Skip to Main Content
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Sigurd H. Berven

MD

4.8

Overall Experience
443 reviews
About our process
Apr 02, 2022
Dr Berven is an outstanding surgeon with a wonderful patient centric demeanor. He has talented and friendly staff to boot.
Mar 29, 2022
There seems to be a very comprehensive system in place to address all of my concerns as a patient
Mar 22, 2022
Excellent!!
Mar 21, 2022
Dr Berven is a fantastic surgeon and human being. He went above and beyond to make my surgeries happen in a safe and timely manner.
Mar 19, 2022
Outstanding explanation of the issues and my options. I left feeling heard and understood. From the options and the pros and cons he provided about themI chose the treatment that seemed best for me now. Dr Berven has such deep knowledge and explains things so clearly and makes the patient feel valued.
Mar 19, 2022
Would have liked greater depth about post collision differences in my surgical outcome. Probably somewhat outside if the scope of the visit and suffering from a concussion I neglected to ask as many follow up questions.
Mar 19, 2022
I was hoping for a definitive decision but Dr. Berven ordered more tests.
Mar 15, 2022
Very informed
Mar 08, 2022
I have the utmost respect for dr. Berven; but in this instance he was unable to give me an explanation of what was causing the pain I was experiencing.
Mar 05, 2022
Very familiar with my condition and recommended remedies.
Mar 01, 2022
Dr Berven was thorough informative patient and respectful every step of the way.
Feb 14, 2022
The provider went over options I had and explained them to me. He also listened to possible options I presented to him and explained them to me...why and whether they could be effective or not.
Feb 11, 2022
Dr. Berven has always explained his reasoning for his treatment politely and has always treated me with respect.
Feb 08, 2022
All appropriate recommendations for a successful outcome.
Feb 02, 2022
The care provider was very kind went over my MRI and the next steps.
Jan 11, 2022
Care provider and resident where great
Jan 11, 2022
Like I stated earlier Dr Berven is very caring. Sometimes doctors as renowned as he is can be a little arrogant but he is not.
Jan 08, 2022
Dr. Berven is the very best of the very best - the gold standard. He elucidated my condition with clarity precision and in a manner ICould fully comprehend. He provided me peace of mind that I found the best surgeon and hospital; this after seeing a number ofSurgeons who presented me with impressions that were contradictory and frankly off the wall. Finally I was blessed to find a physicianAnd surgeon who cared and isolated the issue.
Jan 04, 2022
De. Berven is the best cares for his patients and very informative and helpful non explaining the answers to my questions .
Dec 07, 2021
Very good and impressed
Dec 05, 2021
Ordered ct myeograk
Nov 22, 2021
Dr. Berven is the gold standard for professionalism understanding the complexities of my condition and conveying same in a mannerWhich was understandable. Thorough and well prepared knowledgeable yet kind and congeniel. No wonder he is one of the bestSpine surgeons in the world. He alleviated doubt and gave me confidence for the future.
Nov 21, 2021
Dr. Berven responded to my concerns & showed me physically that my neck had more mobility in it than I assumed which was very relieving & instructive
Oct 27, 2021
It's hard to say how bad this experience was for me. Berven had not so much as looked at my chart knew nothing about my former procedures misunderstood completely one of the procedures and said my providers were "stupid" for providing it became hostile when I questioned his recommendation for an epidural (which had not worked for me previously) and walked out of the room abruptly at the end after he had declared his opinion.
Oct 26, 2021
While the care provider was excellent his scheduling assistant neglected to request the necessary CT scan from workers comp. When I followed up a week later to see if she had heard from workers comp yet she informed me that she had not yet sent in the referral because she had been too busy. Given the debilitating pain I've been experiencing I am highly frustrated and disappointed in UCSF. I had a similar experience at the orthopedic center but had hoped the spine center was more efficient and concerned with patient care. The support staff is as crucial as the doctor I have learned. No matter how good the doctor is if the support staff does not do its job ultimately the patient suffers.
Oct 24, 2021
I feel fortunate that I was able to have Dr. Berven as my surgeon. I believe he is one of the best in his field and he is very good with his patients both pre and post op.
Oct 21, 2021
I was very satisfied with this visit. It was handled very weill.
Oct 20, 2021
The doctor reviewed my current X-rays my notes about my condition listened to my concerns that my spinal symptoms were changing and progressively getting worse. I was concerned about having another surgery but the doctor provided me with options to alleviate the pain and he ordered procedures to alleviate my pain and for a follow-up exam. In some ways he was comforting in his comments. I left feeling that he properly and completely addressed my medical issues and concerns.
Oct 20, 2021
Dr. Berven wrote timely orders for the different departments to wrap around my clinical needs but those orders took weeks to get to right places.when they did respond the responders were over booked under staffedIt appeared and getting the doctor's orders initiated as fast as he wanted then to be done took way too long...I needed to call too many numbers to get the right people. I think a staff member no longer was there as initially thought that person would be my "home central" go to person who coordinated these different departments but the ball seems to have been dropped. Very frustrating That is not Dr. Berven's fault.
Sep 11, 2021
Very good experience with Dr. Berven. He took time to explain things in detail and reviewed imaging with me. I was a bit overwhelmed so I still have some minor questions but they can be addressed via messaging in MyChart.
Sep 11, 2021
Physician was thoughtful evidence-based caring and generally outstanding.
Sep 11, 2021
The provider called me later in the evening and apologized for the delay. He was friendly and discussed the 3 most important details moving forward.
Aug 25, 2021
Even repeated the plan for future care when I looked puzzled.
Aug 23, 2021
I suffer Psoriatic Arthritis. I advise all my San Joaquin friends that UCSF is EXCELLENCE IN CARE as it relates to our Rheumatology Issues especially if it relates to Spine Care and/or General R/A issues. You folks-I believe-are 7th BEST in the entire Nation; very impressive. My care has been stellar so again I promote UCSF to all my National Psoriasis Foundation friends as well as my other dear friends NOT receiving best care locally (upon their complaint to me). You folks are simply the best! I appreciate Dr. Berven and his continued concerned with my well-being. After the Cervical Spine surgery I am convinced there is no one better I could possibly find for my Rheumatoid Disease. Dr. Berven and my own local Internist have compassion and provide best care one could ever hope for.
Jul 18, 2021
Appreciate the pre surgery instructions with physician's nurse and very open lines of communication.
Jul 03, 2021
As I previously stated this was my first visit to UCSF. Need to get more comfortable with your practices and procedures. I am sort of confused and look forward to clarification.
Jun 20, 2021
Dr. Berven is a wonderful doctor. He explained everything in detail.
Jun 08, 2021
Great Doc and Staff
Jun 07, 2021
Very friendly excellent "bedside manor." Excellent descriptions of therapy options
May 25, 2021
I felt like Dr Berven heard me. I appreciate that
May 22, 2021
Dr. Berven is a fantastic surgeon. He also seems concerned about some problems I'm experiencing post surgery and I feel confident he will work to resolve them.
May 18, 2021
After meeting with the Doctor I felt that I was going to get the best care!
May 13, 2021
While my earlier experience has been very bad the experience with UCSF Health and Dr. Berven has been so good as to "revive" me psychologically.
May 01, 2021
Dr. Berven was very good about listening to my concerns explaining options for treatment and scheduling MRI scans to identify my problems with my back. Dr. Berven is compassionate and thorough about considering my symptoms and needs. For this reason I trust him to properly care for me and to be an excellent diagnostician.
Apr 24, 2021
Fantastic
Apr 22, 2021
Dr. Berven may be a great surgeon but because he was so behind schedule (and probably hadn't had lunch) since I was only a consultation and because he knew he wouldn't be doing my surgery I left believing I was a very unimportant patient to him. I am an R.N. and have worked with hundreds of physicians in my 40 year career. It's hard to wear me down emotionally and yet I was in tears all the way home (over an hour) due to the cavalier and rather callous way with which I felt I was treated. Perhaps Dr. Berven was having a bad day ... since this was the only time I've ever met the man I wouldn't know.
Apr 18, 2021
What an incredible doctor!!!!!!!!
Apr 10, 2021
I couldn't have asked for more. Everything was covered. Provider is a surgeon and a healer!
Apr 08, 2021
Dr. Berven was very sensitive to the fact that his advice for what he thought should follow in the way of treatment would be difficult to elect to do. I guess there is really no alternative but I used the patient portal just today anyway to ask a couple of questions.
Apr 07, 2021
Top Notch in every way
Apr 05, 2021
he has referred me to 2 other DR
Apr 01, 2021
The provider explained in detail and clearly the procedures that would be used to treat me. This gave me confidence that he knew what my medical problem was and he was compassionate and understanding about my needs.
Mar 23, 2021
My experience there was beyond excellent.
Mar 17, 2021
I had to clarify via My Chartwhen Iwas suppose to have my next tele appointment.
Feb 23, 2021
I came to see Dr. Berven for a second opinion. I quickly realized that UCSF and Dr. Berven should have been my first stop. He spent a lot of time with me and truly understood my prior health problems and condition. He spent time reading over my medical records before seeing me and had an excellent idea for next steps. I left feeling like he was going to do everything possible to help me and end the pain. It was the first time I have felt hopeful in a very long time. Thank you....
Feb 12, 2021
Dr. Berven always asks questions and listens to everything we have to say and he takes time explaining in detail. He shows so much interest and compassion and never leaves without answering every question.
Feb 09, 2021
Dr. Berven an experienced surgeon informed us of the danger of performing spinal surgery with my severe osteoporosis.
Jan 14, 2021
Changed the surgery from non-invasive to another big fusion surgery at last minute.
Jan 08, 2021
I never experiences such a care and information from any care giver. I'm very happy with my visit!
Dec 15, 2020
Dr Berven is fantastic.
Dec 13, 2020
provider seemed very busy and needed to get on to the next patient which I understand. I didn't feel I had his full attention. Multiple questions I asked him was answered with " my staff will answer that for you" It would of been really nice if he ended the visit with "is there any other questions or concerns I can answer for you" I know these visits are very routine for him but they are a big deal for me. He seemed like nice guy and could easily be a 5 star doctor if he put himself in the shoes of the patient for just a few minutes. I would like to give him a 5 star rating but honestly a 4 star is what I would give him. I'm hoping he was just having an off day and is really a 5star doc.
Dec 11, 2020
dr Berven and all of his staff are top of the line and have always been respectful and helpful. they are a wonderful group of people that care about their patients
Nov 12, 2020
Re Dr Berven: Confidence related to change in prognosis from previous meeting
Oct 17, 2020
There was no discussion about prescriptions.
Oct 14, 2020
Top Notch
Oct 01, 2020
visit too rushed
Sep 24, 2020
dr. berven is always patient informative and very kind during our visits. he always gives plenty of time to listen to my questions and concerns and takes time to answer everything.
Sep 18, 2020
Dr. Berven is a 'miracle worker' - excellent surgical outcome friends and family cannot believe that after having 9 vertebrae fused that I have no pain and am able to move so well.
Sep 05, 2020
All staff and doctor where outstanding and GREAT !!
Jun 27, 2020
We feel fortunate to have been able to see Dr. Berven! Our PCP sent a referral on Monday and we saw him the same week via video visit. All office staff that we spoke to were helpful courteous and knowledgeable. Dr. Berven himself we feel is one in a million and how lucky are we to have him here?! He is brilliant and so down to earth. We have 100% confidence in his recommendations and options for our daughter. I would recommend him to ANYONE ANYWHERE in the country. When the time comes for our daughter's surgery it will be with Dr. Berven.
Jun 25, 2020
so happy I have this person for my Doctor
Jun 20, 2020
Dr. Berven is obviously an excellent doctor; however I went away with no idea of what would be happening next with my care. He was going to take my case to a Wed. meeting with other doctors and asked me to get 2 tests. I guess I'll find out what's next after I get the tests.
Jun 13, 2020
The visit that I had with Dr. Berven and his staff was the best I have had in any medical care
Jun 10, 2020
Dr. Berven is excellent in all aspects of everything he does. I recommend him and the spine center to anyone I talk to that is considering back surgery.
May 31, 2020
this is the third time I believe I've seen the doctor in 2 years. he's very encouraging about my progress or lack of progress in the degree of my scoliosis.
May 23, 2020
Great service and a caring attitude.

Share