Skip to Main Content
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Katsuto Shinohara

MD

4.7

Overall Experience
1306 reviews
About our process
Mar 31, 2022
Very professional and reliable
Mar 29, 2022
The care provider did not explain the findings that he found during the ultrasound and placement of the gold seeds in the prostate.
Mar 28, 2022
Professional and friendly-compassionate
Mar 15, 2022
My visit went very well and left me much more confident about my upcoming procedure
Mar 04, 2022
Dr. Shinohara is a highly skilled provider. He performed a complex biopsy with exceptional skill.
Mar 02, 2022
Dr Shinohara seemed very disinterested. I had several questions for him and he seemed reluctant and slightly annoyed by my questions. He said "why you asking me? You should be asking the radiologist". Most ofMy questions were not about radiology. When asking him about ADT he said "I don't know your history?" I have seen Dr Shinohara for about 3 years. He has done 3 biopsies and run my course of treatment in its entirety since I came to UCSF for elevated PSA. I also am a provider. It's not hard to open up the patients chart and review and have a meaningful conversation with a patient. Zero empathy. Little to no interest and altogether seemed my lines of inquiry to be bothersome.
Mar 01, 2022
I have already recommended that my son see Dr Shinohara as his clinic is unable to identify and resolve his unitary tract issues.
Mar 01, 2022
Dr Shinohara is the utmost professional.
Feb 09, 2022
Explained the Rezume procedure.
Jan 25, 2022
I've expressed previously multiple times my opinion about Dr Shinohara. I am very happy with his care.
Jan 21, 2022
I was very satisfied with my experience with this provider.
Jan 19, 2022
Somewhat hard to understand what provider was saying due to English.
Jan 16, 2022
Dr. Shinohara has a warm manner and evidences real concern for my wellbeing.
Jan 13, 2022
Most of the information that I was looking for came from the nurse ahead of the procedure
Jan 04, 2022
Very detailed post-procedure details.
Jan 02, 2022
I liked the fact that the clinic exam room came equipped with an ultrasound. This made it possible to perform an ultrasound examination right then and there rather than having to make an additional appointment for the ultrasound.
Dec 08, 2021
Highly knowledgeable; explains things clearly and logically. Very genial.
Dec 05, 2021
He's a phenomenal doctor whose procedure was expertly done But could use a little better bedside manner. He really doesn't like to talk and needed to leave the room quickly after procedure to get to his next appointment.
Nov 30, 2021
Phone discussion rescheduled by mutual consent but not yet rescheduled.
Nov 30, 2021
I appreciated all that Dr Shinohara & his staff provided.
Nov 28, 2021
Originally ordered a blood test for Creatine but at the end added PSA test as well but that order did not make it to the system as when I went to get a blood test the PSA test was not ordered.
Nov 26, 2021
I learned I had cancer at this meeting. I wasn't ready yet research wise to know what questions to ask.
Nov 22, 2021
I've been in excruciating pain for 5 days and was told just go to the local ER
Nov 16, 2021
Awaiting biopsy test results before proceeding.
Nov 09, 2021
He informed me of the plan. Did not ask me for my opinion. Did not ask if I had any questions.
Nov 03, 2021
Dr. Shinohara has deep knowledge of his specialty and takes the time to listen to my concerns and provides treatment options
Oct 11, 2021
The doctor is formal and polite but has little bedside manner or curiosity about the patient.
Oct 11, 2021
As a physician I consider myself fortunate to have Dr. Shinohara as one of my trusted medical specialists.
Oct 06, 2021
I think very highly of Dr. Shinohara's care of me as I explained in detail in your previous surveys.
Sep 28, 2021
Very good experience
Aug 13, 2021
I have been on active surveyance for an early-stage prostate tumor (T1c) at the Urology Division of UCSF Cancer Center. For ten years Dr Shinohara has been watching my condition like a hawk. He performed my prostate resection (TURP) a few years ago and relieved me of nightly sufferings. He has been checking my PSA twice a year and alternating transrectal ultrasound and prostate biopsy tests yearly. Once a year he examines me thoroughly paying a close attention to my concerns and orders complementary tests cystoscopy MRI etc. as needed. I am immensely grateful to Dr Shinohara for his attention and care.
Aug 07, 2021
Between Dr. Shinohara his office staff and MyCart use everything was relatively easy I got answers and concerns answered within a reasonable time and I received good health care.
Jul 31, 2021
Great doctor hard time understanding his english
Jul 20, 2021
Told (after pressing and calling staff back) someone would be in touch in a week.
Jul 14, 2021
A great experience everytime!
Jun 30, 2021
he said my dad bladder is emptying alright but my need to do cystoscope & to check urethra status and to stopped oxybutinin that's it but my dad waited an hour to tell him that everything is okay is this in regards to his health insurance under Medicare?
Jun 29, 2021
I generally prefer the cut-and-dried approach but Dr. S. takes that pretty far. None-the-less competence trumps all other considerations in choosing a doctor.
Jun 25, 2021
I am trying to get a promised date for my next appointment but have no response. Left a number of messages on my chart but unfortunately no response. Although general phones were attended and the attendees promised to convey my messages to relevant people for my next appointment but unfortunately no reply.
Jun 21, 2021
I was very happy with how I was treated at this office.
Jun 16, 2021
provider evidently had limited time to spend with each patient.
Jun 15, 2021
I have been on active surveyance for an early-stage prostate tumor (T1a) at the Urology Division of UCSF Cancer Center. For ten years Dr Shinohara has been watching my condition like a hawk. He performed my prostate resection (TURP) a few years ago and relived me of nightly sufferings. He has been checking my PSA twice a year and alternating transrectal ultrasound and prostate biopsy tests yearly. Once a year he examines me thoroughly paying a close attention to my concerns and orders complementary tests cystoscopy MRI etc. as needed. I am immensely grateful to Dr Shinohara for his attention and care.
Jun 02, 2021
excellent experience
May 28, 2021
this was a second opinion discussion
May 26, 2021
Although Dr. S answered my questions he was very brief. when I attempted to ask for more info he again only provided minimal answers. I did not feel well listened to. I drive an hour to come to UCSF to be made to wait for 30 minutes and then for an appointment that takes less than 15 minutes. It was not very satisfying.
May 25, 2021
everything ran smoothly
May 25, 2021
I have considerable respect for the knowledge and skill of the Doctor
May 14, 2021
Had a Rezum procedure. Everyone from the car valet to the front desk on the 6th floor and nurses and doctor treated me in a friendly and professional manner and all showed good senses of humor.
May 13, 2021
Five stars!
May 09, 2021
good
May 08, 2021
Not given alternatives to treatment or testing
May 05, 2021
once again if you want information you have to ask. if you don't ask you are left hanging.
Apr 26, 2021
Always wonderful pre-visit and post=visit instructions
Apr 08, 2021
He was a good communicator
Apr 03, 2021
Doctor is alway professional and caring.
Apr 02, 2021
I was told his assistant would contact me re: scheduling an MRI and this has not happened
Mar 23, 2021
Session was for treatment not consultation.
Mar 22, 2021
There is a struggle to understand the Dr at time due to a second language. It's seems to be improving but it is still an issue at times.
Mar 11, 2021
good
Mar 10, 2021
He left the room without telling me what to do next. No "You're all set. You don't need to check out." or "You can schedule your next appointment at the front desk." I just stood in the doorway until someone happened by. I asked what I was to do. She said she thought I could go.
Mar 09, 2021
great
Feb 27, 2021
Dr Shinohara is a marvelous physician and I'm so lucky he is my dr.
Feb 21, 2021
excellent
Feb 17, 2021
Doctor outlined three possible solutions to the problem and described pluses and minus of each and then allowed me to choose the one I felt best for me.
Feb 12, 2021
I am very pleased with the care Dr. Shinohara has provided me. I have complete confidence in him and his staff.
Feb 06, 2021
I think he was depending on follow-up material that his office was supposed to send me. So perhaps he didn't feel the need to explain much for this procedure to implant markers
Feb 03, 2021
Dr. Shinohara is always informative
Feb 02, 2021
Dr. Shinohara is a good listener and excellent communicator. He is able to explain complex issues to patients in a way that is easily understandable.
Jan 27, 2021
Superior medical care.
Jan 21, 2021
follow up appointment to be scheduled
Jan 18, 2021
The discussions with the Dr. Shinohara regarding my health issue were all fine. It is the procedure (a prostate biopsy) that things all went wrong.
Jan 14, 2021
Dr. Shinohara is excellent. He is also very caring and patient.
Jan 13, 2021
Superb world class physician and staff
Jan 09, 2021
An excellent experience
Jan 09, 2021
Prefer in person visits
Jan 07, 2021
There was not much to discuss at this procedure. The follow-up when results are provided will be more informative
Dec 15, 2020
Pretty routine screening not a lot of discussion required but I was happy with my care.
Dec 11, 2020
I have a very high degree of confidence in my care provider
Dec 11, 2020
the Doctor seemed to be in a hurry and rushed the procedure causing unnecessary discomfort
Dec 09, 2020
He is a good physician but because of masking and his broken English it's sometimes hard to understand what he's saying.
Dec 09, 2020
bery good
Dec 08, 2020
I was dismayed to see Dr Shinohara with his mask below his nose. He did an excellent job of treating me and I respect him very much
Nov 29, 2020
Dr Shinohara talked with me very little-his assistant gave me the most information about what was involved in my biopsy. He was eager to get to his next appointment. I consider him to be a skilled technician with whom I crossed paths out of medical necessity.
Nov 16, 2020
it went very smooth. Dr had reviewed my tests explained the situation and the follow up plan including new tests. i am very pleased with the follow up plan
Nov 14, 2020
"Good" would probably be "Very Good" in a live setting.
Nov 11, 2020
After I asked him to explain things to me he was extremely attentive.
Nov 11, 2020
I am very happy and pleased to be under the care of Dr. Shinohara and his staff.
Nov 10, 2020
he did not really reply to information I had about the PSA. he just offered his own opinion and recommendation.
Nov 03, 2020
Doctor Shinohara is very detailed and knowledgeable
Oct 28, 2020
Dr. Shinohara has a thick accent that sometimes makes it difficult to understand what he is saying. Also he does not always explain options or negative impacts of meds unless he is specifically asked.
Oct 28, 2020
He did not speak understandable English at key moments of the procedure. No delay between lidocaine injection and needle insertion to allow it to take effect.
Oct 25, 2020
UCSF is first class!!!!
Oct 24, 2020
The doctor is obviously extremely expert at the procedure and I have a high degree of confidence in his technical skill. However his communication skills are limited.
Oct 19, 2020
His accent makes it hard for me to understand at times plus I am hard of hearing.
Oct 15, 2020
My sense is the doctor knows his stuff and I'm in good hands with my care and treatment but he is not very chatty doesn't really check in with me I'm not sure I'm entirely being heard or understood. This is scary stuff it would be nice if the doctor would check in with me more about what's going on what things mean what might happen etc.
Oct 13, 2020
Very hard to understand his accent;that was the only problem but it was a big one.
Oct 10, 2020
I am sure the provider is very competent. However in the teleconference I was fast-tracked to TURP with no explanation of the risks. No other option was presented to me. Since then thru my own research I have become aware that I am probably a candidate for a (less-invasive) HOLEP procedure. I called this provider's office and requested that I be referred to a HOLEP specialist and they have done so. I would really have liked to have had an explanation of my situation what needed to be remedied and what all the options are to do that.
Oct 02, 2020
Dr seemed a little distracted. Info he gave me conflicted with info given in phone call a year ago and I tried to get him to clarify rather than just keep telling me new guidance.
Sep 30, 2020
His accent is a little thick. But I am fairly used to that now and do otherwise think he is awesome. I consider him an absolute essential part of my care team.
Aug 26, 2020
after my procedure I remembered that the care provider didn't talk to me about possibility of going home with a catheter hooked up.
Aug 19, 2020
thanks
Aug 16, 2020
He is very professional
Aug 12, 2020
Dr Shinohara is a Master. UCSF is lucky to have him.
Aug 12, 2020
Very aloof - but nursing staff exceptional
Aug 10, 2020
very good
Aug 05, 2020
Dr Shinohara is outstsnting
Aug 04, 2020
Very quick and effective one-time intervention by a specialist.
Jul 31, 2020
very good experience
Jul 29, 2020
Although warned about my anal fissure and requesting that allowing topical lidocaine to work before the recital exam he'd rushed in and did a painful exam. After finishing the rectal ultrasound he spent 30 seconds telling me is was negative answered one question and left the room before I could ask another. Total time in my presence was 5 minutes including doing the ultrasound. As a physician myself I was appalled at his bedside manner.
Jul 29, 2020
Thai Dr. has a excellent reputation and I trust I'm completely.
Jul 29, 2020
Physician wanted a special MRI why didn't this get scheduled in advance?
Jul 29, 2020
In my opinion Dr. Shinohara is the best doctor that I could possibly have!
Jul 28, 2020
providers office is excellent at calling regarding biopsy reports. they typically do not call about my PSA results.
Jul 22, 2020
It's not really a fair assessment because of the combination of wearing masks and my difficulty in hearing and having a hard time understanding his accent. He was/is quite competent and skilled that was clearly evident. The nurse was able to answer and address my concerns.
Jul 21, 2020
the very best thing you can do for the future of the ucsf is to clone him and his ninja nurses
Jul 02, 2020
There were problems with the video and audio on my end. But it worked enough to complete the conference.
Jun 29, 2020
The telehealth experience was poor as I didn't feel I could connect with the doctor -- it just felt like a production line
Jun 27, 2020
The doctor seemed to just want to refer me to someone else; he did not seem to want to really discuss my case in any depth whatsoever. I do not understand what is happening to my health.
Jun 26, 2020
excellent care
Jun 17, 2020
Katsuto Shinohara is a Master at what he does and he really cares.
Jun 11, 2020
This visit was a procedure (follow-up biopsy) and I fully understood what was to happen. Even so the nurse and physician were most helpful in addressing what I was about to experience.
Jun 09, 2020
Was seen by 3rd year resident for most of appointment. Was treated excellently.
Jun 09, 2020
He was competent caring and kind. plus he was gentle during the procediure.
Jun 08, 2020
The physician impressed me as probably being at the top of his field in terms of knowledge experience and judgment. I respect him enormously for that attainment. He lacks unfortunately in "bedside manner" affability and in the ability to personally connect.
Jun 08, 2020
the exam took only a few minutes
Jun 03, 2020
Zoom was easy to use.
Jun 03, 2020
excellent doctor
May 27, 2020
very good caring and professional
May 23, 2020
The telehealth application worked well for my follow-up visit and it was a useful substitute for a face to face meeting but it will never entirely replace an actual office visit in my mind. I do think some improvements could be made to make the video more like an office visit such as better video clarity and perhaps a more formal setting.

Share