Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Sigurd H. Berven

MD

4.8

Overall Experience
440 reviews
About our process
Feb 23, 2021
I came to see Dr. Berven for a second opinion. I quickly realized that UCSF and Dr. Berven should have been my first stop. He spent a lot of time with me and truly understood my prior health problems and condition. He spent time reading over my medical records before seeing me and had an excellent idea for next steps. I left feeling like he was going to do everything possible to help me and end the pain. It was the first time I have felt hopeful in a very long time. Thank you....
Feb 12, 2021
Dr. Berven always asks questions and listens to everything we have to say and he takes time explaining in detail. He shows so much interest and compassion and never leaves without answering every question.
Feb 09, 2021
Dr. Berven an experienced surgeon informed us of the danger of performing spinal surgery with my severe osteoporosis.
Jan 14, 2021
Changed the surgery from non-invasive to another big fusion surgery at last minute.
Jan 08, 2021
I never experiences such a care and information from any care giver. I'm very happy with my visit!
Dec 15, 2020
Dr Berven is fantastic.
Dec 13, 2020
provider seemed very busy and needed to get on to the next patient which I understand. I didn't feel I had his full attention. Multiple questions I asked him was answered with " my staff will answer that for you" It would of been really nice if he ended the visit with "is there any other questions or concerns I can answer for you" I know these visits are very routine for him but they are a big deal for me. He seemed like nice guy and could easily be a 5 star doctor if he put himself in the shoes of the patient for just a few minutes. I would like to give him a 5 star rating but honestly a 4 star is what I would give him. I'm hoping he was just having an off day and is really a 5star doc.
Dec 11, 2020
dr Berven and all of his staff are top of the line and have always been respectful and helpful. they are a wonderful group of people that care about their patients
Nov 12, 2020
Re Dr Berven: Confidence related to change in prognosis from previous meeting
Oct 17, 2020
There was no discussion about prescriptions.
Oct 14, 2020
Top Notch
Oct 01, 2020
visit too rushed
Sep 24, 2020
dr. berven is always patient informative and very kind during our visits. he always gives plenty of time to listen to my questions and concerns and takes time to answer everything.
Sep 18, 2020
Dr. Berven is a 'miracle worker' - excellent surgical outcome friends and family cannot believe that after having 9 vertebrae fused that I have no pain and am able to move so well.
Sep 05, 2020
All staff and doctor where outstanding and GREAT !!
Jun 25, 2020
so happy I have this person for my Doctor
Jun 20, 2020
Dr. Berven is obviously an excellent doctor; however I went away with no idea of what would be happening next with my care. He was going to take my case to a Wed. meeting with other doctors and asked me to get 2 tests. I guess I'll find out what's next after I get the tests.
Jun 13, 2020
The visit that I had with Dr. Berven and his staff was the best I have had in any medical care
Jun 10, 2020
Dr. Berven is excellent in all aspects of everything he does. I recommend him and the spine center to anyone I talk to that is considering back surgery.
May 31, 2020
this is the third time I believe I've seen the doctor in 2 years. he's very encouraging about my progress or lack of progress in the degree of my scoliosis.
May 23, 2020
Great service and a caring attitude.
May 09, 2020
Dr. Berven is an excellent doctor!
Mar 11, 2020
Dr. Berven gave me my life back. I am in awe of his skill as a surgeon.
Feb 15, 2020
Dr. Berven is very thorough in his explanations. He even demonstrated exercises for me to do.
Feb 11, 2020
Good rapport.
Feb 10, 2020
Resident or fellow not the best. Didn't tell me who he was. No name tag or lab coat. Needed help w bedside manner
Jan 17, 2020
Dr. seemed a bit weary. But answered any questions I had. He did not remember the reason for my original consultation which surprised me.
Jan 16, 2020
Dr. Berven's skill experience and empathy were top notch. He seemed a bit rushed at this appointment but made sure that PA [name redacted] was available to answer my many questions. I do have tremendous confidence in Dr. Berven and would unhesitatingly recommend him to anyone needing assistance with spinal conditions such as mine.
Jan 07, 2020
I learned more about the spine in this one visit than I have learned over the last eight years which included three major back surgeries not performed at this facility.
Dec 31, 2019
UCSF is the only place I will go in regards to my specific needs.
Dec 22, 2019
I was referred to Dr Berven by Dr [name redacted] of S.O.A.R. to discuss lumbar surgery. Both Dr [name redacted]? ( a new resident ) and Dr Berven were very patient & caring.I'm [age redacted] years old and I cannot remember having more caring doctors. I wish ALL doctors were like them!
Nov 19, 2019
We consider Dr. Berven and his team to be the very best and would definitely recommend Dr. Berven to anyone we know
Nov 06, 2019
informative
Nov 05, 2019
good
Oct 31, 2019
I have recommended USCF Spine Center a number of times. This is an amazing team.
Oct 12, 2019
great experience
Oct 09, 2019
Dr. Berven is gracious; explaining everything and listening to my concerns and questions.
Oct 08, 2019
very good experience in all aspects
Oct 07, 2019
Dr. Berven was thorough and complete about listening to and answering my questions about my lumbar spinal problems. He performed surgery before this appointment that addressed & corrected my problems to the best extent & in this meeting he followed up by answering my questions & concerns. He carefully assessed the improvements & changes to my symptoms after the surgery in this meeting. Dr. Berven is a bright thorough compassionate & patient doctor
Sep 14, 2019
Great experience!
Aug 31, 2019
Doctor was tired at end of day and did not clarify that assistant would not be available after meeting with doctor. We thought we were there for a consultation and quickly ended up at surgery as the answer.
Aug 27, 2019
Dr. Berven is the one of the best physicians I've ever seen
Aug 23, 2019
Dr. Berven saved me from paralysis in the past when other providers I had seen did not seem to care he is the best!
Aug 22, 2019
Dr. Berven was so caring. I felt very confident about what he was saying. I felt reassured with him.
Aug 20, 2019
I was at the end of a tough group of patients. he was terrific by the time I left
Aug 06, 2019
I only have an idea ow busy Dr Berven must be but when he was with me I felt like I was the only patient. he answered all my questions and addressed all my concerns.
Jul 30, 2019
Dr Berven listened to all my concerns. He is very caring understanding compassionate. I am a healthcare provider and have recommended him to friends and patients
Jul 16, 2019
Doctor and staff great. Wait time unacceptable.
Jul 16, 2019
that the doctor was running so far behind affected his ability to allow me to feel comfortable in taking up his time. there was pressure on both of us to get through the appointment.
Jul 11, 2019
Dr. Berven is an excellent compassionate physician. He considered all my concerns and responded to my requests to use medical procedures to identify my spine problem and options for treatment of it. He carefully listened to my needs.
Jul 09, 2019
I felt like he was in a hurry to get on to the next patient. He didn't seem to know when my surgery was or what pain I was having before the surgery and how it was different after the surgery. He had all my notes from the EMG I had done with a neurologist and he suggested maybe I see a neurologist. My surgery was 9 weeks ago. I have seen him 3 times since my surgery but he didn't seem to remember anything. I feel like he could have at least looked over the notes from prior visits.
Jul 07, 2019
was very good he explained and took his time
Jun 30, 2019
Dr.Berven is excellent.
Jun 27, 2019
I have been very fortunate to have my surgery performed by Dr. Berven. The level of care and timely treatment of my neck condition has been excellent. The surgery has gone extremely well with fantastic post-op results.Very confident to be Dr. Berven's patient for any spine related surgery.
Jun 25, 2019
i feel very fortunate to have access to such an impressive group of professionals. UCSF is a gift to our medical community.
Jun 16, 2019
Dr. Berven explains everything that I need to know and provides treatment for my spinal conditions. He is thorough and caring.
Jun 05, 2019
We found Dr. Berven to be rude and condescending. I have never been treated that way by a physician in my life. I'm hoping Dr. Berven is as good as he says but he is not a nice man.
Jun 05, 2019
Before Dr. Berven went into the room another doctor [name redacted] took my sisters' history answered all our questions and explained the MRI results very clearly. Then when Dr. Berven walked in [name redacted] gave Dr. Berven synapses of the MRI results and findings of the physical exam. At that point Dr. Berven took a closer look at the MRI images and report and concluded what surgical approach would be best for my sister. Again both doctors were amazing and worth the wait.
May 16, 2019
The provider was sleepy and yawned often. Wondered if he was in good enough shape to help me.
May 14, 2019
I have had this condition for a year now. I saw 2 different Surgeons neither of them explained to me or examined my symptoms like Dr. Berven has. They just wanted to operate and right away. Dr. Berven has explained to me in detail what I have and a presented a plan moving forward. It may end up needing surgery but he has presented options that we are trying first. He is obviously a smart Doctor but has taken the time to go over my xrays and MRI and explained them to me where so I totally understand what I have and why I have the symptoms. It is very much appreciated. I wish others would follow his lead
May 12, 2019
I already did recommend Dr. Berven to a friend of a friend.

Share