Have you and your family had your flu shot? It's more important than ever this year! Schedule via MyChart or call for an appointment in SF, the East Bay or San Mateo.
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Katsuto Shinohara

MD

4.7

Overall Experience
979 reviews
About our process
Aug 05, 2020
Dr Shinohara is outstsnting
Aug 04, 2020
Very quick and effective one-time intervention by a specialist.
Jul 31, 2020
very good experience
Jul 29, 2020
Although warned about my anal fissure and requesting that allowing topical lidocaine to work before the recital exam he'd rushed in and did a painful exam. After finishing the rectal ultrasound he spent 30 seconds telling me is was negative answered one question and left the room before I could ask another. Total time in my presence was 5 minutes including doing the ultrasound. As a physician myself I was appalled at his bedside manner.
Jul 29, 2020
Thai Dr. has a excellent reputation and I trust I'm completely.
Jul 29, 2020
Physician wanted a special MRI why didn't this get scheduled in advance?
Jul 29, 2020
In my opinion Dr. Shinohara is the best doctor that I could possibly have!
Jul 28, 2020
providers office is excellent at calling regarding biopsy reports. they typically do not call about my PSA results.
Jul 22, 2020
It's not really a fair assessment because of the combination of wearing masks and my difficulty in hearing and having a hard time understanding his accent. He was/is quite competent and skilled that was clearly evident. The nurse was able to answer and address my concerns.
Jul 21, 2020
the very best thing you can do for the future of the ucsf is to clone him and his ninja nurses
Jul 02, 2020
There were problems with the video and audio on my end. But it worked enough to complete the conference.
Jun 29, 2020
The telehealth experience was poor as I didn't feel I could connect with the doctor -- it just felt like a production line
Jun 27, 2020
The doctor seemed to just want to refer me to someone else; he did not seem to want to really discuss my case in any depth whatsoever. I do not understand what is happening to my health.
Jun 26, 2020
excellent care
Jun 17, 2020
Katsuto Shinohara is a Master at what he does and he really cares.
Jun 11, 2020
This visit was a procedure (follow-up biopsy) and I fully understood what was to happen. Even so the nurse and physician were most helpful in addressing what I was about to experience.
Jun 09, 2020
Was seen by 3rd year resident for most of appointment. Was treated excellently.
Jun 09, 2020
He was competent caring and kind. plus he was gentle during the procediure.
Jun 08, 2020
The physician impressed me as probably being at the top of his field in terms of knowledge experience and judgment. I respect him enormously for that attainment. He lacks unfortunately in "bedside manner" affability and in the ability to personally connect.
Jun 08, 2020
the exam took only a few minutes
Jun 03, 2020
Zoom was easy to use.
Jun 03, 2020
excellent doctor
May 27, 2020
very good caring and professional
May 23, 2020
The telehealth application worked well for my follow-up visit and it was a useful substitute for a face to face meeting but it will never entirely replace an actual office visit in my mind. I do think some improvements could be made to make the video more like an office visit such as better video clarity and perhaps a more formal setting.
May 17, 2020
I felt considerably better after speaking with Dr. Shinohara! He explained my situation very well and what would come next.
May 17, 2020
Dr. Shinohara is a superb medical professional not just in terms of his knowledge and skills but also how he interacts with his patents.
May 16, 2020
I felt very confident in Dr. Shinohara's recommendations and proposed course of action for my care.
May 07, 2020
I trust Dr. Shinohara completely.
May 06, 2020
Never engages proactively will answer questions if asked but seems rushed and tries to exit with the least amount of interaction possible.
May 06, 2020
fabulous if that is possibly a way to describe this treatment?
May 05, 2020
Because I take Suboxone which is a partial opiate agonist/antagonist I didn't feel any benefit from the Norco. That made the procedure a bit painful. Unfortunately I don't see any easy way to get around that in the future with patients who take such medications. The good news is that Dr. Shinohara is very good at what he does and gets it done quickly.
May 04, 2020
This was my second prostate biopsy. The doctor waited sufficient time for the anesthesia to take effect and there was little pain. The following day I had no pain or discomfort. An earlier biopsy by a different urologist was painful and continued for more than 24 hours.
Apr 14, 2020
telehealth system worked well.
Apr 12, 2020
GOOD
Apr 10, 2020
the visit was a 10
Apr 08, 2020
Worked fine. First time I have ever used it.
Apr 04, 2020
staff was helpful in getting me connected on zoom
Apr 04, 2020
Dr. Shinohara is an outstanding physician. I'm grateful that I'm his patient.
Mar 18, 2020
The Dr. was very professional. No complaints.
Mar 18, 2020
Dr Shinohara is outstanding
Mar 17, 2020
I was referred to this care provider by a previous patient of his who is a retired dentist living in [location redacted]. I am very fortunate to have this important doctor assisting me with my prostate issues.
Mar 16, 2020
He's a bit hard to understand. Partly his accent partly my mild hearing loss.
Mar 09, 2020
Through MyChart I completed six questionnaires prior to a prostate biopsy. According to MyChart they were never read. What is the point of a questionnaire if nobody reads it? This causes me to question the care I received and the degree to which the doctor and his staff paid attention to my case.
Mar 07, 2020
intern should have spent more time explaining how to read oncotype report. also report should have been posted to mychart at same time as call
Mar 05, 2020
Clearly I have received GREAT care!!!!
Feb 28, 2020
super top to "bottom" Thankx
Feb 22, 2020
you are constantly aware that the provider is on top of things
Feb 21, 2020
Dr Shinohara is outstanding.
Feb 20, 2020
one of best doctors possible
Feb 19, 2020
Dr. Shinohara is excellent
Feb 07, 2020
Dr. Shinohara seemed extremely competent during the actual procedure.
Dec 28, 2019
I am very happy with the Dr I haveit was a rush in and rush out visit. which I actually appreciate so I am able to get out of the city early and head back to [location redacted]. A small bit of info is all I would like.
Dec 23, 2019
I did not feel welcomed or at ease. I felt as if the doctor had more important things to do and was hurrying through the process. I felt pressured and uncomfortable as if the provider did not really care about my health or present condition. if was a very dispiriting experience for me.
Dec 17, 2019
Dr Shinohara is a consummate professional!!!
Dec 06, 2019
I have recommended UCSF many times. The quality of care and CUSTOMER SERVICE is a model for how it should be done!
Nov 10, 2019
Dr Shinohara has a deep knowing about him that I appreciate. He exudes a sense of wisdom that I trust. However as mentioned before he was a bit hurried during this visit.
Nov 09, 2019
Very quick seemed rushed have questions about follow-ups scheduled--MRI biopsy.
Nov 08, 2019
Confidence a 10.
Nov 08, 2019
The doctor I see is a specialist for my medical condition. I trust him for his expertise regarding my condition. He doesn't really talk with me a lot but that is okay as I am primarily concerned about my disease and the treatment for it.
Nov 06, 2019
I have a very high regard for Dr. Shinohara and his expertise. However he is difficult to engage in a discussion and defers questions to his nurse practioner.
Oct 21, 2019
Would have liked to have talked of possible treatment by medication rather than opting directly for surgery
Oct 21, 2019
Doctor always seems rushed and focused on just the task at hand. Seems like he would prefer not to speak with me and just do his work. I have to insist if I want to discuss things.
Oct 19, 2019
Dr Shinohara is the GREATEST and don't forget Dr [name redacted]
Oct 17, 2019
It was a great experience I have another appointment in 2 weeks I hope it goes as well.
Oct 15, 2019
he is absolutley excellent
Oct 05, 2019
good Doctor
Oct 04, 2019
Dr Shinohara is the best doctor I have and drive three hours to see him.
Oct 02, 2019
It might have been because my forms that I emailed in were not processed properly due to a transition in clerical staff but they said things about my PSA readings that were not correct and I had to verbally correct them. They gave me a form to fill out while in the exam room but never looked at it. Seems like they were scrambling to look at the records before the call because the clerical staff never gave them to them. Should have taken a bit more time before the call to go over the records. But difficult to criticize because it wasnt the doctors fault they didnt have the records.
Sep 30, 2019
hospital should allow more time for doctors to spend with patients.
Sep 30, 2019
No Tx decisions
Sep 25, 2019
I've never experienced better heath care in my [number redacted] of life!
Sep 24, 2019
Again I was just a case to be treated not a person with specific issues. My input was largely disregarded as we followed the steps.
Sep 24, 2019
This was as good as an invasive embarrassing (to me at least) procedure affecting the length and quality of my future life can get.
Aug 21, 2019
Dr. Shinohara has a heavy accent and sometimes it was a challenge to understand him. Otherwise thumbs up!
Aug 02, 2019
Shinohara is outstanding in his knowledge and treatment of patients.
Jul 30, 2019
My only problem is I sometime find it hard to understand the doctor.
Jul 27, 2019
This is a recently developed procedure in which the doctor had acquired great experience and expertese.
Jun 29, 2019
Dr Shinohara is the best of the best.
Jun 26, 2019
Dr. Shinohara is professional and an excellent surgeon. He's polite direct and methodical. I feel fortunate to be under his care.
Jun 06, 2019
I did not really spend much time with the doctor and that was fine with me in this situation.
Jun 05, 2019
caregiver was very good but obviously very busy.
Jun 03, 2019
first visit for prostate issue. Dr. comes highly recommended.
Jun 03, 2019
Thorough and professional.
May 18, 2019
Doctor Shinohara is the best.
May 17, 2019
Dr. Shinohara is the best physician. He is very professional and extremely caringknowledgeable and competent.
May 14, 2019
There was a slight language barrier however he was attentive and I really appreciated the time he gave me and he stayed in the room until he saw I understood what he was trying to communicate.
May 11, 2019
Both Dr. Shinohara and Dr. [name redacted] were thorough sensitive and knowledgeable.
Apr 24, 2019
I have only seen one doctor at UCSF.
Apr 22, 2019
Dr. Shinohara is the creme de la creme at his specialty. I have absolute confidence in him. I would love to have a bit more extended conversation with him about the history of and possible explanations for my symptom. Still it would all be speculative and I could just read more about it. I fully understand and appreciate the balance that must be struck. Absolute confidence in UCSF's urological oncology and surgery group.
Apr 21, 2019
I need at least partial sedation for a procedure. He did not seem to want to talk about it. This is causing me great mental stress.
Apr 15, 2019
Dr. Shinohara didn't seem to know that back pain is a relatively common side effect of Cialis.
Apr 10, 2019
Good
Apr 05, 2019
I sometimes have difficulty understanding Dr. Shinohara because of his accent but he is patient when I ask him to clarify and he does a great job of getting the the information to me. I think he is a skilled and knowledgeable doctor.
Apr 03, 2019
Dr Shinohara is always pleasant and professional. he was the first doctor I met at UCSF and he sets the tone thru his commitment to fighting prostrate cancer.
Mar 25, 2019
Dr Shinohara is a very good doctor. You should be happy that he is with you.
Mar 24, 2019
I feel like a I have an entire team devoted to my care at every visit.
Feb 23, 2019
The very best!
Feb 16, 2019
The doctor was great. And talked me through as he was performing the markers and spacer implants. Can't say I'd want to go through that procedure routinely but Dr. Shinohara was great.
Feb 02, 2019
Dr. Shinohara seemed to me a true caring positive gentle professional. He made me feel at ease immediately. I feel fortunate to have met with him.
Feb 02, 2019
Dr. Shinohara was direct and easy to understand. he helped me deal intelligently with my condition.
Jan 29, 2019
I interviewed doctors from UCSD UCLA and UCSF. I chose Dr. Shinohara due to his specialty and reputation. I selected him after the initial interview because he listened and intelligently responded to my opinions and questions.
Jan 26, 2019
Had poor experience previously with this procedure at another facility. My experience with Dr. Shinohara by contrast was much more tolerable with very little pain or discomfort and my recovery seems to be going better so far.
Dec 31, 2018
A top notch health care provider in every way. Very knowledgeable on all aspects of his discipline and seeks out expert input on areas of my complex set of health conditions outside of his area of expertise. A quality physician both caring and adept at his craft. Easy to access and informative. Highly recommended doctor.
Dec 29, 2018
highly competent and detailed. often rushed so difficult to understand some of the information.
Dec 19, 2018
Dr. Shinohara is very patient and takes as long as he needs to explain things and provide medical advice. He is also very good at administering procedures.
Dec 15, 2018
Dr. Shinohara is the best. He is xolains very complex concepts in plain English and he speaks of such authority as to inspire confidence... which is very helpful to any cancer patient.
Dec 08, 2018
Most interaction was with the assistant/nurse. Provider was present for ~ 10 minutes but was attentive and informative.
Dec 05, 2018
I was very impressed with this physician. I felt confident in his ability to discern the medical question
Nov 29, 2018
All arond excellence.
Nov 28, 2018
The doctor's staff made an appointment for me to get a particularly invasive MRI. I did not want this so I requested an in-person meeting with my doctor first. It turned out the doctor did NOT WANT ME to undergo this procedure. What if I had gone through with it for no reason whatsoever just based on what his staff said? I was absolutely horrified to find myself in this situation and very very angry.
Nov 10, 2018
Care provider was training another physician who had a fellowship. The Fellow was the one I interacted with the most. Very impressed with the "communication skills of the fellow.
Nov 06, 2018
very professional

Share