Have you and your family had your flu shot? It's more important than ever this year! Schedule via MyChart or call for an appointment in SF, the East Bay or San Mateo.
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Robert C. Kersten

MD

4.6

Overall Experience
211 reviews
About our process
Aug 02, 2020
All good no complains.
Jul 09, 2020
Like mentioned before - I don't think the dr really listened to me. He formed his opinion & didn't really hear what I had to say or take time to look back into my chart.
Jun 18, 2020
Great he kept me informed throughout the whole procedure.
Jun 12, 2020
was able to get an appointment two months earlier than I was expecting. thank you.
May 27, 2020
I'm still not entirely comfortable with having the surgery Dr. Kersten has recommended. I understand he's the expert but he hasn't explained enough to me why he feels the surgery will be successful.
May 13, 2020
The telehealth app worked very well.
Mar 04, 2020
Still waiting to get information about future proceedure
Feb 28, 2020
Dr. recommended a second surgery and discussed the probability of success without reviewing why the first surgery had not been effective. That is a little troubling. I wish he could have taken a little more time with me.
Feb 07, 2020
the care provider did not listen to my concerns about my problem or explain risks with the surgery. he also tried to schedule the surgery without asking if I would be available at that time.
Jan 08, 2020
The physician was very helpful however there were two residents (?) in the room so he used medical jargon with them and didn't explain in non-technical terms to me. I had to ask for translation several times; it wasn't a great example for the residents of how to communicate with a patient. I felt a little like a subject.
Dec 27, 2019
Dr. Kersten is so personable. I highly recommend him. He should teach classes to other doctors on how to treat patients.
Nov 20, 2019
Dr. Kersten has been outstanding to work with .
Nov 12, 2019
Dr. Kersten did not give me a diagnosis but referred me for x-rays.
Oct 02, 2019
Excellent Service!
Aug 25, 2019
Excellent Service!
Jul 18, 2019
Very good experience
Jun 01, 2019
the only thing that went wrong is theat they is the call ion the pharmacy fir prescription
May 10, 2019
All care providers were exceptionally decent. I don't think it matters much though. Better they are knowledgeable and efficient.
Apr 26, 2019
The doctor didn't bother to go into any details about the procedure. I realize he was running late but I cannot go through with the procedure with so little information. I am currently looking for another doctor.
Apr 19, 2019
Dr. Kersten and Dr. [name redacted] have been taking care of me for the past twenty months. They have both given me excellent care. Dr. Kersten's team of doctors nurses and staff are all professionals and dedicated to patient care.
Apr 05, 2019
I have great confidence in Dr. Kersten - otherwise I wouldn't agree to the surgery or treatment.
Mar 31, 2019
not enough time with me as usual
Mar 01, 2019
Dr.kersten has nothing less than respect and gratitude from me.
Feb 06, 2019
I've been a RN since 1976 - I know an outstanding physician when Insee one - that's Dr. Kersten! now once again the Fellow who saw me first was NOT impressive. He showed little concern / compassion - if ANY. Bad news for his future patients. But I have complete confidence in Dr. Kersten!
Jan 26, 2019
good
Jan 05, 2019
Administrative processes could be improved that would be valuable for specialists other clinical staff front desk staff and patients. The care itself is excellent. Some aspects of the front end are excellent. Text reminders of appointments for example. Perhaps some thought given to how to manage front desk flow on days when many drs seeing patients and how to easily make/change appointments.
Dec 19, 2018
My concerns about my appointment were around understanding the best way to manage my condition before my next appointment. The instructions on how to manage it were not as clear as I wanted them to be and I felt like I didn't have a chance to get all of my questions answered. I didn't need Dr. Kersten to provide me with the specific details - it would have been nice if a nurse or tech could have spent some time with me after I saw Dr. Kersten to ensure I understood the next steps before my next appointment.
Dec 14, 2018
Too short of time with Doctor

Share