Have you and your family had your flu shot? It's more important than ever this year! Schedule via MyChart or call for an appointment in SF, the East Bay or San Mateo.
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Umesh Masharani

MBBS

4.9

Overall Experience
361 reviews
About our process
Aug 04, 2020
Dr. Masharani had a caring and thoughtful manner
Jul 28, 2020
It was challenging to understand Dr. Masharani. The connection was poor and I had to ask him to repeat thoughts and instructions fairly often to make sure I understood. This was definitely a problem with the app.
Jul 12, 2020
He wanted time to review my MRI fractures and consider which medication moving forward.
Jul 12, 2020
Excellent Doctor and I highly recommend him.
Jun 26, 2020
dr Masharani is an excellent doctor with great bedside manner. very knowledgeable and someone I trust with my healthcare and transplanted kidney in regards to my diabetes
May 23, 2020
I have already referred someone to this Dr
May 17, 2020
excellent experience. telehealth fantastic
May 12, 2020
I am INCREDIBLY fortunate to have Dr. Masharani on my care team. He is caring brilliant and an amazing listener. Through my employer I can pay nothing for Kaiser or a couple hundred bucks for Anthem. Dr. Masharani (and the other UCSF specialists he's referred me to in years past) is the primary reason I choose an Anthem PPO.
May 07, 2020
Every single time he pushes a different insulin pump on me that I am not at all interested in using. Every single time I politely explain why I'm not interested. I don't like that I'm constantly pressured to use a product that wouldn't work for me especially when the one I have is working just fine.
Apr 22, 2020
Great doctor! He seemed like that funny old uncle that would pull a coin out of your ear and let you keep it. He listened to everything I had to say and showed interested in helping me as a person not just a patient.
Apr 20, 2020
Excellent.
Apr 19, 2020
highly respect Dr Masharani. He is one of the best Dr's i have ever had interactions
Apr 03, 2020
IT was my first video conference and I had a problem getting my mic to work
Mar 17, 2020
Excellent!!!!
Mar 04, 2020
Dr Masharani is one of the best doctors I've had the pleasure of dealing with for my health.
Feb 15, 2020
Dr. Masharani knew exactly what to do to manage the multiple significant problems that i brought to his office about my glucose sensor and insulin pump dietary/lipid concerns for recent heart problems and my medications! he was kind enough to squeeze me in for a friday appointment. one by one he really listened to my health concerns/problems and came up with excellent solutions. he worked right through lunch to see me. i am lucky to have him as my doctor. and i will continue to cross the golden gate bridge to see him to manage my diabetes! he is brilliant and compassionate.
Feb 15, 2020
I believe I gained more useful information in the time I spent with the attending doctor at this visit than i did in all the previous visits I have had with the medical resident/intern/student being the main provider of care. I know experience is acquired over time by patients as well as medical professionals but I felt previous visits were not very helpful.
Feb 07, 2020
I had not seen Dr. Masharani in 20 years and specifically requested to see him. He provides superb thoughtful expert care.
Feb 02, 2020
Customize the prescribed medicine to control my blood glucose. Got me off insulin dependence.
Jan 28, 2020
utmost confidence with Dr Masharani
Jan 17, 2020
I tend not to ake recommendations.
Nov 27, 2019
Very grateful for the provider that was assigned to me. Thank you Dr. Masharani for being so attentive. To really listening. Very grateful to you and [name redacted].
Nov 27, 2019
Dr Masharani was Great. Very pleasurable experience.
Nov 23, 2019
I have the highest confidence in Dr. Masharani. this opinion was formed from several years under his care. he does not waste time or do unnecessary tests and gets to the heart of the problem. I feel extremely fortunate to have him as my doctor.
Nov 01, 2019
He is ok.
Oct 19, 2019
Dr. Masharani is one of the best doctors I've ever had. His wealth of knowledge and bedside manner is excellent. I always come away feeling I am in good hands.
Oct 18, 2019
Would definitely recommend Dr. Masharani to others. He takes his time in answering questions and concerns. You can tell he is a sincere and genuine person.
Sep 17, 2019
Dr Masharani gave me different kinds of meidcation. My glucose a1c showed a dramatic improvement.
Sep 11, 2019
Dr. Masharani is very busy -- you have to ask HIM the questions.
Aug 26, 2019
Happy with this doc excellent patient skill
Aug 18, 2019
Dr. Masharani is a thorough and very caring provider.
Aug 17, 2019
This care provider (Dr. Masharani) made me feel so cared for. He started by asking questions about my family's medical history and checking my symptoms. He explained my condition to me and the possible ways to manage it. I did not feel rushed or cast away and I would be happy to see Dr. Masharani again.
Aug 16, 2019
Dr. Masharani is one of the most helpful and likeable doctors I've ever seen. He's informative listens carefully explains things well and makes what might otherwise be a stressful visit much more pleasant while still providing necessary info. More doctors should take a page out of his book.
Aug 11, 2019
Best provider I yet to see my A1c dropped by 19.23% within months after I started to see Dr. Masharani.
Aug 06, 2019
very personable and affable physician
Jul 20, 2019
Dr. Masharani is fantastic!
Jul 07, 2019
Dr Masharani is excellent. He engenders trust in his patients.
Jun 27, 2019
I felt listened to and cared about despite having a very unserious situation. Other doctors have made me feel written off but not Umesh. He was thorough kind and knowledgeable.
Jun 18, 2019
excellent
Jun 05, 2019
The doctor was unhelpful and condescending. Since he quickly realized I didn't have an insulinoma I was obviously not interesting enough of a case for him even though he is an endocrinologist and at least 8 of my hormones are out of the normal range and have yet to be fully explained. He provided generic advice of "diet and exercise" to address my blood sugar dropping to levels so low that lab corp has to retest them and did so in the most patronizing tone. The only thing the appointment resolved was that I didn't have an insulinoma and gave me no next steps for how to handle my very out of whack endocrine system except for just dealing with it. Well that doesn't seem like a solution to me.
May 16, 2019
Felt rushed and still feeling pressured to switch to a device that I have expressed multiple times that I am NOT interested in.
May 09, 2019
Dr. Masharani is the nicest warmest and most educated doctor I've ever worked with.
May 07, 2019
Dr Masharani is superlative in all respects.
Apr 22, 2019
Dr Masharani is an amazing health provider !! Clear easy going calm and he is very clear about his goals and his descriptions of your issues. A very human provider whom I trust 100%
Apr 21, 2019
Dr. Masharani is so calm empathetic and informed. I trust his judgment and his advice. amazing. he keeps informed about my condition. no one is better!!
Mar 24, 2019
my provider is very professional & showed care for patient's condition. I think l started seeing him on or before yr 2000.
Mar 02, 2019
Dr Masharani is obviously super knowledgeable about diabetes care options and also a really friendly guy.
Feb 18, 2019
Dr. Masharani is one of the most caring providers that I have known. He takes the time to listen to any concerns so quick to respond on MyChart to any questions and remembers minor details about each. He is so knowledgeable and I am thankful everyday for such an amazing provider.
Feb 17, 2019
Dr. Masharani is very caring and compassionate. Glad I was referred to him.
Feb 07, 2019
Dr Masharani has shown great concern for what I am going through (insulinoma regrowth). His staying late and making sure I got my labs done was so appreciated. Not all doctors I have seen would have done so much.
Feb 04, 2019
His resident was there too and she made several insensitive comments that were not appreciated. Both the doctor and the resident kept cutting me off and not listening to me. They were also pushing certain things that I had no interest in.
Jan 15, 2019
Saw Dr. [name redacted] firest: He was very good at listening to my story taking notes and then discussing my issue with Dr. Masharani. Then Dr. Masharani came in and spoke with me and my husband taking notes and making suggestions. Very happy with their interest in me.
Nov 28, 2018
Dr. Umesh Masharani is very thorough and an excellent doctor.
Nov 22, 2018
Dr. Masharani was the first provider at UCSF with whom I felt deeply cares about my worries during pregnancy. He gave me the sense that I am been taken care of and do not need to worry. He showed deep concern and helped me get over my worries for myself and my baby. He is one of the best providers I have seen. He explains every thing and answers all questions. He spent much time going through my history and was so detail oriented. I am so happy I met him.
Nov 12, 2018
I have several care providers at UCSF and Dr Umesh Masharani is on of the best. Thoughtful easy going bright experienced and very complete and caring. I very much appreciate how he thinks out what is going to happen and why he doing something.

Share