Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Sigurd H. Berven

MD

4.7

Overall Experience
451 reviews
About our process
Nov 12, 2020
Re Dr Berven: Confidence related to change in prognosis from previous meeting
Oct 17, 2020
There was no discussion about prescriptions.
Oct 14, 2020
Top Notch
Oct 01, 2020
visit too rushed
Sep 24, 2020
dr. berven is always patient informative and very kind during our visits. he always gives plenty of time to listen to my questions and concerns and takes time to answer everything.
Sep 18, 2020
Dr. Berven is a 'miracle worker' - excellent surgical outcome friends and family cannot believe that after having 9 vertebrae fused that I have no pain and am able to move so well.
Sep 05, 2020
All staff and doctor where outstanding and GREAT !!
Jun 25, 2020
so happy I have this person for my Doctor
Jun 20, 2020
Dr. Berven is obviously an excellent doctor; however I went away with no idea of what would be happening next with my care. He was going to take my case to a Wed. meeting with other doctors and asked me to get 2 tests. I guess I'll find out what's next after I get the tests.
Jun 13, 2020
The visit that I had with Dr. Berven and his staff was the best I have had in any medical care
Jun 10, 2020
Dr. Berven is excellent in all aspects of everything he does. I recommend him and the spine center to anyone I talk to that is considering back surgery.
May 31, 2020
this is the third time I believe I've seen the doctor in 2 years. he's very encouraging about my progress or lack of progress in the degree of my scoliosis.
May 23, 2020
Great service and a caring attitude.
May 09, 2020
Dr. Berven is an excellent doctor!
Mar 11, 2020
Dr. Berven gave me my life back. I am in awe of his skill as a surgeon.
Feb 15, 2020
Dr. Berven is very thorough in his explanations. He even demonstrated exercises for me to do.
Feb 11, 2020
Good rapport.
Feb 10, 2020
Resident or fellow not the best. Didn't tell me who he was. No name tag or lab coat. Needed help w bedside manner
Jan 17, 2020
Dr. seemed a bit weary. But answered any questions I had. He did not remember the reason for my original consultation which surprised me.
Jan 16, 2020
Dr. Berven's skill experience and empathy were top notch. He seemed a bit rushed at this appointment but made sure that PA [name redacted] was available to answer my many questions. I do have tremendous confidence in Dr. Berven and would unhesitatingly recommend him to anyone needing assistance with spinal conditions such as mine.
Jan 07, 2020
I learned more about the spine in this one visit than I have learned over the last eight years which included three major back surgeries not performed at this facility.
Dec 31, 2019
UCSF is the only place I will go in regards to my specific needs.
Dec 22, 2019
I was referred to Dr Berven by Dr [name redacted] of S.O.A.R. to discuss lumbar surgery. Both Dr [name redacted]? ( a new resident ) and Dr Berven were very patient & caring.I'm [age redacted] years old and I cannot remember having more caring doctors. I wish ALL doctors were like them!
Nov 19, 2019
We consider Dr. Berven and his team to be the very best and would definitely recommend Dr. Berven to anyone we know
Nov 06, 2019
informative
Nov 05, 2019
good
Oct 31, 2019
I have recommended USCF Spine Center a number of times. This is an amazing team.
Oct 12, 2019
great experience
Oct 09, 2019
Dr. Berven is gracious; explaining everything and listening to my concerns and questions.
Oct 08, 2019
very good experience in all aspects
Oct 07, 2019
Dr. Berven was thorough and complete about listening to and answering my questions about my lumbar spinal problems. He performed surgery before this appointment that addressed & corrected my problems to the best extent & in this meeting he followed up by answering my questions & concerns. He carefully assessed the improvements & changes to my symptoms after the surgery in this meeting. Dr. Berven is a bright thorough compassionate & patient doctor
Sep 14, 2019
Great experience!
Aug 31, 2019
Doctor was tired at end of day and did not clarify that assistant would not be available after meeting with doctor. We thought we were there for a consultation and quickly ended up at surgery as the answer.
Aug 27, 2019
Dr. Berven is the one of the best physicians I've ever seen
Aug 23, 2019
Dr. Berven saved me from paralysis in the past when other providers I had seen did not seem to care he is the best!
Aug 22, 2019
Dr. Berven was so caring. I felt very confident about what he was saying. I felt reassured with him.
Aug 20, 2019
I was at the end of a tough group of patients. he was terrific by the time I left
Aug 06, 2019
I only have an idea ow busy Dr Berven must be but when he was with me I felt like I was the only patient. he answered all my questions and addressed all my concerns.
Jul 30, 2019
Dr Berven listened to all my concerns. He is very caring understanding compassionate. I am a healthcare provider and have recommended him to friends and patients
Jul 16, 2019
Doctor and staff great. Wait time unacceptable.
Jul 16, 2019
that the doctor was running so far behind affected his ability to allow me to feel comfortable in taking up his time. there was pressure on both of us to get through the appointment.
Jul 11, 2019
Dr. Berven is an excellent compassionate physician. He considered all my concerns and responded to my requests to use medical procedures to identify my spine problem and options for treatment of it. He carefully listened to my needs.
Jul 09, 2019
I felt like he was in a hurry to get on to the next patient. He didn't seem to know when my surgery was or what pain I was having before the surgery and how it was different after the surgery. He had all my notes from the EMG I had done with a neurologist and he suggested maybe I see a neurologist. My surgery was 9 weeks ago. I have seen him 3 times since my surgery but he didn't seem to remember anything. I feel like he could have at least looked over the notes from prior visits.
Jul 07, 2019
was very good he explained and took his time
Jun 30, 2019
Dr.Berven is excellent.
Jun 27, 2019
I have been very fortunate to have my surgery performed by Dr. Berven. The level of care and timely treatment of my neck condition has been excellent. The surgery has gone extremely well with fantastic post-op results.Very confident to be Dr. Berven's patient for any spine related surgery.
Jun 25, 2019
i feel very fortunate to have access to such an impressive group of professionals. UCSF is a gift to our medical community.
Jun 16, 2019
Dr. Berven explains everything that I need to know and provides treatment for my spinal conditions. He is thorough and caring.
Jun 05, 2019
We found Dr. Berven to be rude and condescending. I have never been treated that way by a physician in my life. I'm hoping Dr. Berven is as good as he says but he is not a nice man.
Jun 05, 2019
Before Dr. Berven went into the room another doctor [name redacted] took my sisters' history answered all our questions and explained the MRI results very clearly. Then when Dr. Berven walked in [name redacted] gave Dr. Berven synapses of the MRI results and findings of the physical exam. At that point Dr. Berven took a closer look at the MRI images and report and concluded what surgical approach would be best for my sister. Again both doctors were amazing and worth the wait.
May 16, 2019
The provider was sleepy and yawned often. Wondered if he was in good enough shape to help me.
May 14, 2019
I have had this condition for a year now. I saw 2 different Surgeons neither of them explained to me or examined my symptoms like Dr. Berven has. They just wanted to operate and right away. Dr. Berven has explained to me in detail what I have and a presented a plan moving forward. It may end up needing surgery but he has presented options that we are trying first. He is obviously a smart Doctor but has taken the time to go over my xrays and MRI and explained them to me where so I totally understand what I have and why I have the symptoms. It is very much appreciated. I wish others would follow his lead
May 12, 2019
I already did recommend Dr. Berven to a friend of a friend.
May 02, 2019
See previous comments. [name redacted] his resident was pleasant and thorough in both her exam and explaining what was happening. I spent more time with her than with the doctor. doctor came in and had [name redacted] review her findings and again was thorough. Dr Bevins laid out my options and was not pushy towards one way or another. one concern however was in his report he indicated that I had exhausted the use of medications and physical therapy as a means to treat my condition. he indicated surgery is the next step and set up a preoperative appointment for me. I do not believe I have committed to surgery and still want to try physical therapy and exercises as a means to control my pain. I would like that addressed in the report as it is misleading that I am ready for surgery. dr. Berven is always professional and easy going and not pushy in terms of your options. He is somewhat matter of fact but I appreciate him.
Apr 24, 2019
Fellow started asking questions and recording information. Then Dr came in and reviewed input and went over my condition and need for surgery. Asked my husband and son to come in and explained the treatment needed.
Apr 24, 2019
I received an amazing level of care for my injury from the surgeon Dr Berven. Doctor Berven's experience and knowledgeable resulted in an amazingly successful surgery for which I am grateful.
Apr 16, 2019
Dr. Berven seemed rushed. I think he was behind schedule and wasn't really interested in my questions. We have no treatment plan until I get a CT scan he ordered. This was a first appointment for a consultation so I have no experience in treatment or care afterwards.
Apr 09, 2019
We have complete confidence in Dr. Berven and consider him the very best!
Apr 01, 2019
Thank you
Mar 26, 2019
The provider "had to leave" to see someone else and didn't come back. I should add that I understand that the other person may have had a more pressing medical concern.
Mar 17, 2019
We had discussed that I needed to get an MRI on my neck before surgery and then I guess we forgot that at the end of the appointment and we were all set to go ahead with surgery on my lower back.
Mar 09, 2019
I am so impressed with dr Berven and his staff. dr berven is probably the most intelligent dr I've met and he is also very friendly and personable. I feel 100% confident in his care my upcoming procedure and his ability to perform it. the information and education given to me about my procedure and what to do and expect before and after is very thorough and easy to understand. I am so at ease with it all.
Feb 26, 2019
seems very competent
Feb 22, 2019
Spent most of time with Dr Bervens physician assistant. Dr Bervens relies on assistant for actual medical history status doesn't really know your situation until assistant informs him and reviews tests.
Feb 21, 2019
superb
Feb 14, 2019
My "provider" spent all of 5-7 minutes in my presence - looked at an X-ray and did measurements on screen tapped my back and asked about pain (the only time he asked me ANYTHING) declared adamantly that I should not have the surgery (with no explanation or questions directed to me)- only one time did he ask his assistant to "refresh" him on the X-ray. When I asked if he even knew my primary orthopedic surgeon he commented "yes very well - in fact I think I'll call him" - which he did then and there and left a message. I was appalled at this doctor's reaction and lack of regard for me - he obviously had not read my doctor's report and explanation nor did he ONCE ask me a question about this surgery and the reason for having it. Per my doctor after talking to this "provider" he said the provider stated that he "didn't know" the situation. If he had been informed or even read my doctor's report to him he MIGHT have at least discussed this with me. I needed to hear not only his opinion (which he gave me without knowing the facts) but also his input about the surgery itself - the procedure the post op expectations etc. Instead I was "dismissed" as if my opinion and wishes or my doctor's opinion and recommendations didn't matter to him at all. I am sorry that I wasted time obtaining an appointment with this doctor and spent half a day seeing him. I will not make this mistake again.
Feb 12, 2019
Dr. Berven was very thorough in going through options that could help with my condition. He listened to and respected my concerns and addressed/explained each and every one of them. I agreed with his suggestions for treatment and thought that my concerns were considered completely.
Jan 26, 2019
I am ever so greatful to have Doctor Berven as my Doctor!

Share