Skip to Main Content
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Kirstina Olson

MD

4.7

Overall Experience
487 reviews
About our process
Apr 02, 2022
Very good after care summary on the patient portal
Mar 28, 2022
At first I was taking notes with my phone but the Doctor said she would have everything printed out for me. She made me feel relaxed and that with care I could overcome my pain.
Mar 26, 2022
Dr Kirstina Olson is the top rated foot/ankle surgeon in the state according to Mayo Clinic and John Hopkins
Mar 16, 2022
I would have expected that a Chief of Staff has the power to expedite diagnostics required to get me out of the PAIN and SURGICAL failure I have experienced for the past 2 1/2 years a bit quicker. Waiting for nearly 3 months for an MRI at a world renowned facility like UCSF is ABSURD.
Mar 16, 2022
Didn't get any follow up care
Mar 11, 2022
The hardest part of the visit was that I'm in a cast and had to park far away. Plus I spent on parking and this is a serious barrier to care. in parking to see a doctor? UCSF should make business deals with the parking garages so it costs an hour. I'm serious. Or no charge with proof of validation from physicains' office.
Mar 02, 2022
Dr Olson isliterally (!)one of the finest MD's I've ever encounteredworld class in every sense of the wordSO grateful for her!
Jan 17, 2022
I am at a total loss as to how the new problems I'm experiencing will be addressed. She is fond of saying things like"we should stay in touch". Or "why don't you make an appointment for a few months down the road"! I am given no clear direction and have lost trust in this doctor.
Jan 13, 2022
I came away with valuable methods on how to relate to and live with my condition. I wanted a better understanding and that was received.
Jan 13, 2022
The physician was very busy and it all seemed rushed.
Jan 13, 2022
Unfortunately this was not a satisfactory visit whatsoever. It was my first follow up appointment after surgery to repair a rupture in my achilles tendon and I had a lot of questions. I didn't feel like I got a chance to talk to the doctor long enough and am left feeling a bit lost about next steps. Additionally there seemed to be an assumption that I should have already secured a boot - which was not communicated to me at any point and now I'm back in another cast which will require returning to the office to remove.
Jan 05, 2022
It felt like the doctor was exhausted (apt at end of day). I felt bad for her but also that shouldn't affect my appointment.
Dec 29, 2021
Dr. Olson is leaving the decision to have surgery totally in my hands as it not an easy surgery or recovery and I respect that even though I wish she made the decision for me anyway. I will try to think of any other questions to send to her on My Chart to make sure all my questions are answered for me to make the best informed choice.
Dec 11, 2021
Answered my questions in a limited manner; still left me feeling unsure/confused about several things.
Dec 06, 2021
I appreciated getting like I was really with the right person to make the best decision for my long-term outcome and I'm relieved that surgery is not our first go to.
Nov 25, 2021
Dr Olson was very good!
Nov 10, 2021
I am a retired hospital/medical group operations consultant and a cancer patient in another system. The medical assistant resident and senior doctor were as engaged with my care as anyone could be. This was my first appointment with UCSF and I was deeply impressed.
Nov 07, 2021
Wonderful interpersonal skills. Appreciated some time to check in personally before getting to health concerns. Love the notation on my record regarding my passion for opera!
Oct 27, 2021
Dr. Olson took exceptional care and extra time to answer all my questions and to advise me of my best self care for faster recovery.
Sep 30, 2021
This visit went much better than the last visit I had with Dr. Olson. She listened really well she answered all my questions etc. Maybe it was because I had seen her before. As opposed to my first visit which seemed more rushed and perfunctory. Based on this last visit I would definitely recommend Dr. Olson.
Sep 29, 2021
Dr Olson is great her team just didn't get my appt right I didn't need to see her I needed an injection in my foot which I stated in my online appt.
Sep 13, 2021
This was so disappointing how Dr Olson wouldn't listen to me and rushed me through my appointment. She didn't treat me like a person and I left without a resolution for my problem. She passed me to PT without discussing any options for my 10/10 pain level when I came in the office. I feel ripped off and dismissed.
Sep 13, 2021
Dr Olson is the best. She is the best in what she does. I had a successful surgery. Her PA Ferry is also very good
Sep 13, 2021
I felt she had made her decision on treatment .. Or lack thereof .. Before she came in. Yes I had suffered a severe fracture and already knew the adversity that accompanies my 3.5 year old injury. I am experiencing more and different pain that I have not experienced until recently. Dr Olson concentrated on beginning arthritis not the sharp sudden intermittent pains in other parts of my ankle and leg. Arthritis does not cause that. My concern was possible soft tissue (ligament tendon muscle) injury due to the plates. I felt that she was very kindly distracting and therefore dismissing my concerns. She appeared knowledgeable and acknowledged my participation in our discussion. However I felt she had a predetermined time limit for the visit and stuck to that. She did not address some of the questions I had. She did advise of an early onset of a known issue with this type of injury which really upset me as I had hoped for more time before it's onset. Tears snd shock. However the pain she advised that would be caused by that was NOT the pain I was having. Nor in the same area. She did not pursue that pain. All in all I feel it was a waste of my time (and hers) and I had much higher hopes for such a prestigious hospital for more information and options for my care. All I was given was: Advil and "physical therapy" which I had explained was not successful in my area previously. I need to say thoshe portrayed concern and compassion. She spoke directly to me which I appreciated. Very professional in her approach even tho she dismissed some concerns very subtly.
Aug 28, 2021
Dr. Olson's communication skills are very poor. When I had important questions I wanted answered I was made to feel stupid or I'd get comments like " I already told you about that". I always left every appointment with many questions I felt uncomfortable asking while in the office. When I tried calling the office to ask follow-up questions it became difficult to reach anyone. The overall experience felt like pulling teeth the entire time it's a struggle and nothing flows easily.
Aug 02, 2021
Dr. Olson is great! She discussed things at my level (I'm an anatomist).
Jul 30, 2021
Dr Olson is very busy but takes the time to address each patient's concerns
Jul 15, 2021
Dr. Olson is a consummate professional. She's very straightforward as to the patient's status prognosis and gives clear instruction for care between appointments.
Jul 08, 2021
Excellent care by Dr. Olson!
Jul 03, 2021
Dr Olson and her resident were well worth the wait. I am so happy I am in their care.
Jun 10, 2021
Excellent visit with Dr Olson. Very informative
May 15, 2021
Dr Kirstina Olson is the BEST!! Thorough clear explanations all-around great health care provider.
May 07, 2021
Dr Olson provides clear and comprehensive information that is easy to understand. She listens to my questions and concerns and gives good feedback and options on ongoing treatment and home behavior. Her staff is great too. Highly recommended.
Apr 17, 2021
Dr. Olson listened and then explained thoroughly my issue and I left feeling assured and informed with a clear idea of my next steps toward healing.
Apr 03, 2021
Dr. Olson is a terrific provider competent empathic and is first-rate at explaining issues.
Mar 31, 2021
I felt very well taken care of as patient and as a person.
Mar 30, 2021
This procedure has turned into a very bad experience. I remain in worse health than when this started. There has been s medical error in this process.
Mar 22, 2021
Dr. Olson is an excellent physician with a profound knowledge of her specialty.
Mar 13, 2021
I had to ask about details of follow up
Mar 13, 2021
Dr Olson is fabulous. She is attentive explains things well and provides good advice. I recommend her to my friends & family.
Mar 04, 2021
still haven't received communication on PT but it's only been a day.
Feb 24, 2021
good refer for treatment
Feb 24, 2021
Injections were needed and spot on facilitating decrease in pain and hopefully increase in mobility.
Jan 28, 2021
Dr. Olson was attentive and listened to my concerns/questions. I could tell she reviewed my case and x-rays prior to our appointment. She helped me recognize additional injuries that maybe contributing to my foot pain.
Dec 27, 2020
Overall very happy with experience. I did notice 2 diagnoses on the xrays I received that I was not made aware of or treatment discussed but will follow up with provider.
Dec 21, 2020
dr Olson was excellent. she spent sufficient time with me and explained things well. she was very friendly and understood my desire to keep exercising thus my desire to fix this and not just stop exercising
Dec 12, 2020
i'm confident that the surgeon can do the surgery i just would have liked more explaantion of the bone spur like why does it grow upwards why not grow downward what are likely causes of growth spur growth rate could have been more interest shown to learn cause of cartilage breakdown...
Dec 11, 2020
Dr. Kirstina Olson is terrific.
Dec 11, 2020
UCSF's lack of transparent pricing ultimately reflects poorly on the institution doctors and administration
Nov 01, 2020
Very positive and informative
Oct 28, 2020
Dr. Olson was amazing! She is kind patient professional and expert in her field. I am so happy to be one of her patients
Oct 12, 2020
Excellent communication and instructions
Aug 23, 2020
Provider is a podiatrist but did not watch me walk down the hall.
Jul 30, 2020
She spent about 5 minutes tops with me. I was seen by the chief resident and he spent more time with and explained more than Olson did. The biggest issue is they both asked if I had questions but in the moment it's difficult to figure out what I should be asking when I was learning a lot of new information. They didn't seem to take my athletic history seriously and gave me almost no after care instructions. I needed to know what I could do to stay in shape and they didn't address that at all.
Jul 23, 2020
I don't feel my level of pain was acknowledged or concerned about.
Jul 21, 2020
Again Dr K.Olson is the most impressive outstanding Dr. I have ever been treated by. I was also very impressed with the Resident Dr. Nicholas S. He was also beyond amazing. I can't thank Dr. Olson and her team enough!!
Jul 09, 2020
I'd last seen Dr. Olson perhaps 6 years ago. I had a new injury (same ankle/foot) and she was my first choice when trying to seek medical help.
Jul 09, 2020
Dr. Olson is the best ever! She is kind patient professional and expert in her field. I am so happy to be one of her patients. I "hobble in and walk out" feeling so much better after her treatment. I can't thank her enough!
Jul 08, 2020
Dr Olson is an excellent doctor. She does not rush to surgery But offers alternatives unless surgery is definitely necessary
Jun 27, 2020
She really did not care amount my requests I wanted her to freeze my warts off only. She wanted to do very complex for surgery.
Jun 18, 2020
Dr Olson rocks !
Jun 15, 2020
My experiences with this care provider have been bad and will never see her again.
Jun 08, 2020
At her assistants request I told him the entire story of my situation before Dr. Olson in the room. After hearing the history of my situation he left and came back a short time later with Dr. Olson. The discussion from then on did not include as comprehensive a discussion of my condition as I had shared with her assistant. I didn't want to repeat everything from the beginning yet I knew she didn't have all the information. The visit just left me a bit wanting.
Jun 06, 2020
I was anxious the whole visit because I was worried about a parking ticket so I was not as present as I wanted to be. Really disappointed by that.
Jun 03, 2020
the provider wore her mask under her nose for the entire visit. she pulled it up once or twice but it quickly slid down below her nose and she left it there talking and examining me with her mask at the bottom of her face. Its one thing to see a lay person in the community wear their mask incorrectly but to have a health care provider do so was infuriating. I am a healthcare provider myself and would NEVER walk into a patients room that way. This disregard for patient safety coupled with this providers inability to listen to my concerns left me with no confidence in the care I was receiving.
Jun 02, 2020
fair
May 29, 2020
Although the provider talked about follow-up care when I voiced concerns regarding how I would be able to manage this care she didn't comment. Like how I could even get home 300 miles away with my foot in the air above my heart? Or stay in bed for two weeks. I would've appreciated some referral to a social worker associated with the hospital who might help me navigate these and other issues related to follow-up care but nothing at all was ever mentioned.

Share