Skip to Main Content
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
William Y. Hoffman

MD

4.7

Overall Experience
338 reviews
About our process
Mar 28, 2022
I would like them to have options of professionals where the patient feels comfortable receiving care and trust them that they are in the right place for their care.
Mar 21, 2022
We had to wait for over an hour for our appointment!? What's the point of scheduling an appointment and trying to arrive on-time if patients are going to be seen over an hour later??! Hire more folks if you need to, but this is ridiculous to have to wait over an hour to be seen.
Mar 07, 2022
We love UCSF staff from the receptionist to the doctors and nurses
Jan 15, 2022
Very good
Jan 14, 2022
Dr Hoffman was also great - very kind and patient and conveys caring and compassion. He listened to me and offered suggests that are particular to me. I really felt that he's there to help me reach MY goals. In summary I came away with a very positive impression of Dr Hoffman and his nurses - they fostered a sense of trust. I am looking forward to having him be the doctor for my FFS.
Jan 13, 2022
Dr. Hoffman seems to be a very kind and caring doctor with a friendly manner. He was NOT Arrogrant at all.
Jan 10, 2022
Is very good
Jan 10, 2022
Support staff was fabulous!
Jan 06, 2022
Dr Hoffman is excellent really takes his time listening to patients. I can't say enough how much I appreciate his kindness bedside manner and clinical expertise.
Jan 06, 2022
Dr Hoffman and his staff are professional respectful experienced and personable. I trust Dr Hoffman on his expertise and judgement on his advice decisions surgeries and his procedures.
Dec 27, 2021
Thank you and we feel completely comfortable and trust the doctor and nurses.
Dec 16, 2021
I wished I could have seen more before and after pictures to be reassured. Having these handy would have been helpful.
Dec 07, 2021
Honestly I think cause I know how busy he is I feel rushed in those appointments so I don't think of questions until after. Also I thought I knew a lot about this procedure but I didn't. For example I knew that the fat transplant may have to be done again up to three times I was under the impression after the third time he stops performing cause the fat won't take but this appointment I learned that he stops after the third time cause the fat will eventually take so miscommunication here and there.
Nov 30, 2021
No follow up phone call to schedule any procedures. I might have been referred to a plastic surgeon instead of a dermatologist for one of my issues.
Nov 22, 2021
Everyone seemed to really care and I didn't feel rushed like you sometimes do at large facilities.
Nov 05, 2021
Excellent care
Oct 25, 2021
Very present man very helpful.
Oct 25, 2021
Dr. Hoffman didn't listen to me and didn't care about my concerns. He just told me what he wanted to do. He is the worst provider I have ever met before. It was a TERRIBLE experience.
Oct 20, 2021
The referral sent in by my primary physician was written/sent incorrectly to "Plastic/Reconstruction Surgery". It has now been correctly sent to Colorectal Surgery.
Sep 23, 2021
Dr Hoffman is a very caring and a pioneer in his field. He has a good bedside manner and listens to his patients.
Aug 25, 2021
Dr Hoffman is knowledgable experienced and interested in his patients. I felt very well taken care of.
Aug 20, 2021
Great thanks
Aug 20, 2021
Dr. Hoffman is a very kind and caring provider.
Jul 16, 2021
Thanks
Jun 28, 2021
I had a great experience and love the care provided at UCSF
Jun 28, 2021
It was very good
Jun 08, 2021
He was worth the wait.
Jun 03, 2021
provider needs to consult with other docs and try to get my surgical plan 2017 out of Kaiser records
May 24, 2021
The service was excellent, the truth is that they treated my daughter very well in the hospital, we have very good memories of the day we went, the truth is that they treated me excellently, they all behaved very well.
May 21, 2021
Dr. Hoffman is very kind a great listener and really explains things well.
Apr 23, 2021
Dr. Hoffman and the team made me feel like I was in the best possible care and very professional support.
Apr 22, 2021
I am wondering how to get written post treatment care instructions? MyChart? other?
Apr 19, 2021
Great
Mar 15, 2021
i just didn't like the wait
Mar 13, 2021
Concerned for my recovery and shows compassion. Dr. Hoffman is an excellent Dr and an incredible human being. The entire medical team contributing to my care has been excellent.
Mar 05, 2021
all good
Feb 16, 2021
followup care instructions could have been made available in advance
Dec 24, 2020
Dr. Hoffman is the best UCSF might be lacking if and when he retires a person of this caliber is one in a thousand!
Dec 08, 2020
The health issue didn't require concern per se (removal of lipoma on forehead) and I didn't expect such to be shown. Improvements could be made in describing pain scenarios subsequent to the procedure and what I could do for relief and when/how I might change the bandage and clean the incision area. I did call the office when the pain elevated sufficiently to concern me and Dr. Hoffman's PA promptly got on the phone and provided guidance; however at the time (later in the day after the procedure) I did not think to ask about cleaning and reapplying bandages.
Oct 08, 2020
would love handout of procedures if possible
Sep 28, 2020
Dr Hoffman is amazing!
Sep 17, 2020
I absolutely loved him. I came into my appointment with little to no knowledge or confidence in what was actually wrong and the procedure needed to fix the problem and left feeling SO much better. I am with Kaiser and they were incredibly unhelpful. I did my research seeking out Dr. Hoffman and am so glad that I did! I hope that I am able to schedule this surgery with him.
Sep 17, 2020
Unfortunately due to my line of work I am unable to recommend Dr. Hoffman to my patients but plan on disclosing surgeons name if anyone inquires about the procedure.
Sep 10, 2020
no medications involved
Aug 27, 2020
very happy
Aug 25, 2020
Given that the round trip time from leaving my home for this appointment to returning to it was more than 2 hours it makes me wonder how the process could be made more efficient given that the doctor needed only 5 minutes to review my chart and examine me. The rest of the 10 minutes was spent in small talk; appreciated but unnecessary.
Aug 24, 2020
It was a quick clinical visit
Aug 13, 2020
All-around fantastic doctor.
Aug 04, 2020
my telegraph appointment was excellent!
Jul 30, 2020
surgery went very well results are very promising and he clearly knows what he is doing well but I would have appreciated more discussion/interest in what I wanted to see out of each procedure.
Jul 20, 2020
Even though we were at the hospital during the pandemic. Our experience was great and we felt that we were in a safe environment.
Jul 19, 2020
I would prefer an in-person visit. However I understand why tele-appoitment are happening.
Jun 30, 2020
Dr Hoffman is the man I would not have chosen any other doctor to do the procedures on my daughter that we're done but Dr Hoffman 10 minutes staff are highly skilled professionals and deserve all the credit
May 22, 2020
Dr. Hoffman was kind courteous respectful and approachable. Being an RN for 25+ years I can't believe the amazing care I've received by all the docs at UCSF. Dr. Hoffman is another one to add to my list.

Share