My provider was super. It seemed to me that he was super busy. He had me nicely set up by a nurse and an internist then he came in for the main show/event did his thing and then left. He is obviously very skilled at what he is doing. But I would not say that he spent a lot of time in the room with me.
May 19, 2021
The doctor came in reviewed the computer handled the procedure in less than 5-MINUTES! The way it SHOULD BE EVERY TIME!!!!!!
May 16, 2021
I was extremely happy with my experience.
May 12, 2021
Dr is always pleasant respectful and knowledgeable. Answers all my questions and is always good about putting the information in my AVS. Dr. definitely values my time every time.
Apr 20, 2021
if I had to come back to do it all over again there would not be any problem of me driving to the medical office again
Mar 12, 2021
Excellent treatment of skin problems over the last decade.
Mar 10, 2021
Dr. Neuhaus was very professional compassionate and instructive
Mar 10, 2021
The idea of the Steri-strips is confusing as to when they need to be replaced and why they need to be replaced and how I would know whether they need to be replaced. The instructions say to replace them "only as needed" - well how do I know when it's needed?
Mar 08, 2021
The experience was so exceptional I floated home instead of driving!
Mar 02, 2021
outstanding experience by total team
Feb 28, 2021
Most of my care a surgical procedure was provided by Dr. Neuhaus' fellow and she was outstanding in every respect.
Feb 22, 2021
I feel that everyone from checking in to the doctors and nurses went above and beyond - UCSF is an excellent practice and I am relieved that this is a teaching hospital so this care becomes the norm
Feb 12, 2021
Though I feel my procedure was quite mundane it felt like after care was a bit minimized.
Feb 06, 2021
all good-everything went well
Feb 04, 2021
I had a very good experience
Jan 21, 2021
it was nice that someone called to check on me later that day.
Jan 12, 2021
I am very happy with the association I have had with Dr. Neuhaus.
Jan 08, 2021
Listening to Dr. Neuhaus discuss with the resident and fellow how prior to the pandemic medicine was 'recession proof' was incredibly off-putting. As someone who has been very negatively economically impacted by this pandemic AND had my access to needed medical care severely disrupted it felt incredibly thoughtless and insensitive and not at all like the 'patient centered care' to which UCSF claims to be committed.
Dec 23, 2020
unbelievable care from Dr.Neuhaus and his fabulous team. we have had multiple visits and each is highly professional brilliant competent staff that make it so easy and calm. Very impressive team from start to finish!
Dec 14, 2020
Have always had an excellent experience with Dr. Neuhaus.
Dec 12, 2020
I had researched this care provider prior and so had a high level of confidence in him before we met for a consultation before the procedure and I feel confident in this care providers ability to perform the procedure at a very high level of expertise
Dec 11, 2020
Although my Provider checked-in frequently during my appointment the above comments are about the Fellow working under his supervision who provided the treatment.
Dec 11, 2020
This particular Provider is Professional and will not over look any detail at all. He will go down the line to make certain You are given Top Notch care nothing else matters; he's as cool as they come but he also has a lighter side You can relax with!!! His care also includes a warm and very fair person that has every intention of being Perfect he even likes the Giant's to!!!!!!!
Dec 11, 2020
The doctor who actually performed the excision of the melanoma was exceptionally caring and competent.
Dec 10, 2020
Given the cost of the treatment which went up 25% since last time I think the provider could have spent more time with me and done more treatment.
Dec 09, 2020
Dr. Neuhaus was great. His resident not so much. The resident also couldn't understand why I was in that clinic and suggested that I should have been in the general derm clinic. My impression was that this visit somehow interfered with surgery (not from the attending's perspective however). When directed to treat a few lesions on my scalp the resident did spray one (inadequately to bring any skin change) and then said he thought that was enough. I did feel that the resident looked at my skin after I made my history clear (he seemed not to have any familiarity with my skin cancer history) as if he hadn't bothered to look at my chart.
Dec 08, 2020
OK he got all 5's. But look I'm a general surgeon: I'm picky. And this Dermatology Team from the Surgeon to the front desk are first rate. Thank you for the great care.
Dec 05, 2020
They described specifically what they were doing at all times as well as explaining what I had to do when I got home.
Nov 29, 2020
Dr. Neuhaus supervised; the young woman completing her fellowship did all of the surgical stuff.
Nov 25, 2020
Very good experience with health provider who was very caring patient and thoughtful calling after hours and inquiring about my health following surgery.
Nov 20, 2020
My only comment is about a secondary area; this was mentioned but not the main reason for the visit. It would have like additional attention given to this area also. They did say they would look at it but didn't get the "slides" from the referring physician but it was on the original pathology report. I just want to be sure that all areas of concern are being reviewed.
Nov 14, 2020
A fellow rather than the attending did the surgery -- that was unexpected.
Nov 04, 2020
100% confidence in my care providers.
Nov 02, 2020
Again Doctor Isaac Neuhaus was very abrupt. He was not attentive to my concerns and questions. I felt I was treated as a demonstration and not a patient/human being.
Oct 19, 2020
As I stated earlier I was quite impressed with Dr. Neuhaus and am very comfortable with my surgical operation going forward.
Oct 15, 2020
Honestly I can't thank Dr. Neuhaus enough. He was so helpful so genuine and so attentive to my concerns.
Oct 03, 2020
all excellent
Sep 29, 2020
I felt very comfortable and at ease with this procedure and I liked the fact that things were explained during the procedure and I was able to be part of the conversation.
Sep 27, 2020
Part of my treatment was provided by a relatively new fellow. I would like to have had that acknowledged and discussed.
Sep 24, 2020
The main Dr and the assistant Dr "fellow" were excellent
Sep 11, 2020
I never received any followup; maybe it will arrive by mail. I though it would be delivered in mychart app.
Sep 06, 2020
Not too pleased with scarring so far. I'm hoping it improves with time.
Sep 05, 2020
I was in good hands
Sep 02, 2020
I was prescribed no pain killers or antibiotics following my surgical procedure which would've been welcome. It also would've made me much comfortable during my procedure which took several hours if a light sedative or anti-anxiety medication (such as Ativan) had been made available at the outset when I did my intake with the nurse.
Aug 25, 2020
The follow up care was excellent. My confidence is excellent because of his reputation. I appreciated some pain medication. I guess he sees a lot of people who won't make it. I appreciate he's training his students to check with patients after procedure. Care provided didn't speak much. Very little information conveyed to patients.
Aug 12, 2020
After seeing my dermatologist I was diagnosed with Melanoma on the back of my thigh. I was worried and scared even though I knew they had caught it early. The doctor made me feel very much at ease and I respect his opinion
Jul 22, 2020
Confidence was a 10 sharing facts and next steps and overall experience 10+10!
Jul 03, 2020
I had a prior cancer removal on my nose by Dr. Neuhaus and his skill left and demeanor remained with me all these years. So when I was referred back to him for another biopsy I had total trust in his ability to help me in the best way possible. I was right!
Jul 01, 2020
good coordination between Dr Neuhaus and other Doctors and medical staff in the Mohs team
Jun 30, 2020
all good
Jun 27, 2020
great!
Jun 27, 2020
Always a clear and friendly discussion of options with Dr. Neuhaus. Excellent patient skills:)
Jun 21, 2020
Dr. Neuhaus is the best. My 3rd Moh's procedure with him. His demeanor and work are top notch. UCSF is lucky to have him.
Jun 18, 2020
Dr. Neuhaus is an extremely competent surgeon and a compassionate man. He removed cancer from my nose years ago and did a beautiful job so I already had complete faith in this doctor. He did nit disappoint. He observed my thumb issue shared his educated thoughts and took a huge amount of worry off of me. should my thumb issue raise itself up again he was clear on how we would proceed. I trust him.
Jun 16, 2020
Excellent technical care by Dr. Neuhaus and his group
Jun 10, 2020
Dr Neuhaus and his fellow were superb on all accounts. I would recommend them enthusiastically.
Jun 10, 2020
Dr Neuhaus is extremely competent and compassionate in his approach to his patients. He is an outstanding doctor and able to perform miracles.
Jun 04, 2020
My issue with provider was a) a different doctor I assume a resident came in first took a 2 second glance and said let's do surgery without giving me a diagnosis. Even worse during the procedure while my face was blindfolded a third doctor entered and staying talking about an invention idea. My chest was completely bare and I did not appreciate having an uninvolved third party interrupt while my skin was being cut into by an inexperienced doctor who was not the person I had an appointment with.
Jun 02, 2020
I was VERY IMPRESSED by the attending teaching dr. that was actually more helpful to me during my visit.
Mar 31, 2020
I am full of praise and gratitude! (Like I keep repeating!)
Mar 22, 2020
Excessive wait times aside care provider was thorough and stellar.
Mar 22, 2020
Dr. Neuhaus was very courtesy and helpful
Mar 11, 2020
excellent!
Mar 05, 2020
For this Mohs surgery which involved 4 stages plus closing I had Dr. Neuhaus plus 2 residents (plus assistant? and nurse(s)) Plus another Dermo. Dr. for the 3rd or 4th excision. Because so many people were involved it's hard to sort who said/did what. The female resident was the most personable and attentive.
Feb 29, 2020
Dr. Neuhaus has been one of the most genuinely courteous and caring I've ever been attended by - I really appreciate it.
Feb 20, 2020
Dr Neuhaus called my home later in the day to make sure I was ok!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Feb 10, 2020
I had an excellent experience with this medical provider and the nursing assistant. They were very professional and caring.
Feb 08, 2020
Excellent bedside manner. Listened to me and took my corn allergy seriously. Very kind and patient.
Feb 04, 2020
Once it was discovered that I was still waiting (after 2 hrs) to get results of second biopsy I was quickly brought back into the exam room told margins were clean and then sutured up. This felt all very rushed.
Jan 30, 2020
Issac Neuhaus is a terrific doctor
Jan 19, 2020
Outstanding!
Jan 17, 2020
great experience really put me at ease with the procedure recommendation.
Jan 15, 2020
excellent care!
Dec 30, 2019
My appointment was to have a cyst removed from my lower back along my spine. I was nervous and anxious about the procedure and brought my wife with me to the appointment. My wife a graduate of UCSF is an Internist and has practiced medicine for 35 years. I asked that she be allowed to stay with me during the procedure. The doctor would not permit it and gave no reason why it couldn't happen. He spent the time with me teaching a resident how to do the procedure and never acknowledged my apprehensiveness or stress.
Dec 30, 2019
The verbal instructions were good the written ones could be better - include types of supplies of optional and a reminder of the time to stay away from certain activities
Dec 12, 2019
Dr Neuhaus and he whole team were outstanding to work withtrue professionals
Dec 05, 2019
great group

Share