Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Lee A. Tan

MD

4.8

Overall Experience
393 reviews
About our process
Jun 05, 2021
Everyone I've talked to is so incredibly nice and patient!
Jun 03, 2021
He asked me to follow up as soon as my w/c adjuster authorized the surgery.
Jun 02, 2021
Dr. Tan is very through and has managed my case very well.
May 21, 2021
I am glad that Dr. Tan doesn't go right to surgery as the solution. He wants to do non-surgical methods first to see how I respond to those.
May 11, 2021
Dr. Tan is only concerned about my health when it's related to his specialty. i have multiple issues including a rare genetic disorder and Dr Tan has put minimal effort AT BEST to help guide me to a specialist better suited to my needs. it makes me feel like I'm just a number at the deli counter. as soon as I left the OR I feel like he's treating me as if I'm no longer a priority or his concern. internal referral from specialist to specialist are CRUCIAL to multi-disciplinary treatment yet I had to cry and BEG him to help me . NOT what I expected from UCSF
Apr 29, 2021
good
Apr 28, 2021
I am a retired orthopaedic surgeon and thus represent a difficult patient for Dr. Tan. His care of me has been exemplary in every way and we are making arrangements for my wife to see him as well.
Apr 22, 2021
plan of action what's to be done next was fully explained
Apr 15, 2021
I'm very impressed. My research indicates I should have been.
Mar 23, 2021
very happy with the care i was given
Mar 12, 2021
so far so good.
Mar 12, 2021
I trust Dr Tan and his team
Mar 10, 2021
good
Mar 03, 2021
Dr. Tan was outstanding in every respect. He gave me a very thorough neurological exam and showed me the abnormalities on my scans the cause of my symptoms and signs and treatment options.
Mar 03, 2021
Experience has been good and clear.
Feb 03, 2021
everything went so well with my surgery I was surprised!
Jan 08, 2021
Dr. Tan is an exceptionally kind bright caring provider.
Dec 09, 2020
I am so thankful to have such an intelligent and skilled provider.
Dec 02, 2020
we are greatly appreciative of the care we receive every time we have an encounter with this clinic
Dec 02, 2020
I am a surgeon in an allied field (orthopaedics); Dr Tan's care for me was excellent and completely appropriate. He could not have done better.
Nov 25, 2020
I'm confident that this group of care providers can help me get through my upcoming surgery and help me to get back to my best. I feel fortunate to have their help and attention.
Nov 16, 2020
Dr.Tan Lee was very good with explaining my injury needs.
Nov 06, 2020
Dr. Tan is a highly qualified neurosurgeon and was very helpful in explaining my problem and what could be done about it including the risks involved and what to expect going forward.
Nov 06, 2020
The care provider on a prior email stating his second opinion which I sought provided excellent information on my condition and possible remedy's! He included research sites for me to visit to get further information on his recommendations. I was able to get a good handle on the different procedures pertaining to my condition and I really appreciated that! It gave me confidence!
Oct 20, 2020
Good
Oct 18, 2020
I have a great respect for this doctor. He's very respect to me and my family. I like the fact if he sees me not understanding what he is explaining to me he will break it down to me so I understand what he is saying. Dr.Lee Tan has worked on my lower back 2 timesand I can't tell you how appreciative I am that he is going to address my cervical spine issues in this next surgery. Thank you
Oct 06, 2020
good experience
Oct 06, 2020
Dr.Tan is very professional and very kindHe explained everything to my understanding. What a Wonderful Surgeon only bad was at the hospital with one of the nurse putting the drainage pressure up to 110
Sep 21, 2020
I feel extremely confident in this provider's care and treatment. We are talking about surgery that could be very scary. But he sounded so clear and positive that I didn't feel afraid. That is a BIG deal. And I appreciate him immensely for it.
Sep 21, 2020
all above expected.
Sep 18, 2020
dr. tan always listen closely to my questions and concerns. he's very caring and understands
Sep 17, 2020
In America at this time it's unbelievable to get service like is provided by UCSF your Business runs like old school when people cared and showed interest!
Aug 27, 2020
very good experience
Aug 25, 2020
the dr did not ask patient any questions
Aug 16, 2020
I have not had poor experiences with the NP past Drs in the past here in Oregon. I have been ignored refused medications when my pain level has been 10 for years. I would not have made it much longer with the experience knowledge respect understanding of my physical back issues. I am so thankful for the a medical decisions of Dr Tan his assistants and receptionist that understood my physical issues. I have the highest respect for the UCSF staff medical team Dr Tan. They heard me believed me took care of me.
Aug 15, 2020
I like U.C.S.F. and want all future care in regards to my condition done with Dr. Lee Tan.
Aug 06, 2020
I am very satisfied with Dr. Tan he goes well beyond to insure that my needs are met & that I know that he truly does care about my health issues. I am very impressed with Dr. Tan & will definitely recommend him to others.
Jul 23, 2020
Superb physician it's been along time since I've had a Dr. treat me as a human being and not an assembly line patient. Actually all physicians I've come across at UCSF are that way caring they will stay and talk to you until you understand the situation. Thank God for UCSF
Jul 16, 2020
Dr. Lee Tan is awesome !
Jul 11, 2020
I feel fully confident in Dr Tan and respect his assessment of my condition and fitness for surgery.
Jul 10, 2020
Dr. Tan is an excellent communicator. He listens carefully and responds in a positive and thorough manner.
Jul 08, 2020
I can't say enough about how wonderful they really are Thank you
Jun 26, 2020
Telehealth is somewhat cumbersome because it is sometimes difficult to determine when each party is finished speaking.
Jun 04, 2020
i always feel comfortable speaking with Dr. Tan
Jun 03, 2020
I grew up going with and waiting in the car when my dad made house calls as a physician in the 1960s. Things have changed! I am happy that I got to see Dr Tan. He made me feel confident that things will turn out well
May 27, 2020
communication was very good but I do not feel that Telehealth is very effective
May 24, 2020
I could not be more pleased.
May 22, 2020
covered everything a regular office visit would cover including going over my X-rays on screen so I could see what the doctor was basing his recommendations on.
May 15, 2020
Excelente
May 09, 2020
Doctor was very helpful caring and informative.
May 05, 2020
Because it took 6 months to get this appointment secured I told the PA that I wanted all of my questions addressed. She suggested I send a list of questions which I did and she answered immediately that Dr. Tan would have those in front of him. However when the video appointment began it was clear to me that I wouldn't have all the time I wanted. He wanted me to summarize what was most important to me. He did explain things well and showed me MRIs but I felt very rushed after only 15 minutes. I had a few questions that remained unanswered unfortunately which was not good. I did not even have a full half hour! He basically told me to continue as I was because I was not going to have surgery again on these tumors. After 6 months - that was it?? That wasn't much of a second opinion. I appreciate that he is excellent at what he does but after all the work I put into those questionnaires all the paperwork and MRIs every effort that was made to fully inform him I felt he kind of blew me off. Not a happy camper.
Apr 23, 2020
Dr Tan is always very kind respectful and patient towards me. He always makes sure I am safe and provides me a deep level of security & confidence. It is my pleasure to recommend Dr Tan to family & friends. My heartfelt gratitude to Dr Tan.
Apr 20, 2020
Had a little problem with audio I was unable to hear Dr. Tan without use of the phone. The problem was at my end first time I ever used any Telecommunications and I apologize for my lack knowledge but pleased that I was able to get my system setup.
Apr 17, 2020
excellent service...was very happy with the video conference and the system worked perfectly. Dr Tan listened to all my concerns and gave thorough explanations and showed me my MRIs and explained them in words I could understand. Very happy with this meeting...highly professional and friendly.
Apr 04, 2020
we didnt get to go into detail about all the possible treatment He mentioned injection but didnt go into details about how they exactly work what are they made of. So I dont even really have a search term to look up. Also we talked about surgery but not what the specific surgical procedure would be and how that would help. Although we did get to go into some detail about how surgery was a bad option. I would have liked more detailed in depth information so I could go online and search all this up later. Usually leaving the doctor i would get some kind of paper containing this information written or typed but i guess it doesnt work that way on VC?
Mar 15, 2020
love Dr. Tan!
Mar 09, 2020
could not have had a better experience.
Mar 06, 2020
I never feel rushed when I see dr Tan. Hes very good about making you feel you have his total attention
Feb 07, 2020
Again did not fully listen to my concerns regarding my surgical outcome pain and quality of life issues...
Feb 05, 2020
Care provider focused on surgical possibilities and not on the overall problem i.e. possible useful alternatives such as pain relieving injections.
Jan 31, 2020
am so happy to have dr tan lee take care of my neck problems
Jan 16, 2020
I felt that the information given by Dr. Lee was excellent but we didn't have time to process the fact that he was referring us back to our initial Pain Management Dr. and so we didn't ask some of the questions on our mind. We were in and out pretty quickly.
Dec 02, 2019
Dr.Tan Lee A had done a good job for me. He is a kind doctor and his explanations were easier to understand. I like to meet him again.
Nov 29, 2019
dr tan is an excellent physician and I've only have positive experiences with him and his staff. i would recommend him to all of my friends and associates. His staff was awesome and curious. I feel he is great and effective. I wish there were more doctors lie him.
Nov 26, 2019
I will need a more detailed discussion of alternative treatment options if any exist. It would also be helpful if some information about the doctor's experience with particular surgical procedure proposed was given.
Sep 14, 2019
Dr Tan is always kind compassionate and respectful. One of the few health care providers who thoroughly reviewed my health history before my 1st appointment with him and always takes every aspect of my health into account. Dr Tan is very kind personable and gentle. He is always supportive and encouraging. I am very grateful for the support and care of Dr Tan and his team.
Sep 13, 2019
We are very happy to be in Dr. Tan's care. He took time to explain and show us exactly what was happening.
Sep 10, 2019
Dr Tan made me feel very comfortable
Sep 09, 2019
I still had some questions about moving forward with my condition the long term effects and what my options are for managing them. I will follow up with a phone call or appointment if it is needed prior to the 6 month check in.
Aug 28, 2019
Dr. Tan is very thorough in treating your particular ailment and explains step by step what is to be done for you. I believe his bedside manners are impeccable. I would definitely refer him to any of my friends and family.

Share