Have you and your family had your flu shot? It's more important than ever this year! Schedule via MyChart or call for an appointment in SF, the East Bay or San Mateo.
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Jeffrey W. Ralph

MD

4.8

Overall Experience
349 reviews
About our process
Jul 27, 2020
He was very nice and caring
Jul 15, 2020
Dr. Ralph is an excellent medical provider. Unfortunately with the Covid pandemic. I chose not to attend an in-person appointment so Dr. Ralph was limited in being able to provide a full examination. We agreed that I shall make such an appointment when circumstances improve.
Jul 03, 2020
Dr Jeffrey Ralph is very personable and caring spent plenty of time to ask questions and listened.
Jun 24, 2020
telemedicine is a poor substitute for face to face
Jun 17, 2020
I attribute my quality of life to Dr. Ralph's professional care and expertise.
Jun 14, 2020
Excelent prep with specific attention to the preliminary diagnosis by a referring specialist but after deeper analysis & imaging of the problematic left calf ordered special lab work and arranged for followup consult in 3 weeks
Jun 10, 2020
Dr. Ralph is a very caring doctor and is really trying to find out the reason for my non- diabetic neuropathy. Zoom meeting in 2 weeks after my blood test to come back. Dr. Ralph said the next step would be possible spine exploration. His assistant Dr. was very kind and knew what he was doing also. Very Efficient & so nice and caring. I left feeling like I am in the best hands possible in trying to find out a cure for my health problem that I deal with every second of the day. These are 2 great Doctors you have. I am thankful that they are my doctors!
Jun 07, 2020
very caring provider. he asked if I had any questions. He was agreeable to a cream I brought with me to numb my skin.
Jun 04, 2020
Dr Ralph was very helpful
May 29, 2020
I feel comfortable talking with my provider about my medical condition and the steps we are taking.
May 24, 2020
medical staff went above and beyond with helping me get connected with the medical internet sights and how to move around the program.
May 20, 2020
I had a very enjoyable experience with this Zoom meeting consultation leading up to the office visit.
May 08, 2020
Was not able to view Dr. Ralph spoke to him on the phone.
May 01, 2020
This was a phone visit
Apr 08, 2020
So thrilled to have Dr. Ralph on my team. It was my first meeting with him and I feel like I am in very good hands.
Mar 26, 2020
Dr. Ralph is A+
Mar 16, 2020
The lack of the scheduled live interpreter for the whole appointment frustrated our communications.
Jan 07, 2020
It would have been helpful to have a little more discussion about his thought process concerning my possible diagnosis how he reached the conclusions for this point in our quest and what he was thinking. May've not discussed this because it's still unclear what's going on however.
Jan 06, 2020
I have a complex medical case in which all the "normal" answers have been eliminated by extensive testing over a period of more than a year. During my first visit to Dr. Ralph I summarized my symptoms and asked for a referral to a specialty clinic which my primary care doctor had recommended but was unable to provide because of medical insurance rules. Dr. Ralph agreed and I thought it was a perfectly satisfactory visit. On my follow-up visit 8 months after my first visit when I asked Dr. Ralph how he felt about working with a complex rare medical case he grunted would not meet my eyes and looked actively disdainful. He refused to read or touch the peer-reviewed research papers published by leading neurosurgeons that were identified by my medical team as relevant to my case. He only reluctantly ordered follow-up testing necessary to follow up on my care. I am in the process of establishing care with another neurologist so that I do not have to visit Dr. Ralph in the future.
Nov 30, 2019
This was a phone consult.
Nov 25, 2019
Dr. Jeffrey Ralph became my health care provider after an initial diagnosis of my health issue. He has been very attentive to me and informative of all aspects of this disease. He has given me hope when I thought there was no hope of recovery. He has contacted me at my home during the day and even in the evenings. This level of care I have not seen from other health care professionals. I have a great deal of confidence in his knowledge of the disease as well as his care. Dr. Ralph is a wonderfully kind person as well as an intelligent professional.
Nov 03, 2019
Very helpful and put me at ease about my medical condition
Oct 24, 2019
I came to UCSF from out of state for a second neurological opinion. While we didn't find an answer we did eliminate some less than desirable possibilities. This was a great relief to me. I am being referred to two other UCSF specialists to find a solution to my problem.
Oct 22, 2019
Although there is no treatment for my problem Dr. Ralph was very thorough and I appreciate his attentiveness.
Sep 16, 2019
UCSF is my only hope! I'm not getting answers or even an effort to find any answers.
Sep 14, 2019
Dr. Ralph is extremely professional very nice and polite.
Aug 26, 2019
There's really not much to say about the treatment of MND.
Aug 22, 2019
Dr.Ralph Thank you
Aug 21, 2019
dr Ralph is one of the best doctors in the field!
Aug 16, 2019
Dr Ralph is very knowledgeable in my disease and treats me us a friend and colleague. (I am a retired RN after 50 years)
Aug 06, 2019
a very good experience.
Aug 04, 2019
It took 3 months before I could be seen at the Neurology Dept. when I'm dealing with Peripheral Neuropathy that's progressive and my pain & motor skills are worsening. Dr. Ralph didn't seem all that interested in investigating the cause of my Peripheral Neuropathy or considering "possible" approaches for diagnosing the cause of my condition and treating it. There was no "redefining possible" here as touted in UCSF's heavy ad campaign.
Jul 26, 2019
I prefer to speak with someone directly to discuss my concerns.
Jul 26, 2019
already discussed
Jul 20, 2019
Dr. Ralph and his assistant [name redacted] are EXCELLENT. Front office staff continues to be the weak area. Training and supervision are needed.
Jun 26, 2019
very good
Jun 16, 2019
Dr. Ralph has become my "main man" he has helped me through my neurological disease and offered the support I need. I am a retired RN (after 50yrs.) worked with hundreds if not thousands of physicians in my career. None match the 'concern' attention and respect he gives. And it transmits into the staff that is with him.
Apr 11, 2019
if you need a super thorough specialized & precise EMG Dr. Ralph is top notch!
Jan 25, 2019
Great Doctor
Jan 18, 2019
UCSF has their act together at least as it pertained to me!
Jan 15, 2019
I wish and hoped Dr. Ralph would have participated in a research study regarding my condition. I realize it would be a lot of work starting it and I'm only one patient but it could have significantly improved my condition and my life and career.
Dec 19, 2018
Dr. J. Ralph has been my care provider for approximately 10 years. I was a complete mess by not understanding with was happening to my body. Dr. Ralph was calm and provided me with information that I needed to hear how to control and deal with my physical problem. It was me who needed a doctor to explain everything to me. There can be no other doctor for me.
Nov 25, 2018
Both Dr Ralph and the student doctor were excellent in every way.

Share