Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Madeline Deutsch

MD, MPH

4.3

Overall Experience
136 reviews
About our process
Jun 24, 2021
In the visit the doctor asked me if I had read the surgery materials she sent me after our first appointment. I had read all the materials she sent me but I didn't remember she sent me surgery materials so I said I haven't. Then she got very angry because she believed I didn't pay respect to her instructions and soon left the meeting. I doubled check the materials after our appointment and still couldn't the surgery materials she mentioned. This was my second appointment with her and my first time to read materials after visit. I tried to call her office afterwards for instructions on reading materials but no one had called me back yet. The doctor wanted to reschedule an appointment with me one year later and I was extremely shocked. We didn't even have a chance to address my concerns - the biggest one is my prescription. And no one from her office seems to care if I get my prescription or not - the doctor only told me to see her in 1 year but didn't say if I can get my prescription from her now. In my opinion she shows no empathy for me when I made mistakes or give me a chance to explain my behavior when she's angry.
Apr 11, 2021
My experience was perfectly fine. Nothing wrong and nothing spectacular. I didn't have a lot to discuss.
Apr 03, 2021
I really liked her!
Mar 22, 2021
While knowledgeable I felt far from considered in what was happening to me.
Mar 13, 2021
when i asked my questions/concerns they were called invalid without discussion and was told there wasn't enough time. I felt like I was treated very dismissively.
Feb 28, 2021
I'm very happy with my care
Feb 25, 2021
I was recommended to this provider to ask questions and address my specific concerns about the treatment plan that my primary care provider did not have the expertise to answer. The provider for this visit would not let me ask my questions and said I would have to get blood work done and let her make a prescription recommendation before she wanted to address detailed questions. I tried to explain that I would go through my primary care doctor's office for blood work and the actual prescription that I was hoping to get clarification on the potential effects of the medication that was recommended to me. I understand needing blood work prior to giving a prescription but I didn't think it was unreasonable to ask questions about potential side effects from an expert in the field before getting a prescription from my primary care provider. I felt like I was not listened to for my reason for wanting the appointment or for my questions and my concerns about side effects was dismissed as needing to give myself "permission" to begin treatment.
Jan 18, 2021
Provider speaks to people in a way that makes them get defensive and feel like they are being disciplined.
Oct 14, 2020
couldn't cover recent health issues basically had to talk to the provider in the hallway on the way out
Sep 17, 2020
I is struck by the way the doctor communicated clear knowledge of my condition but in a way that made it easy to listen to. She engendered in me a feeling of cooperation through her approach to explaining the issues.
Aug 27, 2020
Because the doctor's schedule was so full and she was pretty late through no fault of her own I neglected to mention to her that my knee has been bothering me. I felt that I needed to move the appointment along and get out of the office. I felt pressured because my car was parked at a metered parking space and I knew that I was running out of time. I only mentioned the 1 concern that was my highest priority and didn't tell her about my knee.
Aug 27, 2020
problems connecting on Zoom. IT call desk of minimal assistance
Aug 20, 2020
If the care provider wasn't a specialist I would not see her.
Aug 19, 2020
This is a new relationship and the provider doesn't know me well (which she acknowledged). Am assuming with time that will improve.
Aug 08, 2020
She has a particular idea of how my treatment should go and seems to get annoyed when I ask a question or make a suggestion.
May 27, 2020
Dr Deutsch made me feel confident in her care.
May 02, 2020
Just want to reinforce - going to UCSF and working with Dr. Deutsch's team is the best possible scenario I could have possibly imagined. I feel so fortunate to have been offered time to visit with her.
May 01, 2020
I felt heard and understood like never before! As an intersex person I usually only have emotionally draining doctor visits! Dr Deutsch is the best!
Apr 30, 2020
we started off very rocky it got better but I was really ready to disengage
Mar 05, 2020
Ever since Dr. Deutsch has become my doctor I love coming to the doctor. She focuses on my health concerns as a queer woman
Feb 26, 2020
I was pleasantly surprised with the level of detail and care that Dr Deutsch gave me. I learned the answers to some questions that I had had literally for years.
Feb 20, 2020
I saw Dr. Deutsch around 8 months ago for a more urgent issue and I loved her so much that I wanted her to be my PCP. She truly listens to me which is something I didn't feel happened with other providers. She made me feel heard and made me feel like I was in the best care. I feel like Dr. Deutsche understands memore as a gay woman. She understands my health POV. One thing I was really appreciative of was her suggesting Gaylesta a site of LGBTQ-aware therapists. This really proved to me that she gets what it's like to come from a gay background and how that affects therapy and mental health. I really am glad she is my doctor.
Feb 19, 2020
I am autistic and prefer direct communication. I wrote that on my questionnaire. I feel the provider made assumptions and read into what I was saying.They pressured me for my medical records in which I am misgendered and generally made me feel like I didn't have any options for medical care for my connective tissue disorder. I agree there aren't a lot of options of medical care for transgender patients but I want to have support in trying to advocate for myself to create more options.
Feb 04, 2020
Hands down the best care provider I have ever seen. She listened valued my opinions and is a compassionate intelligent well-spoken care giver.
Jan 16, 2020
More clear and knowledgeable than previous provider for same issue (other provider is also with a different group).
Dec 18, 2019
We waited 40 minutes in the room for this doctor. She then let us know that we'd taken literally twice her time with us and basically rushed out when she was done with us. She did not even know that she's not my primary care provider. I travel over 2 hours to come to get the best care because of UCSF's reputation and yet I've never had 1 good experience with this doctor. I brought my parent with me because this doctor treats me with more respect when I bring someone with me to my appts. I truly feel transgender individuals coming to UCSF need other choices for doctors in this department.

Share