Have you and your family had your flu shot? It's more important than ever this year! Schedule via MyChart or call for an appointment in SF, the East Bay or San Mateo.
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Saras Ramanathan

MD

4.8

Overall Experience
258 reviews
About our process
Jul 18, 2020
excellent and with wonderful bedside manner
Jul 16, 2020
I am fortunate to have such good treatment.
Jul 01, 2020
How fortunate I am to have this ophthalmologist operating on my cataracts. I have complete confidence in this physician as well as UC Medical Center. Her professionalism and humanity is apparent and I am honored to have her caring for me.
Jun 20, 2020
As I write in my previous section Dr. Ramanathan is highly knowledgeable highly experienced. Best of the best in her class. Very friendly courteous very thorough and explains everything that needs to be informed. My experience was very good with her! I walked out very satisfied that my care was in good hands.
Jun 17, 2020
After visit summary could have included more detail i.e. length of time to take medication/ drops.
Jun 01, 2020
good experience no problems ...just another day at work!!!
May 07, 2020
much of my communication is via message on mychart.
May 06, 2020
+++
Mar 13, 2020
Dr. Ramanathan has an exceptional mix of expertise experience and a special personal touch.
Mar 07, 2020
You cannot surpass excellence. I am so lucky to have UC tending to my health. My mood certainly improved after my cataract work up as I have such trust and confidence in Dr. Ramanathan and the UC resident medical student and technicians who assisted her.
Mar 05, 2020
excellent
Feb 25, 2020
The doctor is a highly skilled caring humane empathetic. and sensitive person who has superior medical and interpersonal skills. She works hard to meet and understand patients in their particular social contexts and to address and alleviate their fears feelings of isolation and loneliness. She also listens highly respects and incorporates patients' needs desires and decisions in every step of the process. She is a terrific doctor that a patient wishes could be a part of all of the person's medical procedures and teams. She cannot be thanked enough for her humane and excellent manner work and service. She is a model for all physicians and surgeons in current medical systems and structures..
Feb 22, 2020
Dr [name redacted] and Dr Ramanathan are great Doctors. They are both great listeners knowledgeable and very compassionate empathic and personable.
Feb 22, 2020
Waited 1.5 hours saw provide for 5 minutes
Feb 09, 2020
They are respectful informed courteous The very best. thank you.
Jan 08, 2020
Dr. Ramanathan is fabulous fabulous fabulous! [name redacted] is amazing! What a great care team!!!
Oct 30, 2019
Everything was great.
Oct 07, 2019
I don't want to recommend Dr Ramanathan only because I want to keep her to myself (yes selfish). She is an amazing doctor however and I realize that's why she's so busy.
Oct 02, 2019
Dr Ramanathan is that rare surgeon that actually holds a conversation with you and invites your questions. i am grateful for her skill and kindness
Oct 02, 2019
excellent provider but never on time
Sep 24, 2019
way too long and repetitive
Sep 21, 2019
Dr. Ramanathan was effusive and friendly immediately putting me at ease. She has excellent people skills. I was not impressed with her mentee.
Sep 18, 2019
We love Dr. Ramanathan
Aug 06, 2019
provider is skilled and thorough.
Jul 27, 2019
doctor is over-booked and wait times for all patients seems to be extra long
Jul 22, 2019
Dr. Ramanathan eased my anxiety around the laser procedure.
Jul 19, 2019
The provider explained my choices and was quick to accept my decision but seemed to be disappointed in it. Now days later I am concerned that I have not made the best decision.
Jul 14, 2019
My confidence in this provider goes beyond very good
Jul 11, 2019
Care and coordination by this team has been consistently excellent.
Jun 27, 2019
The good doctor has too many patients. An appointment needs to be very far in advance. Get her some help soon!
Jun 15, 2019
Dr Ramanathan is so skilled so I had complete confidence in the surgery she performed on me. She is easy to relate to and gives comprehensive explanations on why she recommends treatment.
Jun 04, 2019
See previous comment. Based on skill would recommend this care provider without hesitation. But the clinic is so poorly run it's horrible.
Jun 01, 2019
I did not actually see the care provider on this visit but saw a resident instead
May 01, 2019
I did recommend this provider to my husband and he too is pleased with her care.
Mar 21, 2019
Doctor is excellent. Nurses are compassionate. Admin personnel are indifferent rude incompetent apathetic.
Mar 03, 2019
one of the best
Feb 03, 2019
As I eluded to in my prior answers the actual care I received was outstanding. However the process of getting to that care was less than ideal due to poor communication about the appointment process (by all) and a generally non-welcoming environment at reception.
Jan 24, 2019
Dr. Ramanathan and her resident Dr. [name redacted] are great doctors. I get very nervous and anxious and going to medical appts is hard for me but both these doctors make me feel very comfortable. They are kind knowledgeable and very patient despite all my questions. I like them both very much!
Jan 12, 2019
Exceptional communication skills from MD.
Dec 12, 2018
poor office
Nov 21, 2018
would not want a friend to experience what I did just to get an appointment
Nov 15, 2018
The scheduler only scheduled my in person translator for 15 minutes for a 2 hour visit. Resorted to video translation which I do not like.
Nov 11, 2018
Dr Ramanathan and Dr [name redacted] have both been the very best! I can't say enough good things about them both.

Share