Have you and your family had your flu shot? It's more important than ever this year! Schedule via MyChart or call for an appointment in SF, the East Bay or San Mateo.
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Madeline Deutsch

MD, MPH

4.5

Overall Experience
180 reviews
About our process
Aug 08, 2020
She has a particular idea of how my treatment should go and seems to get annoyed when I ask a question or make a suggestion.
May 27, 2020
Dr Deutsch made me feel confident in her care.
May 02, 2020
Just want to reinforce - going to UCSF and working with Dr. Deutsch's team is the best possible scenario I could have possibly imagined. I feel so fortunate to have been offered time to visit with her.
May 01, 2020
I felt heard and understood like never before! As an intersex person I usually only have emotionally draining doctor visits! Dr Deutsch is the best!
Apr 30, 2020
we started off very rocky it got better but I was really ready to disengage
Mar 05, 2020
Ever since Dr. Deutsch has become my doctor I love coming to the doctor. She focuses on my health concerns as a queer woman
Feb 26, 2020
I was pleasantly surprised with the level of detail and care that Dr Deutsch gave me. I learned the answers to some questions that I had had literally for years.
Feb 20, 2020
I saw Dr. Deutsch around 8 months ago for a more urgent issue and I loved her so much that I wanted her to be my PCP. She truly listens to me which is something I didn't feel happened with other providers. She made me feel heard and made me feel like I was in the best care. I feel like Dr. Deutsche understands memore as a gay woman. She understands my health POV. One thing I was really appreciative of was her suggesting Gaylesta a site of LGBTQ-aware therapists. This really proved to me that she gets what it's like to come from a gay background and how that affects therapy and mental health. I really am glad she is my doctor.
Feb 19, 2020
I am autistic and prefer direct communication. I wrote that on my questionnaire. I feel the provider made assumptions and read into what I was saying.They pressured me for my medical records in which I am misgendered and generally made me feel like I didn't have any options for medical care for my connective tissue disorder. I agree there aren't a lot of options of medical care for transgender patients but I want to have support in trying to advocate for myself to create more options.
Feb 04, 2020
Hands down the best care provider I have ever seen. She listened valued my opinions and is a compassionate intelligent well-spoken care giver.
Jan 16, 2020
More clear and knowledgeable than previous provider for same issue (other provider is also with a different group).
Dec 18, 2019
We waited 40 minutes in the room for this doctor. She then let us know that we'd taken literally twice her time with us and basically rushed out when she was done with us. She did not even know that she's not my primary care provider. I travel over 2 hours to come to get the best care because of UCSF's reputation and yet I've never had 1 good experience with this doctor. I brought my parent with me because this doctor treats me with more respect when I bring someone with me to my appts. I truly feel transgender individuals coming to UCSF need other choices for doctors in this department.
Oct 25, 2019
would be useful to have more info typed into the aftercare summary notes specifically pertaining to follow-up care/referrals. it's hard to remember all the details.
Oct 19, 2019
Provider was fine but cannot recommend due to extreme disorganization of services related to appointment
Sep 18, 2019
This is the only doctor I've ever felt listened to and cared for!
Aug 21, 2019
I actually have some biology/physiology courses/knowledge in me. I honestly felt the doctor dumbed it down too much for me. I understand this isn't everyone.
Aug 17, 2019
Dr Deutsch has been the first provider I've had that I felt actually cared and remembered me. She's been amazing. I can't say enough good things about her. She has been patient with me and my apprehensiveness towards medications and helped me navigate my depression and medical issues.
Aug 07, 2019
For "Care provider's efforts to include you in decisions about your treatment" I would select a 7/5 if it were possible. Dr. Deutsch was fantastic in this regard.
Aug 02, 2019
She spent 5 minutes with me. I told her I had a reaction that was itching and that I wanted to show her. She never looked at it.
Jul 25, 2019
At this clinic I have had so-so experiences with the MDs. Walking into the appointment I was worried that I would have another experience. However Dr. Deutsch was amazing. Both her and her resident helped me with my issue gave me steps to fix it and gave me plan B options should the first steps not work. I will try to see her every time I go in. She was that great.
Jul 11, 2019
She's a busy lady but she is a perfect fit; I honestly couldn't ask for a better PCP.
Jun 13, 2019
Dr. Deutsch is THE expert for many reasons. I am confident in the relationship I have with her and my health.
Jun 12, 2019
I like Dr. Deutsch. She is very nice patient and respectful. Not always easy to see her but I like the others docs there and th NP's so it's all good.
Jun 11, 2019
I felt a bit judged about the things I wanted to talk with them about. I ended up not even asking about injections or implants as alternatives to pills because I felt chastised about poor "adherence" to my medication. I wish it was a bit more personal and human.
May 31, 2019
Dr. Deutsch is in my view a top high-end provider. She not only knows her stuff but knows her patients well and is super supportive.
Apr 23, 2019
Dr Deutsch and I seem to have a meeting of minds.
Apr 10, 2019
couldn't be happier with my doctor!
Mar 14, 2019
My recent observations are that Dr. Deutsch is being more proactive with my other providers as my various conditions develop. This is a positive development.
Mar 09, 2019
Dr. Deutsch is a fantastic physician and I hope UCSF recognizes that as well!
Feb 11, 2019
Maddie can come off a little judgmental about personal choices at times but it doesn't actually get in the way of care.
Feb 01, 2019
Dr. Deutsch was very thorough when addressing my concerns and I appreciated her depth of knowledge for my future care.
Dec 22, 2018
I was never given the opportunity to ask for help with my headaches or given a recommendation for an alternative medicine for pseudo dementia. the prescription I was given by my gerontologist for that condition was creating what I thought to be dangerous harmful ideations. She instead recommended I see a psychiatrist (I got one follow up call from a UCSF social worker and no follow up to schedule after I left a message requesting a return call) I also had concerns about deep yellow colored eyelids that I wished to discuss but she said we had talked about three things and that was all the time she had. I also asked about stopping Spirolactone and I think she asserted it was OK and a similar question about dutasteride was vague and to me uncommitted
Dec 17, 2018
the care provider is very rude and condescending. I do not wish to be scolded for things I'm not exactly sure of.
Dec 10, 2018
Does not listen! Has no empathy. Poor bedside manner. Does not seem to have my (patient's) best interest in mind. Don't feel safe with her.
Dec 06, 2018
I still feel like I get rushed and don't have enough time

Share