Have you and your family had your flu shot? It's more important than ever this year! Schedule via MyChart or call for an appointment in SF, the East Bay or San Mateo.
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Robert Bhisitkul

MD, PhD

4.5

Overall Experience
218 reviews
About our process
Aug 04, 2020
100% Confidence
Jul 22, 2020
I feel so incredibly lucky to have Dr. B assigned to my case. He's a marvelous doctor. (I know another physician who knows him and she said the same when I mentioned he was my retina specialist.) I was in great hands literally as he and his team performed a vitrectomy on my eye a couple of years ago.
Jun 20, 2020
I believe the provider had a resident/fellow/med student on the phone while talking to me however he did not let me know that that was the case. Doctors should inform their patients that someone else is listening in on the visit and notify you of who that person is.
Jun 11, 2020
Staff was very concerned about cleaning the area. Excellent staff I appreciated their concerns and safety issues.
May 26, 2020
Like I said before they seemed discombobulated I never saw the pictures of my eye as I usually do the women who took the pictures seemed new at best
May 12, 2020
Very brusque very rushed limited conversation - may be due to Covid 19 special procedures.
Mar 13, 2020
Dr. was very knowledgeable but spent very little time with me. I was there for a second opinion or to possibly change to this UCSF provider. He was knowledgeable but kind of glossed over my diagnosis. I was hoping for more time to discuss my options and prognosis.
Mar 12, 2020
not very much time spent with provider unfortunately. appointment with provider seemed rushed.
Feb 27, 2020
So for so good!
Feb 25, 2020
The system seems to be set up to maximize physicians time; with over lap of patients. This makes me hesitant to ask questions.
Dec 11, 2019
The provider was very good. The resident addressed me by first name though I had never met him previously. Given that I am much older than he this felt a bit disrespectful.
Nov 14, 2019
I am a doctor too so I have no trouble understanding my treatment and in conversing with my doctor. Nevertheless I think my care at this office is excellent and would be the same even if I were not a doctor.
Nov 09, 2019
all care received from provider during the the past year and 1/2 has always been spot on
Nov 07, 2019
THE DOCTOR DID NOT TALK MUCH ABOUT MEDICATIONS OR FOLLOWUPJUSY TAKING CARE OF ME AND PREVENTION OF BLINDNESS.
Nov 07, 2019
Outstanding provider
Oct 14, 2019
I completely trust Dr. B's skills and knowledge as a physician however during this visit (not unlike previous ones) it is hard for me to think of him as my doctor. When I ask for clarification about follow up and treatment he repeated his answer just a little louder. It is not a matter of vocabulary it is a matter of responding to my concerns about how I can deal - and the role of each medical practitioner - with the changes I'm experiencing some as a consequence of last year's surgery.
Aug 19, 2019
Care provider was curt in his responses and completely lacking in warmth and understanding. I recognize his expertise in his field and his academic accomplishments but I wish I had chosen another doctor in this field.
Jul 23, 2019
I had the assistant to the doctor rather than doctor do the treatment...prefer the doctor as he is much quicker and smoother...this treatment is awful. the assistant was better with the questions and info but much slower with the actual procedure.
Jul 23, 2019
He is clearly expert. He remembered my daughter's case (retinal tear) and showed concern. This was a very routine follow up appointment so we knew the drill and didn't really have any pressing questions of the physician. I feel very satisfied with him as a provider and as though we are in good hands. The resident who did an extensive exam before the provider was also great. The provider actually repeated the exam on the affected eye in a thorough manner. I really do feel that he knows what he is doing and that my daughter is in good hands.
Jul 09, 2019
I felt like my doctor was rushed and not interested in answering my questions that I had about my pain level due to my eye injections. He was dismissive about my pain problem. I had other questions also but never asked them because he was so rushed and not "present" during my visit. I don't know if I want to continue to be his patient at this point. I might ask for another physican in the group or I may look for care outside of UCSF All of my care is at UCSF and I've been very happy with my care there. My husband has been a long time [identity redacted] at UCSF and is a very good and compassionate doctor. I expect good and compassionate care at UCSF. Thank You [name redacted]
Apr 09, 2019
When he entered the examination room the care provider did not say hello. He proceeded to conduct a somewhat uncomfortable exam and spoke in a harsh tone. Virtually no time was allowed for questions I had.
Mar 19, 2019
all great
Feb 13, 2019
He did not spend enough time with me. I felt like he was running in between many patients. Never use UCSF for my eyes again. I will go to Stanford. I was treated with more respect and the provider spent more time with me. Please improve your service. I felt like I was wasting my time. I felt like this provider does not care about me and did not ask my input about the follow up.
Dec 18, 2018
Apparently an outstanding clinician. Recommended to us by Dr. [name redacted]. Extremely officious. "Bedside" manner horrendous.
Dec 06, 2018
good
Dec 05, 2018
The attending physician was good. But the fellow (or chief resident I can't remember) could improve in a number of ways. He made an assumption that I was interested in surgery which I was not. He smiled a lot but I don't feel like he really listened to me. He put in eyedrops but did not offer a tissue (the nurse had also put in drops and DID offer a tissue). My eyes were dilated and when he left the room after interviewing me he left the lights on full blast. He patted my knee and told me everything was fine when he was done. I did not like having my knee patted. It felt condescending.
Nov 17, 2018
good

Share