Have you and your family had your flu shot? It's more important than ever this year! Schedule via MyChart or call for an appointment in SF, the East Bay or San Mateo.
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
James Smith

MD, MS

4.8

Overall Experience
234 reviews
About our process
Jun 30, 2020
Recovery was fast and without complications.
Jun 24, 2020
I did send the provider a message in My Chart after the visit but I never got a response from staff or him. Nevertheless I think the telehealth application is wonderful and I hope UCSF continues to offer it. I've used PlushCare doctors a couple of times for video consults and was pleased but I would prefer to have the option with my regular doctors who are contracting with my insurance plan. Plus I am biased toward UCSF physicians!
May 05, 2020
dr Smith is very thorough and answered all questions. staff have great instructions on next steps during visit.
Apr 09, 2020
my doctor team is outstanding
Apr 09, 2020
the interaction with the doctor was great
Apr 08, 2020
I have complete confidence in Dr. Smith.
Feb 27, 2020
Dr Smith is a good doctor.
Jan 19, 2020
good experience
Jan 19, 2020
Dr. Smith is an excellent physician
Oct 11, 2019
Dr. Smith is excellent.
Sep 17, 2019
I'm embarrassed to say that I'm having difficulty recalling the urologist name but I was very pleased with his care and concern.
Sep 10, 2019
Dr. Smith is outstanding!
Aug 06, 2019
doctor told me his assistant would be in touch to schedule surgery still awaiting response from them.
Jul 23, 2019
Outstanding in every way
Jul 19, 2019
good experience
Jul 18, 2019
Dr. Smith and both nurses were very professional. Their behaviors and mannerisms made me feel very relaxed and comfortable.
Jul 16, 2019
Dr. James Smith is one of the best physicians at UCSF
Jul 09, 2019
Based on my experience and the lack of respect for my time that I was shown and lack of respect as a patient I would never recommend this provider.
Jun 11, 2019
unresolved issue with an insurance issue and the non-responsive administration. of the bureaucracy at UCSF.
Jun 06, 2019
very bad
May 31, 2019
I can't recommend Dr. Smith to other people because of the difficulties with the UCSF office staff. He's a great doctor in a not-so-great office.
May 17, 2019
good
May 16, 2019
Appreciated the provider stating that he reviewed the referral note from my internal medicine provider. He also recalled our encounter from 3 years earlier.
Apr 23, 2019
Great care overall.
Apr 16, 2019
I found the doctor very sensitive and he did a lot to put you at ease. He was a very good listener and seemed quite thorough in his analysis and questions.
Feb 28, 2019
an excellent doctor. kind human being. a gentleman!
Feb 03, 2019
very good experience!!
Jan 21, 2019
Outstanding experience. Dr. Smith was attentive clear in his direction personable and professional. I highly recommend him.
Dec 09, 2018
Good experience

Share