Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Siegrid Yu

MD

4.8

Overall Experience
470 reviews
About our process
Jul 10, 2020
very busy but had lots of support staff so no problem
Jul 03, 2020
I'm really grateful to have Dr. Yu as my derm surgeon. She is very knowledgeable and competent and I feel safe in her hands trusting her completely. Dr. Yu is always kind approachable and informative. I appreciate her bedside manner and the fact that she always remembers me. I have had several surgeries with Dr. Yu and none of them have been particularly straight forward. It is neat to experience her guidance in teaching the residents/fellows working with her as well because my excisions are always complicated. I would recommend Dr. Yu to anyone in a heartbeat. She is excellent.
Jun 26, 2020
This was my biggest disappointment. Dr Yu didn't talk with me or spend any time discussing things with me. The other doctors and nurses asked if I had concerns. Dr Yu did the first 2 cuts observed the 3rd and other doctors closed me up. I had no relationship with Dr Yu. I wish someone had set my expectations that I would be treated yesterday by a team of doctors (at least 3 different ones).
Jun 26, 2020
Dr. Yu was is wonderfu
Jun 12, 2020
I was not prepared that the procedure would take so long be so difficult. No encouragement or updates during procedure.
May 13, 2020
My experience with Dr. Yu couldn't have been better. And results were awesome no bruising and not much swelling minimal pain. I liked her manner and quiet competence very much and appreciated the gift of a YoYo Ma performance during stitching time.
Apr 13, 2020
My appt with Dr Yu was so perfect despite getting surgery on my face and it being cancerous she was reassuring confident and professional. I've survived melanoma in the past and this is less but still serious but she put me at ease and was professional to the point efficient and left me with confidence in her abilities
Mar 14, 2020
All mof the above applies not only to Dr. Yu but also to Dr. [name redacted] who participated in the surgery to an important extent. I was very happy with his treatment of me.
Mar 12, 2020
superb care
Mar 06, 2020
Dr Yu is fantastic
Mar 06, 2020
Dr. Yu is an extremely skilled and accomplished dermatologic Mohs surgeon. UCSF is very fortunate to have her on staff.
Mar 04, 2020
dr was great but the resident was amazing
Mar 03, 2020
I'm not sure an in-person consultation appointment should really be required before a MOHS surgery. A quick call or video chat would have been perfectly sufficient vs. requiring the patient to book time from work travel across town etc just to basically have the procedure explained (~5 mins) and then schedule the actual surgery. Would be more efficient for all involved just to have a quick call.
Feb 25, 2020
I wish providers (there were 2 surgeons involved) had described in detail the strategy they decided upon for closing the wound/ making incisions after my skin surgery. I overheard them talk to each other as they decided on the strategy but they did not explain to me directly what that would entail. I figured some of it out indirectly by overhearing them read the measurements in centimeters of the incisions they had already made--which is different from explaining why they had to take that approach and why they believed it was my best option.
Feb 15, 2020
My experience with specialists in general is not good. Dr Yu was the most approachable one I have interacted with. However she did very little of the actual procedure and very little of the communicating. Most of that was done by a fellow at the hospital who was great. I had every confidence in Dr. Yu I just didn't have much face time with her.
Feb 11, 2020
Care Provider is fantastic. UCSF is very lucky to have this care provider
Jan 11, 2020
Impressed by both Dr Yu and Dr [name redacted] professionalism and bedside manner.
Dec 22, 2019
these procedures are expensive and i will have to take a very longtime to raise the money
Dec 19, 2019
i think her conclusions were correct - that the only procedure to reduce deep lines around my mouth was extreme for the improvement I would get but I wish she had been less perfunctory and spent a bit more time with me. I did trust the information she provided
Dec 10, 2019
Overall I had a very good experience with the doctor and the office. However I have a significant issue with my care that I need to give feedback on. I had Mohs surgery on my face. I did a lot of research and chose the doctor I did because she was the best in the field. She did the Mohs surgery. When it came time to do the skin graft on my face another doctor did it. I didn't find out that my doctor wouldn't do the surgery until I had a hole in my face I was 7 hours into the day and 4 different people walked into the room and one wasn't the doctor I chose. The doctor who did the surgery was a wonderful person but not the doctor I chose. I feel like I got bait and switched with plastic surgery on my face!
Dec 06, 2019
The named care provider was assisted by an MD fellow who really did the bulk of the work while the care provider supervised. Both were excellent.
Nov 27, 2019
I consider Dr.Yu the care provider thus the above refer to her regarding the second visit .Care provider seemed to defer to a visiting Fellow Doctor who did the examination and biopsy. I did not feel the provider during visit #2 was very engaged in the process only marginally..In the first visit yes but not in the 2nd. The other Dr.was very nice and informative but I was referred to Dr. Yu and expected her to be the primary interface. I am sure Dr Yu is a good provider .It is just that she seemed removed from the process
Nov 12, 2019
Very impressed with Dr. Yu and her assisting Physician in this initial meeting. This clinic was refereed by my normal gemologist for further evaluation of skin cancer and potential treatment following a biopsy. The receptionist or whomever it was from UCSF who called me initially confused me as she was scheduling surgery without any Dr. consultation on why the rush to surgery or if needed . She then did set up a consultation with Dr. Yu and it was clear that was necessary as even the Dr. was not certain yet that surgery was needed. She will consult with my Dermologist and I see Dr Yu again in 3 weeks.
Nov 07, 2019
I needed MOHS surgery. My Derm MD referred me to her. She had done surgery on me in the past.
Nov 04, 2019
Dr. Yu is outstanding!
Nov 01, 2019
Dr Yu made sure that my questions were answered. She assembled a remarkable team for my procedure
Oct 14, 2019
Would recommend the doctor as an individual but NOT the clinic
Oct 10, 2019
The attending (Siegrid Yu) left pretty much everything to the fellow. It would have been better if she had paid more personal/professional attention to the procedure.
Oct 08, 2019
Wonderful experience with provider and fellow. Both gave adequate time in explanation of procedure post treatment care and follow-up. Felt like I was respected.
Oct 06, 2019
dr yu is incredibly skillful and respectful of patient's concerns
Sep 20, 2019
very professional and thorough.
Sep 17, 2019
very positive in a. aspects
Sep 07, 2019
I'm now seeking a dermatologist outside of UCSF - that should tell you how satisfied I am with this experience.
Aug 30, 2019
wonderful careful almost painless removal of stitches
Aug 15, 2019
Dr. Yu is a very caring and compassionate Doctor.
Aug 15, 2019
doctor did great job with surgery and very competent. communication from staff could be better regarding wait times etc.
Jul 23, 2019
Dr. Yu was very friendly obviously knew her specialty well and wasted no time getting right to the details and explaining them well. she was patient in answering any questions I had and instilled a lot of confidence in me regarding the surgery and it's outcome.
Jul 20, 2019
I really appreciated Dr Yu and would readily recommend her to others. She is professional yet approachable. Respectful...and above all competent.
Jul 18, 2019
would like to explore other options besides surgery. that seems to be the first and only solution proposed by dermatologist surgeons. hoping to explore new therapies and see what other options are available besides cutting my face up.
Jul 01, 2019
Dr. Yu is an excellent provider. She is highly skilled in her specialty is an excellent teacher of Residents and Fellows and an excellent clinician in building relationships with her patients.
Jun 27, 2019
Dr. Yu is very skilled and also kind. A pleasure...
Jun 20, 2019
each time care provider asks if any changes in meds...I reply by listing current meds but print out after visit does not indicate the current meds.. why do this if it is not to be part of record?
Jun 16, 2019
wished there had been a bit more time to discuss basal cell carcinoma biology but realise the docs are very busy
Jun 02, 2019
Dr. Yu is most skilled in her specialty field.
May 22, 2019
First class experience.
May 19, 2019
Dr. Siegrid Yu is a fabulous surgeon and I trust her entirely and am very satisfied with her surgery and her care. Many thanks.
May 14, 2019
dr. yu didnt actually do the procedure. It was done by another doctor and I was satisfied
May 08, 2019
Derm Surg rocks.
May 07, 2019
Provider was good as was the staff. But the office seemed to be very disorganized and behind schedule.
May 07, 2019
overall very good experience!
Apr 30, 2019
I Went to UCSF for removal and biopsy of a basal cell growth on my neck. The entire staff was very efficient and friendly throughout the procedure.
Apr 03, 2019
The care provider was a little bit intimidating. She made me feel a bit uncomfortable and embarrassed about my problem.
Mar 16, 2019
not enough discussion of risks and benefits of different treatment options from a long term perspective
Mar 08, 2019
During the operation she kept me informed about what was happening which kept me reassured about the operation.
Jan 11, 2019
outstanding physician
Dec 27, 2018
Dr. Yu and thye Fellow [name redacted] were kind and considerate and most importantly excellent surgeons.
Dec 09, 2018
Dr Yu is excellent. It's the outdated malfunctioning equipment and tacky treatment rooms that are the reason for the low rating.
Dec 05, 2018
Superlative in every aspect.
Dec 02, 2018
my only concern was the lack of preparation for the pain post biopsy and clear recommendations for pain meds and what to expect post biopsy.
Nov 17, 2018
caregiver and staff are phenomenal. excellent staff.
Nov 09, 2018
Good experience

Share