Skip to Main Content
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Siegrid S. Yu

MD

4.7

Overall Experience
474 reviews
About our process
Mar 20, 2022
Dr. Yu is an amazing surgeon and very caring and considerate
Mar 07, 2022
I was surprised that the surgery was done by the Fellow and not Dr. Yu. The doctor seemed very expert so I don't expect any problems and I'm hoping that the result will be as good as if Dr. Yu had done the surgery. Since my son and my former husband are physicians I acknowledge that training is important however it would be good when booking the appointment to be appraised that the doctor may not be doing the surgery.
Mar 06, 2022
See my earlier explanation of the situation
Mar 04, 2022
Dr. Yu & staff made sure I understood everything that was happening to me & how to treat myself after my surgery.
Mar 03, 2022
Dr. Yu hovered near the doorway. I was given the impression she barely had time for me. She seemed like she was dropping in momentarily while on her way to a more important commitment. She had no bedside manner. Dr Klufas seemed more engaged and willing to listen. I was made uncomfortable by Dr. Yu's lack of engagement and concern.
Mar 03, 2022
It was fine as I have had the procedure before and dlready knew the risks and considerations
Mar 03, 2022
Not really offering other ideas for removing skin blemishes. Just there to perform a service.
Feb 18, 2022
Dr. Yu only saw me for a few seconds before and after the surgery. She said nothing to me. Even though I was sched to have her perform the surgery to remove Melanoma in situ. She handed me off to her resident who was great. But I did not fine this very professional. That said her resident was nice considerate and professional in every way.
Feb 08, 2022
Everyone was very professional kind and considerate
Feb 08, 2022
Pharmacy for medication after surgery was not verified during visit or after subsequent multiple voicemails left during office hours
Dec 30, 2021
There was no direct communication between me and the primary care provider Dr. Yu.
Dec 29, 2021
The complaint is with the fellowship doctor and not for the surgeon so its hard to answer these questions. I thought everything was fine until the end. She should have better communicated with me regarding such a long delay in stitching me up. Better communication in the problem getting pain medication.
Dec 03, 2021
Dr. Yu is a great doctor and an excellent care-giver. I trust her.
Nov 26, 2021
Seamless teamwork throughout.
Nov 21, 2021
Provider only told me what the treatment options were but did not tell me how it would be executed any concerns or side effects prep steps or alternatives. Spent very little time with me I had to call back to get prep information from the nurses. I read in the AVS all the details I needed to hear which to her credit was very detailed but she never actually shared those details with me. It was very misleading for her to say she shared details when they were never shared.
Nov 11, 2021
Excellent care
Nov 09, 2021
Again I was first surprised to be seen by a resident before seeing this provider. No one had Informed this would happen. Provider walked in referring to me as the person with "symptom". I understand that my case is complex and that I don't have a diagnosis and that my case is medically interesting. I also understand that the provider meant no harm. Still I felt objectified in the moment. I also felt vulnerable expressing how I felt since there's a big power differential. I have dealing with issue for over 9 months am in discomfort and pain and desperate to get diagnosis and treatment/relief. I am hoping care this provider will provide will help on diagnosis and treatment. Though this symptom or issue is what brought me in to see provider I am a whole person with a complex life like we all have. I am not my symptom. I laughed It off In the moment and said my name to the provider in an effort to convey the above message without derailing the appointment. The provider did speak to me and did listen to me when I spoke. Often provider was talking about my issue with the resident. At those times I felt I wasn't Included in the discussion and was talked about. I had to speak up and ask clarifying questions or express concerns. When I did the provider answered me thoroughly. Provider was respectful showed care/concern and seems knowledgeable. I am sharing my experience in the hope that providers can see how they impact patients. It would be helpful to be given after care instructions for upcoming procedure. Or at least a list of care items needed (eg bandages gauze..) so that patients could procure these before their upcoming procedures and not after).
Nov 03, 2021
Dr. Yu was professional confident and approachable. I felt that I was in expert hands from the first appointment until my procedure had been completed. Dr. Yu's team was also competent and friendly.My overall experience during this stressful time was exceptional. I couldn't be happier that I sought out Dr. Yu and I would highly recommend her to anyone in the future with an applicable need.
Nov 02, 2021
My entire experience regarding my Moh's procedure was excellent. I could not have felt better taken care of than I was by the provider the provider's accompanying associate the nurses and the staff. Smooth start to finish.
Nov 02, 2021
This is my third Mohs surgery with Dr Yu whom I now always request because of her care professionalism and outrageously expert stitching abilities. I've recommend friends with basal cell skin cancer to her too.
Oct 21, 2021
The whole team was great.
Oct 08, 2021
The doctor was very competent but her personality was not the greatest. Not overly friendly not mean. Maybe a little cold would best describe her. Would I go back to her? Absolutely. I just prefer my providers to be more friendly and jovial.
Oct 02, 2021
Clinician was highly recommended by another doctor which is why I came to see her. While the fellow came in first to understand my situation and shared the findings with my doctor prior to seeing me she did not greet me or ask me about my history or reason for seeing her to validate the fellows briefing. She came In and told me what they could do for some of the Issues I wanted to address but did not tell me how each method would work or the experience. She did not tell me how to prep for the appointment or how to aftercare. She prescribed some treatments but also did not tell me how to use It or how the treatments will work. Overall a lot more communication would be appreciated.The fellow was very kind polite respectful and thorough in his examination
Oct 01, 2021
I would recommend Dr. Yu because I felt she did a great job with the MOHS procedure and reconstruction of my ear. I just wish I had been better prepared for what was to come next and that when I had concerns about pain and bandaging there would have been someone to speak with.
Aug 23, 2021
It's difficult to rate until after surgery.
Jul 27, 2021
Most of the interactions were with the provider's trainee / fellow who was in her 3rd week of her fellowship rather than with the provider herself. I would have preferred greater supervision at this stage of the fellow's training.
Jul 08, 2021
Dr. S. Yu is an excellent doctor. She is calm listens intelligently while make eye contact empathetic and articulate. In addition she is a meticulous surgeon very refined technique. I greatly appreciate her.
Jul 06, 2021
Dr. Yu is a wonderful and competent provider.
Jun 20, 2021
all good
Jun 20, 2021
Dr. Yu is an outstanding provider and an exemplary human being.
Jun 11, 2021
the care provider recommended we leave an open wound for a few months as the best healing option.. if that is the best option which is frankly VERY hard to believe.. then I will work with it. the care provider then repeated the options she could not perform in great detail. (for no apparent reason than to feel justified in her initial assessment that the alternative treatment I sought in 2019 would not work). I sought that treatment to avoid giant scars and am coming to get mohs surgery out NEED not want. the care provider has an impressive lack of empathy for the trauma I have endured with my condition and just how very hard it was for me to come in yesterday. the student doctors I have seen have been 1000x more compassionate than the director and that is sad. (this is not even touching on the fact that she has refused to talk with me about many aspects of this affliction in the past)
Jun 04, 2021
The doctors and support staff know their roles well
Jun 01, 2021
After surgery bandaging was explained to me and what to do if I had any concerns.
May 27, 2021
dr. yu was very concerned to be sure i understood that the procedure could leave a scar...i said i was not concerned. dr. yu was very willing to discuss the procedure and any follow up needed.
May 27, 2021
Care was great Access was a big problem
May 24, 2021
I was not prepared for the level of pain and time needed for recovery of the mohs surgery on my scalp.
May 21, 2021
Dr. Yu is my favorite derm surgery provider. I always like to have her do the work.
May 20, 2021
Dr. Sun was very warm and friendly in her approach and communication. Dr Yu is more soft spoken and at times I had a hard time understanding her with the mask on. During the procedure my eyes were covered. It was difficult to tell whether they were talking among themselves or to me. It would have been helpful to have them use my name if they were speaking to me. Describing what they were doing as they did it during the actual surgery would have been helpful. Post surgery I would have appreciated more information about the size and complexity of my tumor and actions I should take to avoid future recurrence or things to be on watch for that might indicate another site of carcinoma. .
May 20, 2021
Did not get an after visit summary printed up before I left but I knew I could see it in My Chart later
May 14, 2021
As mentioned earlier the care provider is extremely intelligent listens well is kind is an excellent diagnostician recommended use of a product and involved me in her discussion and discussed pros and cons fully. She is friendly and courteous.
Apr 16, 2021
Everyone with whom I had contact was extremely professional and caring.
Apr 16, 2021
Excellent
Apr 07, 2021
Follow up care for the graft site was missing from my instructions. Information was not provided on how to cut the bandaging to fit a site I was unable to see as it was inside my ear.
Mar 18, 2021
Get some education support staff
Mar 10, 2021
I sent Dr Yu a letter after my procedure with a suggestion regarding better pain management protocols. that would have made my visit even better.
Mar 05, 2021
The consultation with Dr. Yu was excellent.
Mar 04, 2021
This was a consultation on how to treat my condition and I was very pleased to have it explained and to be offered options as to how to proceed. I was not pressured one way or another and ultimately took the option that I thought best based on the doctor's input.
Mar 03, 2021
My treatment was straightforward and did not leave room for options. I went specifically to UCSF/Dr. Yu for this treatment.
Feb 26, 2021
This was the best hospital experience I've ever had
Jan 26, 2021
Dr. Yu and her team were very professional and answered all my questions and explained thoroughly all the steps of the procedure.
Jan 22, 2021
Dr. Yu was the primary doctor but her resident team did most of the interactions so it's difficult to completely attribute the remarks to her solely. The team was very good!
Dec 27, 2020
Dr. Yu and her team made me very comfortable and made my whole experience as close to enjoyable as a surgical procedure could possibly be.
Dec 26, 2020
good
Dec 11, 2020
Much of my visit and my treatment was by a specialist fellow - who was extremely kind and did a great job on the procedures under the supervision of Dr. Yu.
Dec 04, 2020
Exceptional attention to patient care.
Nov 20, 2020
most contact with a mes student
Nov 20, 2020
It was good medical treatment but too much waiting between surgeries
Nov 06, 2020
The care provider and her team were very professional and gave me confidence in their expertise. This was my first time to have a MOHS procedure and I was quite nervous about it but my fears were soon abated.
Oct 25, 2020
VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE ALL THE WAY THROUGH
Oct 04, 2020
The physician listened to me & was amazed at my detail about my condition. The physcian gave me clarity on what I should be aware of and what I should monitor going forward.
Sep 19, 2020
Dr. Yu has a quiet easy & professional manner very likable as is her team.
Aug 21, 2020
Extremely professional and friendly doctors
Aug 21, 2020
I asked a general dermatology related question that the doctor dismissed as if it was beneath her skill set. she could have been more polite about it.
Aug 19, 2020
No meds were involved and to be honest with everyone wearing masks it was hard to tell who was working on/with me since I saw approximately four different staff people including I believe one other doctor.
Aug 09, 2020
good
Aug 07, 2020
I love Dr. Yu! I feel so fortunate to have her as my derm surgeon. She is so great at what she does. I trust her completely and know I'm in the best hands. Skills knowledge bedside manner - it's all excellent. I would recommend her to anyone in a heartbeat.
Jul 17, 2020
Very professional team. Best hospital experience in a long time.
Jul 15, 2020
Very good but very busy and appts are very short
Jul 10, 2020
very busy but had lots of support staff so no problem
Jul 03, 2020
I'm really grateful to have Dr. Yu as my derm surgeon. She is very knowledgeable and competent and I feel safe in her hands trusting her completely. Dr. Yu is always kind approachable and informative. I appreciate her bedside manner and the fact that she always remembers me. I have had several surgeries with Dr. Yu and none of them have been particularly straight forward. It is neat to experience her guidance in teaching the residents/fellows working with her as well because my excisions are always complicated. I would recommend Dr. Yu to anyone in a heartbeat. She is excellent.
Jun 26, 2020
This was my biggest disappointment. Dr Yu didn't talk with me or spend any time discussing things with me. The other doctors and nurses asked if I had concerns. Dr Yu did the first 2 cuts observed the 3rd and other doctors closed me up. I had no relationship with Dr Yu. I wish someone had set my expectations that I would be treated yesterday by a team of doctors (at least 3 different ones).
Jun 26, 2020
Dr. Yu was is wonderfu
Jun 12, 2020
I was not prepared that the procedure would take so long be so difficult. No encouragement or updates during procedure.

Share