Have you and your family had your flu shot? It's more important than ever this year! Schedule via MyChart or call for an appointment in SF, the East Bay or San Mateo.
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Peter Carroll

MD

4.9

Overall Experience
368 reviews
About our process
Aug 09, 2020
Indicated an onsite appointment should be able to be set up over the next few weeks. Turns out it will be a month or more. Not a big issue but information was not correct.
Aug 04, 2020
not my focus but was fine
Jul 20, 2020
Dr. Carroll was the most overall impressive dr. We have ever met.
Jul 16, 2020
This was my first visit with the care provider and I was pleased with the way the meeting went and the tests he recommended for me. With regard to the time spent I would have liked to talk more about other areas related to my condition like nutritional supplements but understand he has thousands of patients and time is at a premium. Because much of my healthcare has been received outside of the UCSF system my available medical history was probably limited to the recent questionares I completed on MyChart.
Jun 30, 2020
Care provider did not use internet--he phoned me--which was GREAT.
Jun 30, 2020
They took excellent care of me and my help
Jun 28, 2020
Other doctors should be visible on the call. They are important too!
Jun 27, 2020
Dr. Carroll is an exceptional physician. Not only is he very knowledgeable and professional he's very kind and listens to you and if you have concerns he'll eases your concerns. Very delighted to have been referred to him.
Jun 25, 2020
I had to figure it out a bit but we did it!
Jun 24, 2020
Considering Dr. Carroll's specialty I would hope that I wouldn't have to recommend him to friends and family since I would prefer that they remain cancer-free
May 23, 2020
Very experienced v ed and knowledgeable
May 12, 2020
My wife and I are happy and relieved to be able to work with Dr. Carroll in resolving my medical issue.
Apr 11, 2020
Dr Carroll is very easy to understand and is a true professional in his field. I'm very comfortable with all of his recommendations and decisions.
Apr 10, 2020
Telehealth works so well it should become the standard and replace in-person visits when all test results are available.
Apr 03, 2020
I look forward to working with the doctor to complete my treatments
Feb 27, 2020
exceptional surgeon and patient care provider!
Dec 21, 2019
I feel my care is in extremely good hands with Dr. Carroll. I'm confident I will get the best outcome possible for my condition.
Dec 12, 2019
dr carroll is a very well respected leader in prostate cancer and its treatment.
Nov 28, 2019
I have already referred several people with same diagnosis and they were very pleased that they choose UCSF.
Nov 20, 2019
Very impressive!
Nov 13, 2019
Generally good relationships established. There was however a wait for the doctor to come to the examining room. Once in my discussions with the doctor(s) and the information with which I was provided could have benefitted from a more relaxed pace.
Nov 12, 2019
There were no medications or follow since this was a second opinion visit
Oct 09, 2019
Dr. Carroll was excellent.
Oct 01, 2019
Excellent
Oct 01, 2019
very fortunate to have this Dr for my medical needs.
Sep 24, 2019
Dr. Carroll was excellent in his help to guide me to a medical solution to my present problem.
Aug 20, 2019
It would help if Dr. Carroll could speak a little slower and double check what is being understood. It is a lot of info all at once and hard for the non-practitioner to digest (even though I consider myself pretty well informed)
Aug 17, 2019
Very professional.
Jul 14, 2019
Dr. Carroll is at the pinnacle of providers and is a role model for other physicians. He was punctual very familiar with the results of recent studies able to synthesize all the data into a recommended course of action in a smooth and understandable manner that instilled confidence in me and my wife. He has a personable approach in which he imparts a sense of you being the most important patient he has to care for in his practice. I'm grateful that he has been available to help me through what otherwise would have been a scary process in arriving at a treatment plan.
Jul 13, 2019
Dr. Carroll is the best provider anyone could hope to have overseeing their diagnosis and treatment. He epitomizes the model of an exceptional provider that all providers should strive to achieve.
Jun 02, 2019
Dr. Carroll is phenomenal! Not only is he extremely knowledgable and talented but in addition he tries to be very helpful in resolving any issues that I have..
May 31, 2019
During an examination before seeing Dr Carroll a physician asked about nodules then gave no indication of why he asked that question.He seemed to act as if his job was to oversee his student and not about me.This physician was not Dr Carroll
May 13, 2019
I consider myself very lucky to be in Dr. Carroll's care.
Apr 09, 2019
stellar care from a brilliant clinician
Apr 07, 2019
Dr. Carroll seems very competent. The entire UCSF process for handling me as a patient is quite bad and makes me strongly hesitate to recommend anybody to UCSF.
Apr 06, 2019
l believe Dr Carroll saved my life and he and his outstanding team will continue to offer me the best care there is.
Apr 02, 2019
Great physician with a subtle sense of humor.
Mar 23, 2019
The doctor could have spent more time and explained the condition is layman's terms.
Mar 20, 2019
After 10 minutes Dr. Carroll left the consulting room to get the opinion of another doctor about a crucial topic: whether the test result showing I have a cancer tumor on my vertebra was a false positive. He never returned or sent word about my case to me. I asked two different assistants to help me. They said they would find out the situation. They did not return or give me information. Altogether I spent 45 minutes waiting for Dr. Carroll to return. He did not. Nor has he sent me any information about the topic he said he would investigate for me. Perhaps something important delayed him. If so he should have sent me word. Also he should have informed after the visit what happened. His notes about the visit contain no mention of the matter he said he would investigate for me. I think he is probably an excellent doctor but he treated me dreadfully.
Jan 31, 2019
Again I wish I could spend all day talking with staff and Dr. but also know Dr Carroll and staff are in high demand so I try and keep small talk with lesser staff not that everyone is not important just feel receptionist vitals nurse techs etc probably have a little more time to chit chat.
Jan 10, 2019
Excellent medical care and concern.
Dec 26, 2018
I did not get a closure on the type of treatment we are going to follow in my case though three options of treatments for my disease was suggested. Eventhough we discussed about the three methods with individual experts in those areas during my visit was NOT able to finally conclude on this since I was not able to meet with Dr. Carroll after all the discussions with experts. Probably will have to schedule another appt. for this purpose now.
Dec 03, 2018
the antibiotics needed in preparation for my next procedure were not ordered
Nov 27, 2018
He just doesn't have much time. He stood up to leave after approximately 1:00 minute. I asked him to spend a little more time with me and he spent another couple of minutes.

Share