Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Susana Ortiz-Urda

MD, PhD, MBA

4.9

Overall Experience
408 reviews
About our process
Mar 03, 2021
Provider is only available for one half day a week at this location. Patients travel long distances to be seen. Any late arrivals compound wait times.
Feb 15, 2021
Instructions on prescription did not match verbal. No AVS.
Feb 07, 2021
I am very thankful for the time and effort she puts into staying on the cutting edge of melanoma treatment.
Feb 02, 2021
Dr. Ortiz was thorough and understood my immediate issue. The explained my options and gave me insight into my issues in a way I finally have a better understanding of what I'm dealing with and how to help manage it better. I have not had this level of communication and care in the 30 plus years I've been dealing with skin issues.
Jan 13, 2021
While the services provided by Dr. Ortiz were very good there was some confusion as to further medications. I believe this is my fault not hers as my "remember function" is turning into more of a "forgetting function" these days. I read the after visit notes to confirm what she told me.
Jan 12, 2021
just a routine mole check visit but Dr Ortiz was great!
Dec 15, 2020
Dr Ortiz is very thorough very professional. She puts a patient at ease and llistens to our questions and concerns. And she is very efficient in treatment compared to other doctors I've had.
Dec 11, 2020
So helpful!
Dec 11, 2020
Dr Ortiz is wonderful.
Nov 18, 2020
Dr Ortiz is the perfect example of how a doctor should treat patients.
Nov 11, 2020
Dr. Ortiz is wonderful but a little hard to understand with her accent.
Nov 10, 2020
Dr. Ortiz is simply outstanding in every way.
Oct 20, 2020
A very good experience!
Sep 23, 2020
Dr. Ortiz is a highly competent and empathetic doctor. I hope that she is the doctor assigned to me for the next visit.
Sep 18, 2020
She has great understanding of melanoma and the research regarding melanoma and she does an excellent job of explaining her expertise. She is a good listener. My husband and I were very happy with the visit.
Aug 31, 2020
superb physician
Aug 27, 2020
Dr Ortiz is the best. UCSF is lucky to have her.
Aug 19, 2020
Doctor allayed my fears about my condition. Would like to have had more time with her but know this is not the way medicine works these days.
Aug 11, 2020
Lucky she is my Doctor
Aug 06, 2020
FOLLOW UP...TERRIBLE!
Jul 29, 2020
wonderful doctor! thoroughly explained everything including a diagram. compassionate understanding respectfully knowledgeable fantastic doctor. I would definitely recommend.
Jul 21, 2020
Dr Ortiz is the best!
Jul 05, 2020
amazing doctor
Jul 01, 2020
Excellent experience!
Jun 29, 2020
Dr Ortiz was friendly but I wish she had taken the time to go over my pathology report and explain different treatment options either verbally or with printed info. and outcomes.
Jun 26, 2020
Excellent provider!
Jun 25, 2020
Dr Ortiz is a wonderful physician - I have long felt lucky to be under her care
Jun 25, 2020
Dr. Ortiz the nurse practitioner and the medical assistant were all very very kind.
Jun 23, 2020
Dr. Ortiz listens to you very carefully treats the patient with respect and gives the time needed to carefully examine for any possible health issue.. I am very happy with the care I receive from her.
Jun 21, 2020
Dr. Ortiz is a special person and excellent doctor.
Jun 16, 2020
Dr. Ortiz is very personable and approachable. I appreciate her very much!
May 30, 2020
Always a great experience with Dr Ortiz. She is great!
May 29, 2020
Dr. Ortiz is a fantastic person and an amazing doctor. I am so blessed by her care.
May 17, 2020
Sometimes felt rushed - I spent more time with and had more questions answered by the nurse. My question about follow up (through mychart) was never answered
May 12, 2020
First of all I feel the Covid-19 safety precautions at Mt Zion are impressive! I was first seen by Dr. [name redacted] who was very thorough kind efficient and explained things to me well. I then saw Dr Ortiz Urda is always to me one of the best doctors I've ever had. Always thorough efficient friendly and gets things done!
May 05, 2020
Hope provider stays at UCSF as long as I need her!
Apr 21, 2020
Dr Ortiz is the consumate professional and I highly recommend her
Apr 10, 2020
Dr. Ortiz is an outstanding doctor and individual.
Apr 01, 2020
Dr. Ortiz showed care and concern for my questions during this time of uncertainty.
Apr 01, 2020
I saw Dr Ortiz and her chief resident: Dr [name redacted]both so professional reassuring and capable. We had do do a bx on a finding on my side of my face and Dr [name redacted] explained what he was going to do it was not painful and he both called and contacted me thru my chart and even left me his cell phone. I did call him on his cell and he called me in a follow up to explain the next steps. Wonderful providers both of them
Mar 31, 2020
Dr Ortiz is excellent!
Mar 18, 2020
Dr Ortiz was very kind and considerate (as was her resident) before and during the procedure. she was patient to listen to my questions and worked to help make me comfortable which was appreciated.
Mar 18, 2020
Dr. Ortiz is a world class care provider whom I would unqualifiedly recommend to anyone. We had no need to discuss medications.
Mar 16, 2020
Great Doc. Terrible scheduling system. Shows a total disregard for patients time and medical concerns which I'm sure is unintended...but it is a fact.
Mar 03, 2020
I have been seeing this provider on a semi-annual to annual basis for many years. She is very professional and I have referred others to her including my son.
Feb 16, 2020
Great provider overall. One thing that could be improved is acquiring the mole mapping machine faster. Been waiting for that. And maybe her taking more pictures of my moles in general (as well as updating the pictures over time for comparison purposes).
Feb 13, 2020
I have full trust in my Provider. She is excellent.
Jan 31, 2020
Dr Ortiz is very professional highly knowledgeable and an upbeat person..........her visits are always positive..........have absolutely no complaints........just compliments for Dr Ortiz
Dec 11, 2019
Dr. Ortiz is a fantastic doctor!! She really cares and always makes sure you get the best care possible and ordering the services needed. She takes time to explain is very respectful and has a great positive energy. A top notch doctor in every way!
Dec 10, 2019
This Provider is perhaps the best physician I have ever had. Dr. Ortiz treats me with the utmost respect and kindness answers all of my questions and conducts needed exams in a thorough and careful manner.
Nov 05, 2019
The doctor was very kind and thorough during the exam. sometimes she did talk a bit fast but I was able to keep up.
Nov 05, 2019
accent was hard to understand at times.
Nov 04, 2019
my doctor gave me a referral but no way to contact the referral doc or clinic
Oct 30, 2019
So great! Always very friendly professional very thorough!
Oct 24, 2019
Dr. Ortiz is a very caring knowledgeable and loving doctor. I drive from [location redacted] to see her and look forward to my visit with her.
Oct 22, 2019
I travel over 60 miles (one way) to see Dr Ortiz. I believe that I receive exceptional care from her which is why I continue to see her 8.5 years after being diagnosed with melanoma.
Oct 22, 2019
Dr Ortiz was able to put things into perspective and address concerns in a way that my doctors at home were not.
Oct 08, 2019
She was thorough and explained the next step in my treatment.
Sep 17, 2019
Best Derm Doctor ever
Aug 20, 2019
very friendly helpful and knowledgeable doctor
Aug 20, 2019
excellent care provider!
Aug 18, 2019
Dr. Ortiz did just fine.
Jul 23, 2019
Dr. Ortiz is the most professional and skilled physician I have ever experienced. She gets my highest rating ever given to a doctor.
Jul 14, 2019
Outstanding Doctor; great communicator!
Jun 26, 2019
Dr. Ortiz is one of the best doctors I have seen for any reason. She's not only very knowledgeable but she's friendly relatable and shows a great deal of empathy for her patients. When I last saw her a year ago she was very thorough in her explanation of my condition listened to/addressed all of my concerns and even explained what would happen during an upcoming procedure that another doctor would be performing. On my last visit she remembered me and the circumstances of my condition which I found to be very impressive. I would highly recommend her to anyone that needed to go to a melanoma clinic.
Jun 18, 2019
Dr. Ortiz is AMAZING! We live about 125 miles away from her office but she is worth the drive! I trust her professionalism and enjoy her "bedside" manner. I'd give her 10 stars out of 5!
Jun 05, 2019
Dr Ortiz is a great doctor!
May 31, 2019
Dr. Ortiz is a superb physician and person. The best.
May 15, 2019
Dr. Ortiz is such a great person and physician. I'm blessed she is my doctor.
May 14, 2019
Have had same MD for some time. Also very impressed with her medical student who was very informative and knowledgeable about my case and helpful concerning treatment.
May 13, 2019
appointment time feels too short to discuss choices adequately as to future preventative treatment choices; however this doctor is very courteous and professional about responding to follow-up questions on my chart.
May 11, 2019
No instructions on how to use medication for how long and whether to come back for follow up. Instructions on prescription were different than manufacturers instructions.

Share