Skip to Main Content
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Tania Basu Serna

MD, MPH

4.6

Overall Experience
104 reviews
About our process
Feb 08, 2022
This experience was exceptional! I was so nervous for my IUD and the whole team eased my mind even brought me food and had the perfect bedside manner. I am extremely grateful for Dr. Tania Basu Serna is absolutely calming thoughtful skilled and warm and I wish I had met her sooner!
Nov 11, 2021
She seemed to not have my chart and previously one of my medical health conditions wasn't listed on my chart for the doctor. Not sure what happened there
Oct 30, 2021
Provider was very nice and listened to my concerns and problems but could not give me a professional opinion as to what I should do. This seems to be a common practice of UCSF doctorsProvider also didn't see that I had a lab order in place which affects whether I should continue taking a certain medication. Subsequently after I received the lab order blood test results I have yet to hear from the provider in regard to whether or not I should continue taking the medication. I will have to reach out soon.
Sep 25, 2021
This provider while friendly and caring does not follow up regarding test results when she says she will and does not respond to MyChart messages in a timely manner (or sometimes doesn't respond at all).
Sep 14, 2021
Dr. Basu is an excellent provider. She is thoughtful and knowledgeable
Aug 25, 2021
A lot of questions were answered by just sending links to other websites. It would have been a little nicer to talk through some of these answers instead of just telling me to look elsewhere.
Jul 01, 2021
The lack of awareness about scheduled appointment times leaves me reluctant to recommend. It has happened on 3/4 of my visits and I feel my time isn't respected.
Jun 15, 2021
Dr. Serna was very thorough
Apr 30, 2021
The doctor had not consulted any of my records and since I was seeing her because both my PET scan and MRI recommended follow up with ob gyn and a pelvic ultrasound I was to say the least disappointed in the doctor. She didn't take the time to get to know me or my history - I felt a bit like I was on a conveyor belt. I had some fears and concerns about the tests she recommended and her reassurances were perfunctory at best. I felt like I was being rushed along so she could get to her next patient. This is SO unlike the exceptional and warm treatment I've received from all my other UCSF doctors that I was quite taken aback!
Mar 11, 2021
My appointment was nearly a week ago and I still have not received any follow-up care notes or resources the doctor said she would provide. I've even followed up in the portal but haven't received anything.
Mar 05, 2021
Thank you Dr. Basu I will stick with you as my gynecologist while I am in the Bay Area!
Feb 06, 2021
Dr. Serna was amazing. I was so relieved to connect with her because she was one of those incredibly amazing providers who really helps patients.
Feb 02, 2021
I wish she were the doctor delivering my baby! She was respectful empathetic warm and knowledgeable- all of which made me trust her.
Jan 19, 2021
This is by far the best gynecologic I have seen I my entire life! I already recommended her to a friend who was looking for one
Sep 17, 2020
Since Dr Basu was not at my ultrasound she was not able to answer all my questions during our post pre natal appointment. I wish she could have followup with the nurse or doctor at my ultrasound to better provide me information during my appointment with her- rather then oh I'm not sure since I wasn't there.
Sep 09, 2020
provider was upset that I wanted to reschedule and did not want to be taken care by them despite the fact that the first time she reached out to me was 40 minutes past appointment time with no explanation or remorse for keeping me waiting.
Jul 23, 2020
My doctor is wonderful however I would not recommend her solely on the fact that she has been 30-60min late to each of our appointments. Also when I tried to ask a question in the telehealth app a nurse who was unfamiliar with our relationship responded instead and it was unhelpful.
Jul 16, 2020
The provider listened and took the time to talk to me. Unfortunately she had not been given access to the computer in the room therefore she was unable to look things up about my chart. She had clearly read through my information prior to entering the room though and found which labs and tests had not been provided to the clinic from my previous provider. It seemed like she was very on top of everything which gives me confidence in this provider.
Jul 07, 2020
Dr. Basu was great. very professional courteous efficient and down to earth. I was very pleased she provided 3 services in 1 visit. I was expecting to have to make another appointment.
Jun 21, 2020
I'm not entirely sure the provider understood the pain and discomfort I was experiencing but they still listened and considered me in the treatment plan.
Jun 07, 2020
as mentioned my only concern was the lack of adequate regard to hygiene when it came to the exam bed and the paper sheets and coverings at the women's health department

Share