Have you and your family had your flu shot? It's more important than ever this year! Schedule via MyChart or call for an appointment in SF, the East Bay or San Mateo.
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Matthew Gubens

MD, MS

5.0

Overall Experience
204 reviews
About our process
Jul 08, 2020
I'm extremely fortunate and deeply grateful that I'm receiving the very best care available anywhere for my lung cancer by being a patient of Dr. Gubens!!!
Jul 03, 2020
Excellent experience. I have every confidence in this doctor. I felt a personal connection to him and believe he cares about me as a person.
Jun 23, 2020
Dr. Gubens is wonderful. Very caring and easy to talk to. He spent more time than usual with me which I really appreciated. And he explained the overall picture (which is very positive thankfully). I'm fortunate to have him as my 'provider'. [name redacted]
Jun 16, 2020
thankful to have such a wonderful doctor.
May 22, 2020
Dr Gubens was GREAT!!
May 19, 2020
I love Dr. Gubens and feel I am I. the best of hands.
May 09, 2020
Dr. Gubens is caring warm with empathy smart and knowledgeable. I felt at ease and even though it was through Zoom.
May 01, 2020
Thank you for Telehealth!!!
Apr 29, 2020
This was an excellent visit two way communication was well received. Actually enjoyed this visit and felt at ease to ask questions etc.
Apr 27, 2020
Wished I came to UCSF from the beginning of my cancer journey!
Jan 17, 2020
I have complete confidence that Dr. Gubens is giving me the very best care possible. It's a huge relief knowing that.
Dec 31, 2019
No medications are involved with my condition at this point.
Dec 22, 2019
Dr Gubens is awesome!! He's an extremely strong communicator who navigates less than stellar news with sensitivity and tact while maintaining a positive attitude and focusing on what action steps can be taken. A real treat is that he is aware of the impact of 'mirroring' the patient's pace phrasing and point of view. Makes it fun to collaborate on my progress!
Dec 11, 2019
top notch
Nov 27, 2019
Dr Gubens gave the best explanation I have ever had about ny illness and what my options are
Nov 13, 2019
dr Gubens was thoughtful patient great bed side manners! he also did not rush us
Nov 10, 2019
Dr. Gubens is the best. Smart positive and encouraging oncologist. It is alway a pleasure to see him.
Nov 09, 2019
Dr. Gubens is not only a brilliant physician but a personable and caring person.
Nov 01, 2019
I'm extremely grateful to be under the excellent care of Dr. Gubens!!!
Oct 16, 2019
Never before has a Physician been willing to stay an hour after normal business hours just to make sure all points were covered and questions answered during a new patient exam. AMAZING!
Oct 14, 2019
I feel extremely fortunate to have an expert of Dr. Gubens' stature as my oncologist! And he explains everything thoroughly and in an easy-to-understand manner and fully addresses all my questions. I'm deeply grateful to be in such excellent and caring hands!
Oct 01, 2019
excellent comprehensive and coherent review of the illness and potential treatment scenarios
Sep 08, 2019
Iam visiting CA but Dr. Gubens treated me as a long term patient and gave me his e-mail etc.
Aug 28, 2019
excellent dorctor
Aug 27, 2019
he's great
Aug 27, 2019
A patient could never have asked to see a more intelligent and concerned doctor.
Aug 10, 2019
Dr. Gubens is amazing. he spent about 2 hours with us so that we could understand all the pluses and minuses of proceeding with chemo.
Jul 21, 2019
Dr. Gubens and his 3rd year resident were terrific. They spent a tremendous amount of time with me and explain things in great detail.
Jun 01, 2019
excellent Dr.
May 31, 2019
Dr. Gubens was compassionate knowledgable friendly and provided a very detailed honest assessment of my mom's condition. He spent an incredible amount of time with us even though it was late in the afternoon. We never felt rushed he listened to our questions and treated my mom with the utmost respect. He came highly recommended and we would highly recommend him to others.
Jan 10, 2019
Dr Gubens has been wonderful through the entire lung cancer experience. Honest supportive informative - I couldn't ask or more. He is a gem. I drive 6 hours each way to come to UCSF. I have utmost confidence in Dr Gubens and the UCSF Medical Facility.
Dec 20, 2018
Dr. Gubens is an exceptional physician. He is understanding--even sympathetic--speaks to the issues frankly but with compassion and has a really good bedside manner and sense of humor.
Dec 20, 2018
Dr Gubens is EXCELLENT in all ways.
Dec 12, 2018
great to have Dr. Gubens back from leave

Share