Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Sigurd H. Berven

MD

4.8

Overall Experience
406 reviews
About our process
Sep 11, 2021
Very good experience with Dr. Berven. He took time to explain things in detail and reviewed imaging with me. I was a bit overwhelmed so I still have some minor questions but they can be addressed via messaging in MyChart.
Sep 11, 2021
Physician was thoughtful evidence-based caring and generally outstanding.
Sep 11, 2021
The provider called me later in the evening and apologized for the delay. He was friendly and discussed the 3 most important details moving forward.
Aug 25, 2021
Even repeated the plan for future care when I looked puzzled.
Aug 23, 2021
I suffer Psoriatic Arthritis. I advise all my San Joaquin friends that UCSF is EXCELLENCE IN CARE as it relates to our Rheumatology Issues especially if it relates to Spine Care and/or General R/A issues. You folks-I believe-are 7th BEST in the entire Nation; very impressive. My care has been stellar so again I promote UCSF to all my National Psoriasis Foundation friends as well as my other dear friends NOT receiving best care locally (upon their complaint to me). You folks are simply the best! I appreciate Dr. Berven and his continued concerned with my well-being. After the Cervical Spine surgery I am convinced there is no one better I could possibly find for my Rheumatoid Disease. Dr. Berven and my own local Internist have compassion and provide best care one could ever hope for.
Jul 18, 2021
Appreciate the pre surgery instructions with physician's nurse and very open lines of communication.
Jul 03, 2021
As I previously stated this was my first visit to UCSF. Need to get more comfortable with your practices and procedures. I am sort of confused and look forward to clarification.
Jun 20, 2021
Dr. Berven is a wonderful doctor. He explained everything in detail.
Jun 08, 2021
Great Doc and Staff
Jun 07, 2021
Very friendly excellent "bedside manor." Excellent descriptions of therapy options
May 25, 2021
I felt like Dr Berven heard me. I appreciate that
May 22, 2021
Dr. Berven is a fantastic surgeon. He also seems concerned about some problems I'm experiencing post surgery and I feel confident he will work to resolve them.
May 18, 2021
After meeting with the Doctor I felt that I was going to get the best care!
May 13, 2021
While my earlier experience has been very bad the experience with UCSF Health and Dr. Berven has been so good as to "revive" me psychologically.
May 01, 2021
Dr. Berven was very good about listening to my concerns explaining options for treatment and scheduling MRI scans to identify my problems with my back. Dr. Berven is compassionate and thorough about considering my symptoms and needs. For this reason I trust him to properly care for me and to be an excellent diagnostician.
Apr 24, 2021
Fantastic
Apr 22, 2021
Dr. Berven may be a great surgeon but because he was so behind schedule (and probably hadn't had lunch) since I was only a consultation and because he knew he wouldn't be doing my surgery I left believing I was a very unimportant patient to him. I am an R.N. and have worked with hundreds of physicians in my 40 year career. It's hard to wear me down emotionally and yet I was in tears all the way home (over an hour) due to the cavalier and rather callous way with which I felt I was treated. Perhaps Dr. Berven was having a bad day ... since this was the only time I've ever met the man I wouldn't know.
Apr 18, 2021
What an incredible doctor!!!!!!!!
Apr 10, 2021
I couldn't have asked for more. Everything was covered. Provider is a surgeon and a healer!
Apr 08, 2021
Dr. Berven was very sensitive to the fact that his advice for what he thought should follow in the way of treatment would be difficult to elect to do. I guess there is really no alternative but I used the patient portal just today anyway to ask a couple of questions.
Apr 07, 2021
Top Notch in every way
Apr 05, 2021
he has referred me to 2 other DR
Apr 01, 2021
The provider explained in detail and clearly the procedures that would be used to treat me. This gave me confidence that he knew what my medical problem was and he was compassionate and understanding about my needs.
Mar 23, 2021
My experience there was beyond excellent.
Mar 17, 2021
I had to clarify via My Chartwhen Iwas suppose to have my next tele appointment.
Feb 23, 2021
I came to see Dr. Berven for a second opinion. I quickly realized that UCSF and Dr. Berven should have been my first stop. He spent a lot of time with me and truly understood my prior health problems and condition. He spent time reading over my medical records before seeing me and had an excellent idea for next steps. I left feeling like he was going to do everything possible to help me and end the pain. It was the first time I have felt hopeful in a very long time. Thank you....
Feb 12, 2021
Dr. Berven always asks questions and listens to everything we have to say and he takes time explaining in detail. He shows so much interest and compassion and never leaves without answering every question.
Feb 09, 2021
Dr. Berven an experienced surgeon informed us of the danger of performing spinal surgery with my severe osteoporosis.
Jan 14, 2021
Changed the surgery from non-invasive to another big fusion surgery at last minute.
Jan 08, 2021
I never experiences such a care and information from any care giver. I'm very happy with my visit!
Dec 15, 2020
Dr Berven is fantastic.
Dec 13, 2020
provider seemed very busy and needed to get on to the next patient which I understand. I didn't feel I had his full attention. Multiple questions I asked him was answered with " my staff will answer that for you" It would of been really nice if he ended the visit with "is there any other questions or concerns I can answer for you" I know these visits are very routine for him but they are a big deal for me. He seemed like nice guy and could easily be a 5 star doctor if he put himself in the shoes of the patient for just a few minutes. I would like to give him a 5 star rating but honestly a 4 star is what I would give him. I'm hoping he was just having an off day and is really a 5star doc.
Dec 11, 2020
dr Berven and all of his staff are top of the line and have always been respectful and helpful. they are a wonderful group of people that care about their patients
Nov 12, 2020
Re Dr Berven: Confidence related to change in prognosis from previous meeting
Oct 17, 2020
There was no discussion about prescriptions.
Oct 14, 2020
Top Notch
Oct 01, 2020
visit too rushed
Sep 24, 2020
dr. berven is always patient informative and very kind during our visits. he always gives plenty of time to listen to my questions and concerns and takes time to answer everything.
Sep 18, 2020
Dr. Berven is a 'miracle worker' - excellent surgical outcome friends and family cannot believe that after having 9 vertebrae fused that I have no pain and am able to move so well.
Sep 05, 2020
All staff and doctor where outstanding and GREAT !!
Jun 25, 2020
so happy I have this person for my Doctor
Jun 20, 2020
Dr. Berven is obviously an excellent doctor; however I went away with no idea of what would be happening next with my care. He was going to take my case to a Wed. meeting with other doctors and asked me to get 2 tests. I guess I'll find out what's next after I get the tests.
Jun 13, 2020
The visit that I had with Dr. Berven and his staff was the best I have had in any medical care
Jun 10, 2020
Dr. Berven is excellent in all aspects of everything he does. I recommend him and the spine center to anyone I talk to that is considering back surgery.
May 31, 2020
this is the third time I believe I've seen the doctor in 2 years. he's very encouraging about my progress or lack of progress in the degree of my scoliosis.
May 23, 2020
Great service and a caring attitude.
May 09, 2020
Dr. Berven is an excellent doctor!
Mar 11, 2020
Dr. Berven gave me my life back. I am in awe of his skill as a surgeon.
Feb 15, 2020
Dr. Berven is very thorough in his explanations. He even demonstrated exercises for me to do.
Feb 11, 2020
Good rapport.
Feb 10, 2020
Resident or fellow not the best. Didn't tell me who he was. No name tag or lab coat. Needed help w bedside manner
Jan 17, 2020
Dr. seemed a bit weary. But answered any questions I had. He did not remember the reason for my original consultation which surprised me.
Jan 16, 2020
Dr. Berven's skill experience and empathy were top notch. He seemed a bit rushed at this appointment but made sure that PA [name redacted] was available to answer my many questions. I do have tremendous confidence in Dr. Berven and would unhesitatingly recommend him to anyone needing assistance with spinal conditions such as mine.
Jan 07, 2020
I learned more about the spine in this one visit than I have learned over the last eight years which included three major back surgeries not performed at this facility.
Dec 31, 2019
UCSF is the only place I will go in regards to my specific needs.
Dec 22, 2019
I was referred to Dr Berven by Dr [name redacted] of S.O.A.R. to discuss lumbar surgery. Both Dr [name redacted]? ( a new resident ) and Dr Berven were very patient & caring.I'm [age redacted] years old and I cannot remember having more caring doctors. I wish ALL doctors were like them!

Share